Bangarang [EP]

  • Record Label: Big Beat
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2012
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 191 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 191
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2012
    9
    This EP helps to continue to establish Skrillex's brand which I can see either loving or hating. I think it's a very important thing for an artist, in as forgettable a genre as dubstep, to make a concrete sound identity for themselves. This EP, along with Scary Monsters helps to really create a solid sound base that is the Skrillex brand. That said, I love the sound.

    I did take a point
    This EP helps to continue to establish Skrillex's brand which I can see either loving or hating. I think it's a very important thing for an artist, in as forgettable a genre as dubstep, to make a concrete sound identity for themselves. This EP, along with Scary Monsters helps to really create a solid sound base that is the Skrillex brand. That said, I love the sound.

    I did take a point off for aesthetics. I'm not sure what it is about this EP, but something doesn't quite catch me like it did in Scary Monsters. I think it's because the general feeling of songs is a bit slower and more churning rather than up beat.
    Expand
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    8
    Im not sure why people hate on Skrillex so much. His hair? His retarded old band? Who cares? His music is some of the craziest stuff I've ever heard and very impressive. Not the best album I've ever heard but I'll definitely be jamming out to it for a while and more deserving of a 2.7 user score.
  3. cfh
    Mar 24, 2013
    10
    I honestly love this EP because, 1. I love Skrillex and dubstep in general 2. It is probably one of his best albums 3. Every single song is awesome in it, not like Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites where about 2 of the songs are good 4. Even people who do not like dubstep like the song Bangarang because it is a good song to play at dances.
  4. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Honestly, i like over half of the songs on the ep and i feel its just something to keep me busy till his full album comes out. The tunes are catchy and i feel that all of them are all unique and don't sound much like his previous work
  5. Jan 28, 2012
    8
    Bangarang is a great EP, especially if your into electronic. Keeping that in mind, Skrillex fails to produce new sounds that aren't easily computer generated, but it's really personal preference with his style. What makes this EP special, is that Skrillex tries to vary his usually filthy tracks, with cleaner tracks such as Breakin' A Sweat, and especially Summit with Ellie Goulding. ThereBangarang is a great EP, especially if your into electronic. Keeping that in mind, Skrillex fails to produce new sounds that aren't easily computer generated, but it's really personal preference with his style. What makes this EP special, is that Skrillex tries to vary his usually filthy tracks, with cleaner tracks such as Breakin' A Sweat, and especially Summit with Ellie Goulding. There is much room for improvement, but if Skrill continues with his filthy computer tracks, he'll sellout in no time. Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Bangarang is a great EP. First of, i'm a huge Skrillex fan, he's what got me into dubstep in the first place. Now when you first hear the songs on the EP, you think "Skrillex has degraded to the point where I don't like him any more." But then when you hear the songs again & again & again, you start to love it. That's the sort of EP I like. Because, music has to have some replay-abilty, orBangarang is a great EP. First of, i'm a huge Skrillex fan, he's what got me into dubstep in the first place. Now when you first hear the songs on the EP, you think "Skrillex has degraded to the point where I don't like him any more." But then when you hear the songs again & again & again, you start to love it. That's the sort of EP I like. Because, music has to have some replay-abilty, or it's not good (at least in my opinion). Heck, I like it so much, I have physical thing! So if you dont like dubstep, this isn't going to make like it. But dubstep fans like me, will love over time. 9/10 Expand
  7. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    It's just sad there's so many negative comments. People shouldn't hate Skrillex. He's the best DJ mixer around. Bangarang blew me off my seat when I heard it for the first time. If you rated this 2 or lower, listen to Bangarang twice and then say this was helpful.
  8. May 6, 2012
    7
    Skrillex is a peculiar artist. When I first listened to the Bangarang EP I didn't really like a single track. They all sounded a little lazy, familiar and frankly somewhat annoying. But somehow Skrillex knows how to make catchy tunes. I find myself minding my business when all of a sudden one of his melodies enters my brain and gets stuck. So now that some time has passed, I've actuallySkrillex is a peculiar artist. When I first listened to the Bangarang EP I didn't really like a single track. They all sounded a little lazy, familiar and frankly somewhat annoying. But somehow Skrillex knows how to make catchy tunes. I find myself minding my business when all of a sudden one of his melodies enters my brain and gets stuck. So now that some time has passed, I've actually come back to some of these tracks and come to like them a lot.
    Also, he knows how to make music that works on the dance floor, which is a quality that some of the possibly more skilled producers lack.
    That being said, there are still quite a few tracks on this EP that I don't care for at all. All in all not a spectacular EP but his ability to consistently produce some quality music is impressive.
