• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Oct 8, 2013
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 425 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    1
    This album is absolutely contrived and manufactured. This album was just as much produced and written by a bunch of staunchy old white men sitting in a board room as it was by Miley's production team. There are absolutely no chances taken on this album. Every cliche pop music move was put into this album in full. When things like this come through the pipeline you have to ask a fewThis album is absolutely contrived and manufactured. This album was just as much produced and written by a bunch of staunchy old white men sitting in a board room as it was by Miley's production team. There are absolutely no chances taken on this album. Every cliche pop music move was put into this album in full. When things like this come through the pipeline you have to ask a few questions. There have been other pop projects that have come down the pipe in recent years that are just as polished and spit shined and totally devoid of art as this one. The last Lady Gaga projects for example just as much cliche and non real risk taking as this one but here's the difference, Lady Gaga or better yet her handlers pick better written songs and she can actually sing her ass off and that is the reason her projects will probably be remembered for much longer than Miley's. She must be absolutely surrounded with people that do nothing but tell her everything she does is great. This album is just as much created in a test tube by disney types with just as little soul as was given to her in the disney lab. People need to wake up and demand that thier artist actually create art of this decade will be just as unremarkable for music as the last decade. Demand better of the industry....... Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    The new generation is terrible. The only things they like are fortune and fame. It's just like diamonds. IN Albums like this offer no progress to music.
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    I found the music on this album to be banal and completely unmemorable, this album seems like its only purpose is for Miley to shed her "wholesome Disney star" image.
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    It adds nothing new to the genre. Some beats are okay but the lyrics in general are laughable. I am losing faith in humanity if songs like "Wrecking Ball" and "We Cant Stop" have more than one hundred million clicks on Youtube.
  5. May 20, 2014
    0
    How can someone do an album like that? It's just... horrible. The album sounds like **** I Thout she was going to do somehting amazing, and she did the worst of her career.
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    I can't understand why she is acting so just to have a few weeks of fame. Since the video of We Can't stop she does everything for the attention. Honestly, the songs are crappy and with no meaning. The lyrics don't mean anything at all. "LA da da di we like to party dancing with miley" Seriously? Garbage. Burn it!
  7. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    Not her best album. The only track that surprised was "Wrecking Ball", without that, I'd delete like 10 tracks from Bangerz before buying it, if I ever could.
  8. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    This is one of the worst pop albums ever made. It brings nothing new to the table. The production is weak, the lyrics are laughable, the guest features don't do anything, the delivery sucks, the tracks are overly proccessed and full of Auto-Tune, there's no redeeming quality to it. Miley's another untalented former kid star trying to rebel and make people take her seriously. If you takeThis is one of the worst pop albums ever made. It brings nothing new to the table. The production is weak, the lyrics are laughable, the guest features don't do anything, the delivery sucks, the tracks are overly proccessed and full of Auto-Tune, there's no redeeming quality to it. Miley's another untalented former kid star trying to rebel and make people take her seriously. If you take away all of the desperate publicity stunts and attention-seeking behavior, all you have is a pile of forgettable turd that fails at trying to be edgy and brings the quality of music down another low. The fact that anyone with a brain would like this is scary because there's nothing good about it. Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    I actually can't stand Miley as a person, but I gave the album a chance. Some of the songs were just "okay" but others are so bad they sound like something anyone with Fruity Studios could make!
    People giving this a 10 are definitely trolls.
  10. Oct 8, 2013
    1
    I actually can't stand Miley as a person, but I gave the album a chance. Some of the songs were just "okay" but others are so bad they sound like something anyone with Fruity Studios could make!
    People giving this a 10 are definitely trolls.
  11. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    Man, I don't know what she was thinking when she made this album, like, it is a mess and a failed attempt to be mainstream. The only song that is a least good is "We Can't Stop" although the lyrics are really really bad... I WANNA SEE THE REAL MILEY!!
  12. Oct 11, 2013
    0
    Mediocre at best. All this untalented girl wants is attention, and everyone is giving her that. Her songs are weak, her performances are miserable, basically she's almost as bad as Rhianna.
  13. Oct 8, 2013
    0
    Bad and catastrophic, as a young man can be damaged this way.
    Miley composed with a lot of guys, and made an album of very poor quality. A little more ATTENTION PLEASE
  14. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Este disco realmente no me provoca nada, debería de ser usado como metodo de tortura... Tiene los peores videos del año y las canciones ni siquiera se te quedan en la cabeza.
  15. AGK
    Jan 2, 2014
    3
    I might not like her music but she's pretty smart, she moved on from being a child's entertainer and now look where she is, she is being hated on by hannah montana fans and others and she is making more money. she might be a terrible singer but she's smart.
  16. Nov 4, 2013
    2
    The only reason this album is talked about is the fact that she does provocative things. The only song i can use is Sms Bangerz due to the Britney collaboration.
  17. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    Few listenable songs. Each song is similar to another. Predictable lyrics. We can all admit that she is just a singer who can only release two good singles. The rest of the album is trashy
  18. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    This album is not what she used to produce and in fact nothing close to that. Miley has changed, which is fine, however not in the way people would have expected. Overall not great.
  19. Oct 16, 2014
    0
    There is one word to describe this album: BORING

    All the songs on this album have really uninteresting ideas and a lack of creativity.I also really dislike the album due to the amount of variety put into it, making me confused with what Miley wants to do with her album... The only song that I liked for being unique is "#GETITRIGHT", a very catchy song and an otherwise good song to use
    There is one word to describe this album: BORING

    All the songs on this album have really uninteresting ideas and a lack of creativity.I also really dislike the album due to the amount of variety put into it, making me confused with what Miley wants to do with her album... The only song that I liked for being unique is "#GETITRIGHT", a very catchy song and an otherwise good song to use as a single, otherwise, it's nothing special. Imagine if Miley talk to some business men to write songs and it's her that decides what she wants for those songs, that's....lazy.

    In the end, I don't really want to be listening to this album. I would be happy to demolish it if I could because this album just bores me to death and disgusts me with the raunchy and wrong lyrics...
    Expand
  20. Apr 23, 2015
    0
    Even though Cyrus music is old and our generation does not need her in the industry; her sexual music is kinda worth listening too! (at times) but her talent is wasted now
  21. Oct 26, 2014
    0
    album meio bosta ela querendo atenção com as letras de baixo calão a unica que presta é é WB porem teve um clipe desesperado por atenção e nao teve nada aver com a musica e vulgar
  22. May 4, 2015
    1
    chatinho mas legal da sone e te faz sançar sabe um album totalmente manipulador e bipolar? te aprezendo o bangerz ou melhor gingado tosco adeus beijos hahahah
  23. May 4, 2015
    1
    Do any of us need to pretend that there is any hidden talent in this pop disaster? No. This is garbage and belongs in the dump. It boggles my kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
  24. Jun 4, 2015
    0
    Que álbum terrivel, não acho nenhum trabalho de Miley Cyrus bom, esse ela se superou, músicas ruins e vocais terríveis, meu Deus, a única que se salva é Wrecking Ball, as outras até parece que quando ela foi gravar ela estava bêbada.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.
  2. 40
    It's full of timid electropop anthems.
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    30
    Sometimes, like on the outstanding "Wrecking Ball," the emotion calcifies into catchy, mature hooks, propelled forth by Cyrus' oft-underestimated vocal heft. Then again, the breakup also produced "FU," a dismally adolescent electro-soul duet with French Montana.