• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Oct 8, 2013
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 425 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 3, 2015
    5
    Except for the internationally known single 'Wrecking Ball' this album tends to entrap the listener in a lyrically trashy and musically boring slow hip-hop style.

    The buzz which characterizes 'Bangerz' could be fun, but it ends to be really annoying.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    4
    As an album all about Youth, Love, and Rebellion, Bangerz has a lot of missed potential. The ballad-esque tracks "Adore You" and "Wrecking Ball" show some of Miley's more human side, while tracks like "Love Money Party", "Do My Thang", "FU" (and a myriad of others) show that Miley has a long way to go before she musically matures. Some tracks like "4x4" or, more debatable, "SMS (Bangerz)"As an album all about Youth, Love, and Rebellion, Bangerz has a lot of missed potential. The ballad-esque tracks "Adore You" and "Wrecking Ball" show some of Miley's more human side, while tracks like "Love Money Party", "Do My Thang", "FU" (and a myriad of others) show that Miley has a long way to go before she musically matures. Some tracks like "4x4" or, more debatable, "SMS (Bangerz)" are fun as long as you don't take them too seriously. Miley's voice is her greatest asset, bringing both power and contemporary country twang in a few of her tracks. "Drive" is a simple, yet listenable, track that captures her voice well (albeit being very "produced").

    Ultimately, Bangerz isn't a total failure. There is good sprinkled in this album, but had Miley and her collaborators spent less time trying to force this whole "bad girl" image and instead continued working in the direction of "Wrecking Ball" and "Adore you" then it could have soared higher. Hopefully her future albums sincerely encompass her eccentric youthfulness and rebellion, while also tackling those topics with more maturity.
    Expand
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    The feats damaged some songs like My Darlin, overall, the album is generic and very cartoonish, but not all bad, have good songs, especially Wrecking Ball which is the best music made by Miley. As a whole, Bangerz disappointed to have good singles and give us the idea that we could expect something really big, but still has a picture of a singer who wants to do everything to stay in theThe feats damaged some songs like My Darlin, overall, the album is generic and very cartoonish, but not all bad, have good songs, especially Wrecking Ball which is the best music made by Miley. As a whole, Bangerz disappointed to have good singles and give us the idea that we could expect something really big, but still has a picture of a singer who wants to do everything to stay in the spotlight without doing songs with a depth and resonance striking. I hope that she finds her personality and her music style. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2013
    4
    Miley Cyrus is back with a new image and a new sound but the results are strange. Cyrus' new outing Bangerz is mess and rather strange the vocals are overproduced and the lyrics are goofy at best. This album may seem to be an all typical mainstream album but not all of this album is some of the songs do sound rather different and somewhat refreshing. The production of the album is messyMiley Cyrus is back with a new image and a new sound but the results are strange. Cyrus' new outing Bangerz is mess and rather strange the vocals are overproduced and the lyrics are goofy at best. This album may seem to be an all typical mainstream album but not all of this album is some of the songs do sound rather different and somewhat refreshing. The production of the album is messy as well some songs have a glossy, nice Hollywood sound (pretty strings and slick and gritty synths) to them whilst others sound incredibly cheap and dated. Speaking of songs, some songs aren't bad and but some are really bad (SMS (Bangerz) being the worst track). Overall, this album isn't very good Miley Cyrus fans and pop music fans with like this but it will come off as mediocre to others. Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    6
    Bangerz is a disillusioned collection of pop and hip-hop tracks that seems like a jumble and a mess. Though Miley's voice shines through on some tracks, most are unoriginal pop and run-of-the-mill.
  6. Apr 15, 2014
    4
    Most of the songs were quite boring and Dunbar. There were a few ones I did like such as adore you, we can't stop and wrecking ball. Aside from that it was useless garbage
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    Bangerz is an irregular bunch of songs arranged in a perhaps arbitrary way ,more raunchy and ridiculous than emotional. Beside the only good song in the album, "Wreckin' ball", and no video can ruin it, we can rescue some catchy tracks like "#Getitright" (written by Pharrel) and "Rooting for my baby", this last one included in the Deluxe edition. But I almost fell asleep listen to thatBangerz is an irregular bunch of songs arranged in a perhaps arbitrary way ,more raunchy and ridiculous than emotional. Beside the only good song in the album, "Wreckin' ball", and no video can ruin it, we can rescue some catchy tracks like "#Getitright" (written by Pharrel) and "Rooting for my baby", this last one included in the Deluxe edition. But I almost fell asleep listen to that rendition to Stand By Me called "My Darlin'" and there's no words to qualify epic failures like "SMS" and "Love Money Party". Plus, 4x4 is Nelly at his weakest, and "We can't stop" lyrics are infamous without needing a video helping to prove it. In summary, Miley tries to show a grown up image, but a disrespectful and fake rebel one. In the side of production, maybe if RCA or any responsible executive (and Miley is listed as executive producer) would taken out some songs of the regular edition and replace them by "Rooting for my baby" and "On my own" from the Deluxe one, it could have been a more balance album, but it's not the case. Listen to the whole product, the standard Bangerz is clearly below of average pop releases this year. I have to say that, simply, Mike Will didn't make it this time, and i give it the standard a 4, but the Deluxe deserves a 6, so I'll give this a 5, despite all the misbehaving and recent foul statements from Miley, because that has nothing to do with this. Expand
  8. Feb 2, 2014
    4
    This album is tricky to rate. Some tracks here can be considered good (Adore You, Wrecking Ball) or at least okay (Someone Else); others are boring and forgettable (Drive) or even incredibly annoying (4x4).

