Bang Bang Rock & Roll

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 80
  2. Negative: 12 out of 80

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SteveC
    Oct 26, 2006
    0
    Pretentious rubbish. Awful. Talentless. Highly irritating.
  2. Jason
    Aug 10, 2006
    1
    I clearly missed something too because a friend just called me last night to rave about these guys. Unfortunately, I'd already heard this album and couldn't get through it a 2nd time.
  3. lozd
    Jun 3, 2005
    3
    As the Q review says; this album is basically 2 decent singles spread over the length of an album. The re-recorded versions of those songs are overdone rehashes of the superior originals. (They've added all manner of dodgy vocal harmonies where they just aren't needed). The deadpan humour was funny when they sounded shambolic, but now they've been polished is just sounds As the Q review says; this album is basically 2 decent singles spread over the length of an album. The re-recorded versions of those songs are overdone rehashes of the superior originals. (They've added all manner of dodgy vocal harmonies where they just aren't needed). The deadpan humour was funny when they sounded shambolic, but now they've been polished is just sounds hypocritical. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jun 6, 2005
    2
    Terrible pretentious arty rubbish. Saw them live in Dublin last weekend and they were awful. The frontman's wannabe Jarvis Cocker act is irritating at best and the few decent riffs and licks (and there are enough to suggest that the guitarist alone may have some potential) are overpowered by the maddeningly forced faux-intellectual mumblings of the lead singer. At the point where he Terrible pretentious arty rubbish. Saw them live in Dublin last weekend and they were awful. The frontman's wannabe Jarvis Cocker act is irritating at best and the few decent riffs and licks (and there are enough to suggest that the guitarist alone may have some potential) are overpowered by the maddeningly forced faux-intellectual mumblings of the lead singer. At the point where he started tunelessly proclaiming how 'Popular Culture Does Note Apply To Me' (on a loop), the audience openly started laughing. And headed for the bar. Introducing a song as 'our intellectual one' doesnt make you nerdily cool mate. Alex Kapranos, you have a lot to answer for. Collapse
  5. bobbobert
    Dec 12, 2005
    2
    theres a reason you dont hear bands like pavement and the ramones anymore. independent music has progressed to a point where we dont NEED a crazy slop fest to have fun or be honest. dont get me wrong, i love pavement. i love crazy fun slop fests. but this cd is neither crazy nor fun. its annoyingly self absorbed and stupid, and before you say something like 'it's SUPPOSED to be theres a reason you dont hear bands like pavement and the ramones anymore. independent music has progressed to a point where we dont NEED a crazy slop fest to have fun or be honest. dont get me wrong, i love pavement. i love crazy fun slop fests. but this cd is neither crazy nor fun. its annoyingly self absorbed and stupid, and before you say something like 'it's SUPPOSED to be stupid', please, let me kick you in the nuts. yes, i realize the whole gimmick of the album is that 'its funny because its dumb AND pretentious.' and yknow what? youre right, it is. but last time i checked, dumb+pretentious=suck. i mean, did i miss something? you write a song about how you started a band, and suddenly everyone thinks youre clever? uh, sure dude. y'know some bands that are clever and funny AND listenable? The unicorns, they might be giants, starlight mints, the fiery furnaces when they try to be.... so these guys play the same three chords over and over and talk about mundane stuff that they actually do, and everyone loves it because of its energy? how come no one's giving Expand
  6. freerangechild
    Dec 21, 2005
    0
    Falkous would stomp these guys. Also, before anyone listens to this crud.... FIND OUT WHO MARK E SMITH IS There is really no excuse for not knowing by now. There is also no excuse for liking this album. Ryan Schreiber needs to be kicked in the balls.
  7. theking
    Jul 14, 2005
    0
    worst band ever.
  8. Mark
    Jun 21, 2006
    1
    Clearly, I missed something. This album is crap.
  9. MattD.
    Jul 11, 2006
    2
    Tries to be funny, but the lyrics are dumb, and the vocals and music sound like a parody. I'll give it 2 points for effort. Try Ted Leo instead if you want fresh pop/punk.
  10. ChrisM
    Jul 11, 2006
    0
    Utter crap... Arogs' voice is annoying, and to hear him trample and stumble his way over some very pedestrian arrangements makes me wonder how deprived most listeners/critics are if they're giving this glowing reviews. Bland, bland music.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Spin
    83
    These Brits deconstruct bombast via bombastic guitar riffs. [Jun 2005, p.108]
  2. It all adds up to blatantly catchy, deceptively simple wannabe-clever, can’t-help-but-be-cheeky art-punk.
  3. Mojo
    80
    Every generation needs an Art Brut. [Jun 2005, p.100]