User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 51
  2. Negative: 24 out of 51

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    0
    simply the worst album of the past few years
    no flow no lyrics no decent sound no content even guest verses were equally bad , Nicki Minaj and lil wayne did what they do best (delivering unworthy of listening verses) and even kanye felt 2chainz's effect and did one of his worst verses of his career
    if Trap rap is a hole in hiphop's heart 2 chainz is at the end of the hole trying to dig
    simply the worst album of the past few years
    no flow no lyrics no decent sound no content even guest verses were equally bad , Nicki Minaj and lil wayne did what they do best (delivering unworthy of listening verses) and even kanye felt 2chainz's effect and did one of his worst verses of his career
    if Trap rap is a hole in hiphop's heart 2 chainz is at the end of the hole trying to dig it deeper
    Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2012
    4
    Except some collaborations such as Drake and Kanye West, this album lacks quality. 2 Chainz is far from a good rapper but in the 21st century, everything seems to granted.
  3. Sep 14, 2012
    2
    I honestly do not mind "No Lie" with Drake (even as a non-Drake fan), but otherwise, this album is pure trash. Who allowed 2 Chainz to touch a microphone and why did they?
  4. Sep 11, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hella overrated rapper, I know that before I listened to the album, but still want to hear it for some reasons... Lyrically sucks, but half of the album is still listenable especially for beats. Anyway it's crappy album and might be the worst album I ever heard.
    Lyrics 0/10
    Beats 4/10
    Expand
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    5
    How can anyone look at lines like "she got a big booty so I call her big booty" and take it seriously? I want to know because I don't get the extreme hate that 2 Chainz is recieving. And by no means am I calling him a good rapper. But when compared to artists like Nicki Minaj, Lil Wayne and Chief Keef he's really not that bad. At least you can get some humor out of his insanity. SongsHow can anyone look at lines like "she got a big booty so I call her big booty" and take it seriously? I want to know because I don't get the extreme hate that 2 Chainz is recieving. And by no means am I calling him a good rapper. But when compared to artists like Nicki Minaj, Lil Wayne and Chief Keef he's really not that bad. At least you can get some humor out of his insanity. Songs like "Crack", "No Lie" and "Birthday Song" have quotes galore. Tracks like "Dope Peddler", "Stop Me Now", "Like Me" and "Ghetto Dreams" are pretty good. And on top of that 2 Chainz has a lot of personality to him. With that said, this album is far from good. The song "I Luv Dem Strippers" is horrendous, with not only a bad Nicki Minaj verse ending with a Little Engine That Could reference. But to have her reexplain that line as if it was clever is honestly pissing me off. Then you have songs like "In Town" with a bad Mike Posner chorus and "Extremely Blessed" with a bad The-Dream chorus. The song "Yuck!" was boring as hell, with a stupid ass chorus from Lil Wayne. As well as "I'm Diffrent" that has a minimalistic beat so you're pretty much forced to hear 2 Chainz lyrics. Which obviously aren't impressive. Overall I wasn't in love with it. But for what it's worth, 2 Chainz is a thrill to listen to. The project itself is OK. But if you're looking for some funny ass lines check this thing out. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    3
    most overerrated rapper ever ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! failure.... dis **** verses are so weak an so lame dat an 8 year old can rap way better dan him.... 2 chainz should quit rapping and get a job at burger king... weak ass ****
  7. Dec 26, 2012
    3
    I really didnt ant to give this album a try. But I did, and I must say, this album is terrible. The production is average and the rapping is absolutely bad. Absurd punchline after absurd punchline. The only songs worth a full listen are "Dope Peddler" (because the beat), and "Riot" (because of the beat) 2Chainz rapping maybe silly(which can be a good thing), but its more sad than silly.I really didnt ant to give this album a try. But I did, and I must say, this album is terrible. The production is average and the rapping is absolutely bad. Absurd punchline after absurd punchline. The only songs worth a full listen are "Dope Peddler" (because the beat), and "Riot" (because of the beat) 2Chainz rapping maybe silly(which can be a good thing), but its more sad than silly.