    I believe the best word to describe this album is 'Average'. Maybe also a bit below that.
  9. Oct 25, 2013
    4
    Ignoring Miley's "new image" this album just feels forced. She doesn't sound comfortable rapping and her trying to be "bad-ass" just makes this whole album kind of pathetic. This album adds nothing new to pop music, everything on this album has already been done before. Not very likable, doesn't sound all that great (Miley's southern "twang" in her voice makes some sound completelyIgnoring Miley's "new image" this album just feels forced. She doesn't sound comfortable rapping and her trying to be "bad-ass" just makes this whole album kind of pathetic. This album adds nothing new to pop music, everything on this album has already been done before. Not very likable, doesn't sound all that great (Miley's southern "twang" in her voice makes some sound completely awkward) and a complete re-hash of things that have already been done. We get it, Miley. You're not Hannah Montana anymore. But completely alienating your fan base in order to promote this...then it's just not all that good...it's gonna be hard to come back from this disaster. Expand
  10. Oct 8, 2013
    5
    It has stranges sounds, it is very diferent to the other Miley we had met, but is a good one. I was waiting for more because the singles are very strong, but the rest of the album is very diferent, there are songs that are good, but there are other ones that the lyrics and the melodies are totally failures, the combination of hip-hop and pop she could do it good, in others was awfull. IIt has stranges sounds, it is very diferent to the other Miley we had met, but is a good one. I was waiting for more because the singles are very strong, but the rest of the album is very diferent, there are songs that are good, but there are other ones that the lyrics and the melodies are totally failures, the combination of hip-hop and pop she could do it good, in others was awfull. I think it is a 50% of a good álbum, and another 50% of an awful one. Expand
  11. Oct 24, 2013
    4
    On the follow-up to 2010's 'Can't Be Tamed', Cyrus is able to portray to listeners the fact that she has obviously left behind her Disney Channel image for a more provocative and post-adolescent image; which is in some ways mature and in other ways immature. 'Bangerz' has some strong moments: "We Can't Stop", "Wrecking Ball", "#GetItRight", "FU", and "Someone Else" are album highlights;On the follow-up to 2010's 'Can't Be Tamed', Cyrus is able to portray to listeners the fact that she has obviously left behind her Disney Channel image for a more provocative and post-adolescent image; which is in some ways mature and in other ways immature. 'Bangerz' has some strong moments: "We Can't Stop", "Wrecking Ball", "#GetItRight", "FU", and "Someone Else" are album highlights; however songs like the country-rap disaster "4x4" and the pop rap mess "SMS (Bangerz)" show that Cyrus' vocal talent is still developing and that she is obviously still trying to find the right sound.

