Bad as Me - Tom Waits
Bad as Me Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest album for the singer-songwriter is the first album of all new songs since 2004's Real Gone.
  • Record Label: Anti
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    100
    Bad as Me, his first album of new material in seven years, is a tour de force of wise ol' swagger and new-century blues.
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    91
    Bad As Me is entry-level Waits for newcomers, and for longtime fans it's a fun reminder of Waits' ability to be a badass when necessary.
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    90
    Bad As Me sees the performer reaching back into his bag of tricks to pull out a few favourites in a characteristically exhilarating, terrifying, heartbreaking, tear jerking, bone-rattling style.
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    81
    For all his indulgences, Waits never lingers too long; these tracks are concise and expertly edited, and Bad as Me feels as new as it does ancient.
  5. Oct 26, 2011
    80
    Waits has given us another brilliant album in Bad as Me, his best in a long while (maybe since 1992's Bone Machine), but he also lays down a gauntlet.
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    Bad As Me's 13 tracks fairly rip along, alerting a new generation that there are few as fine as Waits.
  7. Oct 20, 2011
    60
    There's plenty to enjoy here, but very little to get worked up about.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    The 61 year old Waits releases his 17th studio album and it is perfect. Since 1973 the singer songwriter has reinvented himself numerousThe 61 year old Waits releases his 17th studio album and it is perfect. Since 1973 the singer songwriter has reinvented himself numerous times, and continues to create the Tom Waits persona. The three additional songs are essential and fit into the rest of the album quite nicely. Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Tom is Tom. On first listen of this album i thought it would be a lesser Tom, so many styles. Mule variations is prolly my least favourite ofTom is Tom. On first listen of this album i thought it would be a lesser Tom, so many styles. Mule variations is prolly my least favourite of his. This, though, is great... its like Orphans condensed to one disc sized collection. We've got rockabilly Tom, piano drunken Tom, whispered ballad Tom, wild cacophonous Tom...all in one pocket sized bag of magical **** Tom...is the man!!! Expand
  3. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    A great album, and an accessible Tom Waits album for fans and newcomers. Not quite as noisy and eccentric as his last album, but still prettyA great album, and an accessible Tom Waits album for fans and newcomers. Not quite as noisy and eccentric as his last album, but still pretty cool nonetheless. I'd rank this as one of his most listenable without losing his edge. Great stuff. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2012
    9
    Great set of songs that include most of what fans love about Tom Waits. It may not be as daring and original as his previous efforts but WaitsGreat set of songs that include most of what fans love about Tom Waits. It may not be as daring and original as his previous efforts but Waits has no need for that at the moment, he has done everything already! and "Bad As Me" is the proof... it is diverse, it is fresh and it is powerful. What's not to love!? Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2011
    9
    Another great album by Mr. Waits. To be perfectly honest, he doesn't deliver much that is new on this one, but he just does it so well. YouAnother great album by Mr. Waits. To be perfectly honest, he doesn't deliver much that is new on this one, but he just does it so well. You can always count on the great melodies, yarns and abstractions along with an excellent (as always) roster of musicians who are given the opportunity to expand on their abilities without compare. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2012
    9
    i think that tom waits and the keith richards pair for this album wsa extrememly defiant to give it that new type of sound for tom. tom is ai think that tom waits and the keith richards pair for this album wsa extrememly defiant to give it that new type of sound for tom. tom is a legend and always will be being 61 he needed the help from his friends and he got it. Expand
  7. TAE
    Mar 4, 2012
    0
    Best album of the year by far.....for me to poop on. Like Yoda getting an anal probe he sounds. What are the chances that Whitney Houston wasBest album of the year by far.....for me to poop on. Like Yoda getting an anal probe he sounds. What are the chances that Whitney Houston was listening to the radio and came across a Tom Waits track on the snobby college rock station before dying. I know I would have drowned myself. Whitney past her prime snorting coke while giving birth sounds better than Tom Waits. Howard Stern farting the National Anthem sounds better than waits. Fran Dresher getting it on with Gilbert Gotfreid sounds better than Tom Waits. Joanna Newsom sounds a little better than Waits. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2011

    The Best Albums of 2011 Image
    Published: December 30, 2011
    We reveal our official list of the best-reviewed albums of 2011. Plus, get links to stream virtually all of our top albums, find out which LPs our users preferred, and see which 2011 releases scored the lowest with critics.
  2. 2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2011 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: November 29, 2011
    Between now and January, we'll be collecting top 10 lists published by major music critics, publications, and websites, and tallying their cumulative picks to determine the best albums of 2011. Check back here daily to get an updated scorecard.
  3. October's Best New Music

    October's Best New Music Image
    Published: November 1, 2011
    Last month's best new albums include the latest from Tom Waits, Russian Circles, The Field, and more. Get the full list inside, where you can find out more about each LP, listen to a track from each one, and get links to stream the full albums at Spotify.