Bad Self Portraits

Bad Self Portraits Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Brooklyn-based band formed by former students at the New England Conservatory releases its second full-length studio album.
Buy On

Top Track

You Go Down Smooth
Would it be true to say that I ordered you Or is it you that ordered me? I could say you are the only one I see But I can't stop at two or three And... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. The music Lake Street makes draws from 1930s jazz, ’50s rockabilly and doo-wop, as well as ’60s blues and soul. The title track idealizes that last mix. It could slip easily onto Bonnie Raitt’s best, early discs.
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    80
    Bigger, louder, and more eclectic works well on Bad Self Portraits, but smaller, quieter, and more precise was what made the band's earlier efforts so distinctive.
  3. Mar 27, 2014
    80
    The songs are about working through the pain of love, but what comes across on record is joyous.
  4. Apr 10, 2014
    78
    Portraits polishes, buffs, and ups the oomph factor on 11 tracks that find guitars and organ keys emerging as the most prominent instruments on "Just Ask," "Better Than," and "Rabid Animal."
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    75
    The band’s multiple harmonies and call-and-response on “Seventeen” and ”Stop Your Crying” remind listeners that Lake Street Dive is a group effort and that its core is powerfully impressive, even if this collection of songs is wrapped up in an unnecessarily over-produced package.
  6. Feb 21, 2014
    70
    The set could use more form-flipping touches like the latter. But as revivalism goes, this is vital stuff.
  7. Apr 1, 2014
    70
    There is a buoyant creativity to many of Lake Street Dive's arrangements, and cuts like "Bobby Tanqueray" and "Seventeen" reveal such time-tested influences as late-'60s Muscle Shoals-influenced soul and Dusty Springfield-esque pop.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 5, 2016
    9
    Bad Self Portraits by Lake Street Dive and Alabama Shakes Boys & Girls wear the same rock critic generated mantle of being "revivalists"Bad Self Portraits by Lake Street Dive and Alabama Shakes Boys & Girls wear the same rock critic generated mantle of being "revivalists" subjected to approximation and facile comparisons that condense the spectrum of music history to a conspicuous name dropping form of obscurantist elitism. But, Lake Street Dive has an infectious energy that the hype machine silences when the industry of insidious marketing called rock criticism neglects the band to laud the terminally hook-less Alabama Shakes. Rachael Price has a remarkably engaging and sultry voice that merges soul and rockabilly, there is an emotional intensity absent from the Old school Soul posturing of the breathy and limited vocals of Brittany Howard. Although Bad Self Portraits has songs whose melodies get trapped in the spaces between ears and my tuneless humming and some instantly forgettable songs. The good on this album outweighs the lackluster and even those songs that could use some polishing exceed everything on the critically acclaimed albums by the Alabama Shakes. My favorite songs are: Stop Your Crying, Bad Self Portraits, Rabid Animal, You Go Down Smooth, What About Me, and a couple of others...and if I can list almost the entire album without hesitation you should probably investigate it. Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2014
    8
    It's the kind of album that is more appreciated the more it's listened to. However, i enjoyed Rachael Price's voice the first time. VeryIt's the kind of album that is more appreciated the more it's listened to. However, i enjoyed Rachael Price's voice the first time. Very beautiful. The music is even more enjoyable, but more subtle.

    This album is best heard while winding down, in some peace and quiet.
    Collapse