Bad Blood - Bastille
Bad Blood Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The full-length debut release for indie rock singer-songwriter Dan Smith includes influences from folk, hip-hop, indie, and pop music.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    The beautiful part about Bad Blood is that it is both entirely predictable yet completely disarming.
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    Bad Blood is a really gratifying debut that feels like a solution.
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    The heightened sense of immediacy is hard to keep up, but Bastille does it remarkably well, resulting in a debut that’s as infectious as it is dramatically powerful.
  4. Mar 1, 2013
    60
    Sometimes you are left wishing that the songs could be left to breathe a little more for themselves.
  5. 50
    There’s nothing inherently wrong with this too-many-feelings, heart-on-your-sleeve approach; it’s just that, played out over the course of an entire album (or on the airwaves, over the course of several years), the whole thing starts to feel a bit contrived.
  6. All this greedy grasping means the London newcomers can’t really get a firm grip on anything, meaning Bad Blood comes out with about as much identity as a Facebook commenter without a profile picture.
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    40
    There's occasional unintentional amusement in the lyrics.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    This album is the best album that I listened in all my f---ing life. The music genres are very well used throughout the album. I do not knowThis album is the best album that I listened in all my f---ing life. The music genres are very well used throughout the album. I do not know why the people hate this masterpiece. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    Love, love, LOVE! If I could have given a 100000/10 I would have. Dan is a master at story telling, the lyrics in this album are incredibleLove, love, LOVE! If I could have given a 100000/10 I would have. Dan is a master at story telling, the lyrics in this album are incredible and together with the amazing music.. it truly makes for world class stuff! Looking forward to their future albums, I'm sure there is bound to be plenty more.. and seeing Bastille live in concert is a must on my bucket list for sure! A brilliant album all round. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Why do people hate this album!? I love it. I especially love "Pompeii". I can't stop listening to that song. There must be something wrongWhy do people hate this album!? I love it. I especially love "Pompeii". I can't stop listening to that song. There must be something wrong with you people! You are all stupid! Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2013
    7
    I think this is a pretty good album, kind of RnB-indie-pop, the melodies are great and songs have a rather epic sound. the one negative... theI think this is a pretty good album, kind of RnB-indie-pop, the melodies are great and songs have a rather epic sound. the one negative... the lyrics aren't that great but these are redeemed by the really well produced music. Expand
  5. Apr 7, 2014
    7
    While the second half of the album felt boring and it has no theme to the entire album, Bad Blood is a fine, must-listen debut album of theWhile the second half of the album felt boring and it has no theme to the entire album, Bad Blood is a fine, must-listen debut album of the promising indie British band, Bastille. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2014
    5
    It´s a nicely produced, predictable and somewhat tame collection of standard indie-pop-songs. The songs all work well in their own place, butIt´s a nicely produced, predictable and somewhat tame collection of standard indie-pop-songs. The songs all work well in their own place, but in the end it feels like all of these songs could be radio smash hits, written and performed in the exact same way by any other indie-band. In other words; the songs work well on their own but are ultimately too weak to form an entire album. They wear out after a few listenings... Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2013
    2
    Mediocre indie synthpop. For the most part, it all seems rather bland with lyrics whose significance I can't seem to get my head around. ApartMediocre indie synthpop. For the most part, it all seems rather bland with lyrics whose significance I can't seem to get my head around. Apart from the really pretty, ethereal ballad, Overjoyed and tear-jerking love song, Oblivion, almost all the songs merge into one big, mediocre lump that's very unmemorable. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews