Bangerz

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Bangerz Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 575 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced with Mike Will Made It, the hip-hop-influenced fourth studio release (and her first on the RCA label) for the former Disney star features guest appearances from Big Sean, French Montana, and Britney Spears.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 91
    It's utterly fresh, a pop blitz from a hip-hop blueprint, and proof that Miley won't settle for just shocking us.
  2. 75
    Yet for all the attitude herehere's also "Do My Thang," a live-it-up club jam co-produced by will.i.am--Bangerz reveals that Cyrus isn't just a twerk-bot programmed to titillate (though there's always a need for one of those in pop music).
  3. 70
    Don’t be shocked that this album is mid-level pop, be surprised that even at 20, Miley can open her scope to encompass country, hip-hop, ballads, and even the electronic impulses of today’s pop.
  4. 60
    The record is at its weakest when it’s more hoedown than hoes down.... Generally though, Cyrus’s fourth album is more--ahem--bangers than clangers.
  5. Bangerz is at times touching and at others a blast--but for a disappointingly large portion it’s as annoying as her detractors had hoped.
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    40
    The goofy, almost throwaway squaredance of a club song that is “4x4”, complete with some accordion work, might very well be album’s most memorable song: absurd, ridiculous, and actually playful in a way in which these other Bangerz aren’t.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 142
  2. Negative: 25 out of 142
  1. Oct 15, 2015
    10
    Esse disco é maravilhoso. Os vocais, a sonoridade, as letras e a maturidade me impressionam, Miley Cyrus fez um dos melhores álbuns de 2013 eEsse disco é maravilhoso. Os vocais, a sonoridade, as letras e a maturidade me impressionam, Miley Cyrus fez um dos melhores álbuns de 2013 e que com certeza marcou. Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    I bought this album expecting it to be okay. I was pleasantly surprised. This album has songs that reminds me of Hannah Montana, Old Miley,I bought this album expecting it to be okay. I was pleasantly surprised. This album has songs that reminds me of Hannah Montana, Old Miley, New Miley, Ke$ha, Rihanna, and Nicki Minaj. The only thing that was surprising was that she raps better than Rihanna and Ke$ha. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew thatBangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew that with the anticipated launchings of Lady Gaga and Katy Perry this would be a year very hard for a singer targeted by the public showing a teen getting mature work and earn the spotlight all she is doing is attacking people for the people to give attention to her and she can show she is a complete artist are not hypocrites n if she did all this fuss for sure Bangerz be heard but not receive due recognition see the latest albums of Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato If Madonna was certainly starting today you guys would be here saying the same thing after all she simulated masturbation on the counter kissed a Jesus black mouth made ​​an erotic book among many other controversies The same people who venerate today certainly prevent the rise of the biggest female pop artist of all time The most ironic of all this is to criticize criticize and criticize and have to admit that she is talented Miley still going too far Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    Brilliant! Her best album to date, and i'm not a fan of Miley but I have to admit it. "Adore You", "We Can't Stop", "Wrecking Ball",Brilliant! Her best album to date, and i'm not a fan of Miley but I have to admit it. "Adore You", "We Can't Stop", "Wrecking Ball", "#GETITRIGHT", "Do My Thang", "Someone Else" and "Rooting For My Baby" are definitely the higlights of the album. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2015
    7
    Good songs: We can't stop, Wrecking ball, Love money party, #GETITRIGHT, Drive, Maybe you're right, Someone else, Rooting for my baby, On myGood songs: We can't stop, Wrecking ball, Love money party, #GETITRIGHT, Drive, Maybe you're right, Someone else, Rooting for my baby, On my own
    reasonable songs: Adore you, FU, Hands in the air
    Bad songs: SMS, 4x4, My darlin', Do my thang
    Expand
  6. Dec 17, 2014
    5
    Durante el 2013, Miley fue el punto de atracción al rededor del mundo en cada uno de los aspectos de su vida, ya fuese vida personal, publicaDurante el 2013, Miley fue el punto de atracción al rededor del mundo en cada uno de los aspectos de su vida, ya fuese vida personal, publica e incluso musical, y aunque saco hits bastante pegadizos como "We Can't Stop" y referentes pop como "Wrecking Ball", se queda corta a la hora de volver su música relevante a mediano plazo (si no fuese por los videos musicales). Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    This album is not what she used to produce and in fact nothing close to that. Miley has changed, which is fine, however not in the way peopleThis album is not what she used to produce and in fact nothing close to that. Miley has changed, which is fine, however not in the way people would have expected. Overall not great. Expand

See all 142 User Reviews