    'Bangerz', as expected, contains a lot of upbeat hip-pop tracks that at times are great but at times extremely annoying; but also contains some slower ballads that again are at times great but at times very cheesy and milquetoast. It would be nice to say that songs like the galloping, banging, dub-pop-hop masterpiece "FU" and the super-fun single "We Can't Stop" make up for the album's more lackluster tracks; but after listening to 'Bangerz' in its entirety; the bad largely overshadows the good. In conclusion, 'Bangerz' is nowhere near a good album but its not horrible either. 'Bangerz' probably contains enough hits to keep Cyrus musically relevant until the end of its album cycle, but the majority of its sixteen tracks quickly become tiresome and forgettable.
    Expand
  12. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    Con tanta controversia que vi en la televisión y con los singles de Miley We Can't Stop y Wrecking Ball dije wooow esta chica viene con todo, pero que paso cuando salio Bangerz? Decepción total, solo son rescatables como 4 canciones del album y ni siquiera son las mejores canciones, fue muy frustrante.
  13. Nov 14, 2013
    6
    To say Miley has made a splash this year is an understatement. Like most child stars before her, her proclamation that she is now an adult came accompanied with a massive image turn around, hypersexualisation and bad language and drugs references in her songs in a bid to prove her maturity. Unfortunately, this is more of a child's view of what it means to be an adult which hardly aids inTo say Miley has made a splash this year is an understatement. Like most child stars before her, her proclamation that she is now an adult came accompanied with a massive image turn around, hypersexualisation and bad language and drugs references in her songs in a bid to prove her maturity. Unfortunately, this is more of a child's view of what it means to be an adult which hardly aids in the credibility that she's so desperate to achieve. In fact, her overly sexual antics have raised much concern among the public who sense that she doesn't have anyone guiding her through her misguided rebelllion and that a Britney-esque breakdown could be on the cards if she doesn't calm down. This concern is all very valid, but for a moment, let's try to forget the whole circus surrounding Miley and just focus on her new album, her first in over three years and her first since she stopped being Hannah Montana.
    And it is surprisingly good. Prior to the album, I had found We Can't Stop to be a real guilty pleasure song and Wrecking Ball to be a surprisingly heartfelt pop ballad. It was a shame both had to be ruined by their music videos. I am pleased to say that much of Bangerz is good to above average. Aside from the crazy SMS (Bangerz) which takes a long time to grow on you if it does at all and the snooze that is #GETITRIGHT, the album is pretty solid. There's much to be said about Miley's apparent appropriation of black culture but she carries it off surprisingly well and it didn't come off as forced as I expected. We get a lovey dovey ballads like Adore You and My Darlin', which samples a little bit of Stand By Me. We get the country/hiphop mix that is 4x4 that will have you clicking your fingers and tapping your foot and this will make a great video. Then there's the emotional ballad, Drive. And the sassy, venegeful track, FU, which has more than a heavy inspiration of O Put A Spell On You in its production. Added on to We Can't Stop and Wrecking Ball and the acceptable other tracks, Miley turns out something above average, which is more than I can say of a lot of teen stars transition into adulthood. It's unclear where Miley's career will go when the public's over her twerking shenanigans and maybe this success is just a big fluke. But even if this is the case, the public did go nuts over a girl who, at the time, made a pretty decent album.
    Expand
  14. Nov 1, 2013
    4
    This album really could have been better. In all honesty this is not the style she should go with. She isn't a good rapper (or singer for that matter). The songs are generally boring. The album artwork is bland and boring. Let's start by saying she can't sing very well that's why she probably needs the sex appeal to drag people in (i.e. Rihanna, Britney Spears,).

    Adore You: Is good
    This album really could have been better. In all honesty this is not the style she should go with. She isn't a good rapper (or singer for that matter). The songs are generally boring. The album artwork is bland and boring. Let's start by saying she can't sing very well that's why she probably needs the sex appeal to drag people in (i.e. Rihanna, Britney Spears,).

    Adore You: Is good lyrics but vocals/production on the song were bad/boring. It does have lyrically meaning though but no wear near the best ballad of the year. (3/5)

    We Can't Stop: Is boring still, terrible lyrics, vocals, and production. (1.5/5)

    SMS (BANGERZ): Is a fun track if you like pop could've done more especially with the addition of Britney Spears, but the song is still okay. (4.5/5)

    4x4: Is completely terrible nothing good whatsoever (0/5) that is the second time I've ever given a song a 0 the first is Rebecca Black "Fryday".

    My Darlin': Is a pretty bland and boring ballad featuring the addition of more terrible vocals from Future. The lyrics are okay but nothing else. (2/5)

    Wrecking Ball: Is probably the only good ballad on this album. Good lyrics, production, edited vocals, catchy. (4/5)

    Love Money Party: This is one of the very few songs to hear if you like urban music. Decent vocals, good verse from Big Sean, catchy, fun, but also unoriginal and pointless lyrics. (4/5)

    #GETITRIGHT: Is pretty good production and okay lyrics but not much to keep someone listening past 20 seconds. (2.5/5)

    Drive: Is a try-hard song wanting to make everyone stop and listening, but you only get about 1 minute in. The production is overdone, the lyrics are good, the vocals are bad, it's somewhat catchy. (3/5)

    FU: Here we go something interesting on the album. The song sounds generally good probably on of the top 5 on this album. The production is good and simple, good fun lyrics, they have edited her vocals clearly but in a good way, its catchy especially the chorus. (4.5/5)

