• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Bangerz Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 419 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced with Mike Will Made It, the hip-hop-influenced fourth studio release (and her first on the RCA label) for the former Disney star features guest appearances from Big Sean, French Montana, and Britney Spears.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. 91
    It's utterly fresh, a pop blitz from a hip-hop blueprint, and proof that Miley won't settle for just shocking us.
  2. 75
    Yet for all the attitude herehere's also "Do My Thang," a live-it-up club jam co-produced by will.i.am--Bangerz reveals that Cyrus isn't just a twerk-bot programmed to titillate (though there's always a need for one of those in pop music).
  3. 70
    Don’t be shocked that this album is mid-level pop, be surprised that even at 20, Miley can open her scope to encompass country, hip-hop, ballads, and even the electronic impulses of today’s pop.
  4. 60
    The record is at its weakest when it’s more hoedown than hoes down.... Generally though, Cyrus’s fourth album is more--ahem--bangers than clangers.
  5. Bangerz is at times touching and at others a blast--but for a disappointingly large portion it’s as annoying as her detractors had hoped.
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    40
    The goofy, almost throwaway squaredance of a club song that is “4x4”, complete with some accordion work, might very well be album’s most memorable song: absurd, ridiculous, and actually playful in a way in which these other Bangerz aren’t.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    20
    We get a record that is surprisingly dull, which alternates between syrupy, unremarkable ballads and uptempo tracks that sound like they’ve been assembled by a committee of consultants.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 124
  2. Negative: 24 out of 124
  1. Jan 18, 2015
    10
    An absolutely incredible album, people focus too much on her actions to look at the beauty of the music. She has grown and so has her music,An absolutely incredible album, people focus too much on her actions to look at the beauty of the music. She has grown and so has her music, one of the best albums ever. Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an Amazing album with great lyrics and we can see the Miley Cyrus' musical evolution. Would love to buy it and I already did. ALBUMBangerz is an Amazing album with great lyrics and we can see the Miley Cyrus' musical evolution. Would love to buy it and I already did. ALBUM OF THE YEAR. Peace Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Bangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew thatBangerz is an amazing cd arrangements, melodies lyrics definitely best album POP 2013 independende extravagance of Miley Miley knew that with the anticipated launchings of Lady Gaga and Katy Perry this would be a year very hard for a singer targeted by the public showing a teen getting mature work and earn the spotlight all she is doing is attacking people for the people to give attention to her and she can show she is a complete artist are not hypocrites n if she did all this fuss for sure Bangerz be heard but not receive due recognition see the latest albums of Selena Gomez and Demi Lovato If Madonna was certainly starting today you guys would be here saying the same thing after all she simulated masturbation on the counter kissed a Jesus black mouth made ​​an erotic book among many other controversies The same people who venerate today certainly prevent the rise of the biggest female pop artist of all time The most ironic of all this is to criticize criticize and criticize and have to admit that she is talented Miley still going too far Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    Bangerz não está as mil maravilhas, porém, esse álbum deu um UP na carreira de Miley. Pode ter sido um UP mínimo, mas venhamos e convenhamosBangerz não está as mil maravilhas, porém, esse álbum deu um UP na carreira de Miley. Pode ter sido um UP mínimo, mas venhamos e convenhamos que ele ajudou muito ela. Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2014
    7
    As much as I hate to say this, the album is actually not that bad. I was expecting an album full of explicit lyrics and all the tweaks thatAs much as I hate to say this, the album is actually not that bad. I was expecting an album full of explicit lyrics and all the tweaks that are just seeking for attention, but it's quite different. Yeah, there's a few swear words here and there but not that much as I imagined. The album has some good songs. No song is better than 'We Can't Stop', but they complement it very well! Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2014
    4
    Most of the songs were quite boring and Dunbar. There were a few ones I did like such as adore you, we can't stop and wrecking ball. AsideMost of the songs were quite boring and Dunbar. There were a few ones I did like such as adore you, we can't stop and wrecking ball. Aside from that it was useless garbage Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    Este disco realmente no me provoca nada, debería de ser usado como metodo de tortura... Tiene los peores videos del año y las canciones niEste disco realmente no me provoca nada, debería de ser usado como metodo de tortura... Tiene los peores videos del año y las canciones ni siquiera se te quedan en la cabeza. Expand

See all 124 User Reviews