Bang Bang Rock & Roll

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 80
  2. Negative: 12 out of 80

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. bearlyybearlyy
    Jul 7, 2006
    5
    Lyrically it is quite creative and a few of the songs made me feel euphoric for maybe 3 listens. But musically and melodically it is barren, barren, completely barren.
  2. aReviewer
    Apr 8, 2006
    6
    When I first listened to this album, I thought it was like the Streets at first. Then I realized, Mike Skinner is awesome, and this guy, well, isn't. If you're a fan of straightforward but otherwise uninteresting lyrics and musical style, then this is for you. It's rock-n-roll in its purest most simple form, but it's still missing something that would make it good. When I first listened to this album, I thought it was like the Streets at first. Then I realized, Mike Skinner is awesome, and this guy, well, isn't. If you're a fan of straightforward but otherwise uninteresting lyrics and musical style, then this is for you. It's rock-n-roll in its purest most simple form, but it's still missing something that would make it good. People will be sick of this album in a year. Expand
  3. name
    Aug 29, 2005
    6
    It is intriguing upon the first listen but it gets old fast. On deeper analysis Art Brut comes off as a solid singles band with a whole lot of filler.
  4. gabrielp
    Aug 9, 2005
    6
    This is the most funny album of the year, BUT, the sound of Art Brut, that scream-singing style it's so... "trying-to-be-but-NOT-Ramones". They're trying to save the world of rock 'n roll making funny lyrics: 10 points. They're trying to kill all the rock n' roll spirit: 2 points. Total: 6 points.
  5. lonchaneyjr
    Aug 4, 2006
    6
    It's forty minutes in the company of a moderately amusing, utterly charming guy. But...is that what you listen to music for?
  6. AKilmer
    Aug 15, 2005
    4
    They've just released this in the US, but I seriously doubt it will go anywhere. At first listen, I found the album unlistenable. If this guy was singing in front of me I think I'd punch him in the face as an involuntary reaction to his singing and lyrics. I decided to listen to the whole album and discovered Bad Weekend isn't a bad song but it's not worth an album to They've just released this in the US, but I seriously doubt it will go anywhere. At first listen, I found the album unlistenable. If this guy was singing in front of me I think I'd punch him in the face as an involuntary reaction to his singing and lyrics. I decided to listen to the whole album and discovered Bad Weekend isn't a bad song but it's not worth an album to get to it. I gave it a five because they seem like they could have huge potential then dropped it to three because I have a feeling they won't use it , but Bad Weekend bumped it up to a four. Expand
  7. Delicious
    Nov 26, 2006
    6
    Some catchy songs, but hardly revolutionary. They might seem special to someone who has absolutely no knowledge of other independent bands, maybe? Art Brut have some catchy songs, but the lead singer steals Mark E. Smith's shtick and the band is just generic garage rock.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Spin
    83
    These Brits deconstruct bombast via bombastic guitar riffs. [Jun 2005, p.108]
  2. It all adds up to blatantly catchy, deceptively simple wannabe-clever, can’t-help-but-be-cheeky art-punk.
  3. Mojo
    80
    Every generation needs an Art Brut. [Jun 2005, p.100]