    Do My Thang: I was starting to believe will.I.am produced boring songs that weren't interesting (i.e. Check It Out, #ThatPower, Fall Down). The production on this song is absolutely amazing, enough to actually be a BANGER. The lyrics are retarded but at the same time interesting. Decent vocals. Catchy, fun, and dare I say a little original. (4.5/5)

    Maybe You're Right: This song was produced by John Shanks (i.e. Scars, My Heart Beats for Love, Stay). The production is solid and the lyrics are good. That's about it though the vocals are annoying. It's not catchy and/or creative. (3/5)

    Someone Else: Like "Drive" this is also a try-hard song, but does a better job at it with better production, lyrics, and vocals. It's catch and fun. (4/5)

    Rooting for My Baby: Is okay nothing special it's not bad but it's not good. Decent lyrics, boring vocals, okay production, not that catchy. (3/5)

    On My Own: Is pretty good same as "Rooting for My Baby" though. (3/5)

    Hands in the Air: If there's any song on the album to hear, it's going to be this one. Perfect productions, okay vocals, probably one of the best rap verses in a good minute. The lyrics are beautiful. It's catchy, fun, and might have actually hit #1 on Billboard without a music video or Miley getting naked and doing trashy things. Ludacris had a perfect verse with actual meaning. (5/5)

    Top Tracks: SMS, Love Money Party, FU, Wrecking Ball, Do My Thang, Someone Else.
    Worst Tracks: 4x4, #GETITRIGHT, We Can't Stop, My Darlin'.
    Best Track: Hands In The Air
    Expand
  15. Dec 17, 2014
    5
    Durante el 2013, Miley fue el punto de atracción al rededor del mundo en cada uno de los aspectos de su vida, ya fuese vida personal, publica e incluso musical, y aunque saco hits bastante pegadizos como "We Can't Stop" y referentes pop como "Wrecking Ball", se queda corta a la hora de volver su música relevante a mediano plazo (si no fuese por los videos musicales).
  16. Nov 23, 2014
    6
    Bangerz was one of the most anticipated pop albums releases in recent years—unfortunately because of Cyrus' widely dubbed "controversial" behavior at her televised live performances and not because of the former Disney starlet herself. But overall, Bangerz doesn't have a lot to talk about because it's neither musically a major success or a failure. Despite her self-indulgent dive intoBangerz was one of the most anticipated pop albums releases in recent years—unfortunately because of Cyrus' widely dubbed "controversial" behavior at her televised live performances and not because of the former Disney starlet herself. But overall, Bangerz doesn't have a lot to talk about because it's neither musically a major success or a failure. Despite her self-indulgent dive into genres her former Disney contemporaries, Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato, didn't even hesitate to make a jump for in their respective releases of 2013, Bangerz has a hit-or-miss quality to it many experimental pop records tend to have, except none of Ms. Cyrus' work sounds adventurous enough to be considered experimental—let alone like "the next Thriller", as Cyrus herself said while discussing her intentions with the album.

    What's more disappointing about Bangerz than its average at best quality? The overall consistency—or inconsistency. Whereas moments like lead single "We Can't Stop" or the Britney Spears-featured "SMS (Bangerz)" explore Cyrus' desire to make more urban-oriented 'bangers' and emulate her current public image, listeners have to re-experience her previous album Can't Be Tamed all over again: party on the surface, completely heartbroken teeny-bop-esque ballads all over the inside. The mood largely suffers from separating the party from the teary-eyed Tennessean that's constantly telling us "everything's okay" before breaking into ex-fiancé-induced tears on the couch again.

    But on the otherhand, Bangerz musically sounds safer and more satisfying when it comes to ballads and truth be told, it sounds more sincere on the singer's part. Even in an industry latched on by manufacturers where the songwriting has probably already been in conception by music executives since before the album's conception itself, Cyrus has one of the most naturally beautiful voices in that industry today, especially when she's closer to her country roots. The opener "Adore You", Mike WILL Made-It-produced "Drive", and of course, one of the most memorable guilty pleasures of 2013, "Wrecking Ball", are only half as solid as they are not because of the stories told by their songwriters, but because of the voice of the storyteller herself.