    Top Songs:
    "Dope Peddler"
    "Riot"
    Expand
  8. Apr 10, 2013
    4
    Very heavy beats can sometimes go with weak lyricism, but when you do this for every song, it gets boring which seems to be a problem for Two Chainz. He is simply uninteresting.
  9. Apr 13, 2013
    0
    This album is by far the worst rap album i have ever heard. All the songs suck and have really lame lines, the only 2 songs that are capable to listen to without going deaf are no lies and ghetto dreams and i find it disrespectful that an album like this has a 55 rating while other albums like eminem's recovery gets a 61 which is only 6 points away from this trash album
  10. Jun 29, 2013
    7
    2 Chainz, you came up on the scene so hard, and people just expected way too much out of your first album! Everyone's expecting a classic southern version of possibly Illmatic-caliber! 2 Chainz has been around for a minute, and BOATS just sounds like one of his mix tapes with a couple different types of songs. Collaboration wise, I was a little disappointed with the Lil Wayne and Nicki2 Chainz, you came up on the scene so hard, and people just expected way too much out of your first album! Everyone's expecting a classic southern version of possibly Illmatic-caliber! 2 Chainz has been around for a minute, and BOATS just sounds like one of his mix tapes with a couple different types of songs. Collaboration wise, I was a little disappointed with the Lil Wayne and Nicki Minaj collaborations. However this album was carried by the Kanye West assisted "Birthday Song" and I'm Different. Birthday Song is literally my favorite song ever, because of how cleverly simple it is. 2 Chainz is an amazing guest feature, but I will expect more out of him with his new album dropping in September Expand
  11. Sep 1, 2013
    4
    So i am relistening to it, and the lyrics (though still bad) are not as bad as the fist listen. its his first album, considering where rap and hip hop are going, he bends in. this album could be better, but its not the worst.
  12. Oct 7, 2013
    2
    Really, I should be giving Tauheed Epps a minus one for this horrendous album. I can't believe I bought four of the songs on it. But "Based on a T.R.U. Story" is one of the most hilarious albums I've ever heard. Each track has handfuls of amazingly stupid quotes that could come from no one else but Two Necklaces himself. Supplied with decent beats from producers like DJ Mustard, ChainzReally, I should be giving Tauheed Epps a minus one for this horrendous album. I can't believe I bought four of the songs on it. But "Based on a T.R.U. Story" is one of the most hilarious albums I've ever heard. Each track has handfuls of amazingly stupid quotes that could come from no one else but Two Necklaces himself. Supplied with decent beats from producers like DJ Mustard, Chainz absolutely ruins them with his awful delivery and horrific lyrics. The only reason he gets two points is because whenever I'm in a bad mood, I pull up "I Feel Good" and laugh until my vocal cords blow out.

    2 CHAINZ LYRIC SAMPLER:

    Track 01 "Yuck!"

    My girl came through and brought an extra body
    Now that's an after party for the after party

    Track 02 "Crack"

    Started from the trap, now I rap
    No matter where I'm at, I got crack

    Track 03 "Dope Peddler"

    I said I pull up to that club like motherf**king h* you don't know me
    Most of my n***as got gold teeth
    Most of my b*****s got tattoos
    Most of my n***s think cash rules

    Track 04 "No Lie"

    Name a n***a that want some
    I’ll out rap his ass, out trap his ass
    Put his ass in a plastic bag with his trashy ass

    Track 05 "Birthday Song"

    She got a big booty so I call her Big Booty
    Scrr..Scrr.. wrists moving, cooking, getting to it

    Track 06 "I'm Different"

    I'm different, yeah I'm different
    I'm different, yeah I'm different
    I'm different, yeah I'm different

    Track 07 "Extremely Blessed"

    22s on the Lexus, named Alexis
    By the way of Texas
    Big face Rolexes

    Track 08 "I Luv Dem Strippers"

    Yeah, I love them strippers
    Yeah, I love them strippers
    Yeah, I love them strippers

    Track 09 "Stop Me Now" Foreign exchange, I walk in the rain Still won't get wet N***a flick up the flame twist up the game Switch up the chain Track 10 "Money Machine" I need a money machine I need a money machine I need a money machine Track 11 "In Town" Baby I just landed, you gon pick me up Heard you like to squirt, I might lick it up Track 12 "Ghetto Dreams" One, two that's a h* check Now for real, n***a this a whole check Track 13 "Wut We Doin?" What we doin'? What ya doin? What we doin'? What ya doin? What we doin'? What ya doin? What we doin'? Gettin' to it Gettin' to it Gettin' to it Gettin' to it Track 14 "Countdown" Facial expression, it started off with a text and The texting ended up special And now you next to a blessing Track 15 "Like Me" They ain’t never seen a n***a like me (uh), she ain't never seen a n***a like me (uh) Chance of that is unlikely; 2 Chainz in my white T Track 16 "I Feel Good" Ooh I feel good, ooh I feel good Ooh I feel good, ooh I feel good Ooh I feel good, ooh I feel good Track 17 "Riot" I'mma start a riot, I'mma start a riot I'mma start a riot, I'mma start a riot I'mma start a riot, I'mma start a riot I'mma start a riot, I'mma start a riot
    Expand
  13. Apr 16, 2014
    2
    2 chainz is a great rapper and he is clever and funny, but his solo career is horrendous. Weak hooks, weak production. the album is straight up awful and one of the least enjoyable albums I have ever heard.
  14. Dec 3, 2014
    1
    this album is trash the only good songs are yuck and no lie other than that whack. i rather listen to lil wayne than this. the word play in his songs are stupid and it makes no since and how can you call 2 chainz a rapper?
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    2 Chainz's debut album is a triumph on so many levels.
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    59
    The problem is that the hints of personality underneath the braggadocio overflowing on "Based on a T.R.U. Story" exist as faint flickers, pointing to a storytelling skill that has yet to be given the spotlight.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    Mainly, it's good for some frivolous fun.