    Good tracks: Right In, Kyoto and Summit.
    Expand
  9. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    As far as Dubstep goes, it's great. Good fun! Matches if not goes past what other artists of the same fame level are doing these days. I really don't give it a 10, I'm just trying to balance the score out. Overall I'd say 4/5.
  10. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    WHAT?!!!!!!!!!! How are there so many negative reviews on here?!! Skrillex is a genius! He kills it track after track. The orchestral track was very random but come on Kyoto alone gives this album every right to a 10/10. Skrillex is the king of dubstep. He is an absolute genius and he always makes killer tracks. I don't care what anyone says. 10/10!
  11. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    There are a lot of great international artists that impacted the entire music charts in 2012. There's David Guetta, there's Kylie Minogue, there's Alex Claire who's his music was featured in a Internet Explorer 9 commercial. But Skrillrex delivers hard-knockin beats and a sensitive style of dance, techno, and more. Bangarang [EP] is one of the best albums of 2012 so far. From Mortal KombatThere are a lot of great international artists that impacted the entire music charts in 2012. There's David Guetta, there's Kylie Minogue, there's Alex Claire who's his music was featured in a Internet Explorer 9 commercial. But Skrillrex delivers hard-knockin beats and a sensitive style of dance, techno, and more. Bangarang [EP] is one of the best albums of 2012 so far. From Mortal Kombat to Lollipop Chainsaw, he also even had a score on Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter. He's everywhere from movies to TV spots to video games. Great album, looking forward on the Electric Daisy Carnival Experience 2012 (in movie theaters). Expand
  12. Sep 28, 2012
    7
    not the greatest EP, but i still like it, why is there all this hate? its got some high points, elie golding is in it for gods sake, also, good beat, good songs
  13. Mar 14, 2014
    7
    The Bangarang EP is fun and wild, offering both fantastic melody hooks and edgy dubstep samples to appease a variety of electronic music listeners. There's plenty to enjoy here, it's just a shame that it's not a full-length album. The songs all sound like they belong on the same record yet none of them have any real resemblance with one another. Skrillex has talent and potential, butThe Bangarang EP is fun and wild, offering both fantastic melody hooks and edgy dubstep samples to appease a variety of electronic music listeners. There's plenty to enjoy here, it's just a shame that it's not a full-length album. The songs all sound like they belong on the same record yet none of them have any real resemblance with one another. Skrillex has talent and potential, but dubstep is an arena that is hard to master should a full album be in the future for this popular DJ. If you are trying to find an "in" to dubstep, Bangarang is probably one of the best doors to walk through. Expand
  14. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    Not as good as Scary Monsters And Nice Sprites, but a not-so-bad EP to keep us waiting for his first real album : Voltage. Key tracks : Bangarang (duh) and Kyoto. My favorites : The Devil's Den and Summit
  15. Apr 5, 2014
    7
    Good song collection, Skrillex is a mastermind of brostep. The dubstep is well composed and I enhoyed the epic drops. It is also quite popular.
    Why so much hate for this album? It's relatively good!
  16. Aug 21, 2015
    8
    Skrillex really established an original sound that is representative for this generation (whether you like it or not). Some songs on here are not as original, like 'The Devil's Den', which sounds like anything Skrillex would make combined with anything Wolfgang Gartner would make, also 'Right On Time' sounds like The Chemical Brothers' 'It Doesn't Matter' with some variations and a (I haveSkrillex really established an original sound that is representative for this generation (whether you like it or not). Some songs on here are not as original, like 'The Devil's Den', which sounds like anything Skrillex would make combined with anything Wolfgang Gartner would make, also 'Right On Time' sounds like The Chemical Brothers' 'It Doesn't Matter' with some variations and a (I have to admit) awesome synth melody at the ending, which reminds you how great Moore is at setting an eerie mood. As of the title track, that might become an EDM classic. Expand
  17. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    Of course, this is insanity, just random weird sounds, but in the end, did it entertain you? That's all that matters. This is an awesome EP that just makes you shake. You know you love it.
  18. Jun 4, 2016
    9
    I think this album is very awesome . In this album I love Break'n a Sweet and Bangarand, I watched clip on Bangarang . I think this album most popular Skrillex album and Bangarang one of the most popular new songs and I think this album is very good and in this music album there are hits and Break'n a Sweet play in NFS Most Wanted 2012 . Amazing album . 9/10 .
  19. Aug 9, 2016
    7
    7.0
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. 40
    Bangarang, a stopgap EP ahead of his debut album later in the year, still fails to confirm whether his unashamed populism is deeply naive or profoundly cynical.
  2. This is a pop record because its shamelessly hedonistic barrage of proven dancefloor tricks will obviously be more fun at home than in a club.
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    50
    Bangarang is a disappointingly formulaic affair which hints for the first time that the wheels may soon slowly begin to fall off.