    And then on cringeworthy courses like "Love Money Party" and will.i.am's already unwanted appearance on the production and co-writing credits of "Do My Thang", Miley Cyrus' 'so-southern belle/crazier than hell' alter ego comes out to rap and to be honest, she's just not that fun—or fun to listen to. And neither are her friends—collaborators. Nobody needs Nelly in this newer generation of music, let alone toward the end of an overall okay job at southern hip-hop courtesy of Cyrus and Pharrell Williams. Future and Cyrus' duet on "My Darlin'" turns Ben E. King's 1961 classic "Stand By Me" into an Auto-Tune clad mountain of murmering about making a sex-tape—in 3D! Though Britney Spears and Big Sean deserve honorable mentions for making some sort of use of their signature vocal stylings—yes, Spears still has those when she herself is clad in computer-enhancements—they're not appearances we'll remember in the long run.

    Unless frequent uses of the f-bomb and references to cannabis use are actually still considered "racy" in this day and age, Bangerz never warrants the kind of talk Cyrus constantly calls upon all of us to do. It's not failure by any means and there are minor successes like "We Can't Stop" and "Wrecking Ball". But ten years after the Bangerz era, it's not the music that we'll be talking about. Though Cyrus has insisted that she despises the idea of her being labeled a pop star, everything we'll remember from this time in her career represents everything despicable about the genre and that's when a musician's celebrity becomes more important than the musician herself or rather, the music itself. Like Lady Gaga and her meat dress or Britney, Christina Aguilera, and Madonna's on-stage make-out session, Cyrus lighting up a joint at the EMAs is no different. It's a career-highlight that's there for the sake of shock value more than it is to promote that singer's latest single or record.
    Expand
  17. May 25, 2014
    4
    This album was really unappealing. I really struggled to listen to every track on the album without skipping to the next. The "Mike Will Made It" mantra got irritating after a while, since you hear it throughout a majority of the album. Of an entire 30 minutes (or however long the album was) Wrecking Ball and We Can't Stop are the only 2 decent track, despite them being overplayed.This album was really unappealing. I really struggled to listen to every track on the album without skipping to the next. The "Mike Will Made It" mantra got irritating after a while, since you hear it throughout a majority of the album. Of an entire 30 minutes (or however long the album was) Wrecking Ball and We Can't Stop are the only 2 decent track, despite them being overplayed. "Scissorz" would have been a better title, for there was nothing about it that "Bangz" Expand
  18. Nov 1, 2013
    6
    It's fun. While the songs are generic, the songs are at the same time fun. I just wish all the auto tune muck wasn't all over everything on this album.
  19. Dec 21, 2013
    4
    I think this album could have been better. Save a few really good songs, what remains is a wannabe rapper. To me, you did not come as a wrecking ball, because even with all marketing strategy, you are unable to have an excellent performance with his album, which means it really is not good! I love you Miley, but not this time!
  20. Nov 12, 2014
    5
    1. Adore You - ✩✩✩
    2. We Can't Stop - ✩✩✩✩
    3. SMS (Bangerz) [feat. Britney Spears] - ✩✩✩✩✩ 4. 4X4 (feat. Nelly) - ✩✩✩✩ 5. My Darlin' (feat. Future) - ✩✩✩ 6. Wrecking Ball - ✩✩✩ 7. Love Money Party - ✩✩ 8. #GETITRIGHT - ✩✩✩✩ 9. Drive - ✩✩✩ 10. FU (feat. French Montana) - ✩✩✩ 11. Do My Thang - ✩✩✩✩ 12. Maybe You're Right - ✩✩✩✩ 13.Someone Else - ✩✩✩
    1. Adore You - ✩✩✩
    2. We Can't Stop - ✩✩✩✩
    3. SMS (Bangerz) [feat. Britney Spears] - ✩✩✩✩✩
    4. 4X4 (feat. Nelly) - ✩✩✩✩
    5. My Darlin' (feat. Future) - ✩✩✩
    6. Wrecking Ball - ✩✩✩
    7. Love Money Party - ✩✩
    8. #GETITRIGHT - ✩✩✩✩
    9. Drive - ✩✩✩
    10. FU (feat. French Montana) - ✩✩✩
    11. Do My Thang - ✩✩✩✩
    12. Maybe You're Right - ✩✩✩✩
    13.Someone Else - ✩✩✩
  21. Dec 24, 2014
    6
    Bangerz is an album full of strange and questionable tracks. I don't even know what to say about some of the songs. Although there are some good standouts, the rest of the album is missing something quality.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.
  2. 40
    It's full of timid electropop anthems.
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    30
    Sometimes, like on the outstanding "Wrecking Ball," the emotion calcifies into catchy, mature hooks, propelled forth by Cyrus' oft-underestimated vocal heft. Then again, the breakup also produced "FU," a dismally adolescent electro-soul duet with French Montana.