Bangarang [EP]

  • Record Label: Big Beat
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2012
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    60
    It's not a tasteful formula, but that doesn't mean it's not valid.
  2. Jan 18, 2012
    60
    It's uncomplicated, catchy fun, the equivalent of 21st-century hair metal-and that's meant as a compliment.
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    50
    Bangarang is a disappointingly formulaic affair which hints for the first time that the wheels may soon slowly begin to fall off.
  4. Jan 24, 2012
    50
    Bangarang is the work of an entertainer still insecure in his ability to hold his audience's attention without resorting to loud gimmicks.
  5. 40
    Bangarang, a stopgap EP ahead of his debut album later in the year, still fails to confirm whether his unashamed populism is deeply naive or profoundly cynical.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 38
  2. Negative: 11 out of 38
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    3
    This is terrible. Honestly, you have to try hard to annoy me in this genre, and this EP is loaded with poorly done, obnoxious tracks, withThis is terrible. Honestly, you have to try hard to annoy me in this genre, and this EP is loaded with poorly done, obnoxious tracks, with awful samples. Include all of the rehashed bass lines we've all heard before, and you have a short, and horrible album. You think Skrillex would improve after achieving sudo popularity, but instead he has degraded. Sad to see.

    If you want to bump some good fast paced dubstep, look up Acid Wolfpack - Coyote Kisses That song is 1000x better than anything on Bangarang. Last thing I want to say is that the actual Bangarang song is decent. It's worth a listen.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    8
    Im not sure why people hate on Skrillex so much. His hair? His retarded old band? Who cares? His music is some of the craziest stuff I've everIm not sure why people hate on Skrillex so much. His hair? His retarded old band? Who cares? His music is some of the craziest stuff I've ever heard and very impressive. Not the best album I've ever heard but I'll definitely be jamming out to it for a while and more deserving of a 2.7 user score. Full Review »
  3. Jan 24, 2012
    3
    Skrillex is just rehashing the basslines we've heard over the past couple of years from dubstep artists everywhere. Why doesn't he take a leafSkrillex is just rehashing the basslines we've heard over the past couple of years from dubstep artists everywhere. Why doesn't he take a leaf out of SBTRKT or Rustie's book and look to take dubstep somewhere it's never been before? Full Review »