Based on a T.R.U. Story

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2012
User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 65
  2. Negative: 25 out of 65
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    4
    Except some collaborations such as Drake and Kanye West, this album lacks quality. 2 Chainz is far from a good rapper but in the 21st century, everything seems to granted.
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    5
    How can anyone look at lines like "she got a big booty so I call her big booty" and take it seriously? I want to know because I don't get the extreme hate that 2 Chainz is recieving. And by no means am I calling him a good rapper. But when compared to artists like Nicki Minaj, Lil Wayne and Chief Keef he's really not that bad. At least you can get some humor out of his insanity. SongsHow can anyone look at lines like "she got a big booty so I call her big booty" and take it seriously? I want to know because I don't get the extreme hate that 2 Chainz is recieving. And by no means am I calling him a good rapper. But when compared to artists like Nicki Minaj, Lil Wayne and Chief Keef he's really not that bad. At least you can get some humor out of his insanity. Songs like "Crack", "No Lie" and "Birthday Song" have quotes galore. Tracks like "Dope Peddler", "Stop Me Now", "Like Me" and "Ghetto Dreams" are pretty good. And on top of that 2 Chainz has a lot of personality to him. With that said, this album is far from good. The song "I Luv Dem Strippers" is horrendous, with not only a bad Nicki Minaj verse ending with a Little Engine That Could reference. But to have her reexplain that line as if it was clever is honestly pissing me off. Then you have songs like "In Town" with a bad Mike Posner chorus and "Extremely Blessed" with a bad The-Dream chorus. The song "Yuck!" was boring as hell, with a stupid ass chorus from Lil Wayne. As well as "I'm Diffrent" that has a minimalistic beat so you're pretty much forced to hear 2 Chainz lyrics. Which obviously aren't impressive. Overall I wasn't in love with it. But for what it's worth, 2 Chainz is a thrill to listen to. The project itself is OK. But if you're looking for some funny ass lines check this thing out. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    4
    Very heavy beats can sometimes go with weak lyricism, but when you do this for every song, it gets boring which seems to be a problem for Two Chainz. He is simply uninteresting.
  4. Sep 1, 2013
    4
    So i am relistening to it, and the lyrics (though still bad) are not as bad as the fist listen. its his first album, considering where rap and hip hop are going, he bends in. this album could be better, but its not the worst.
  5. Apr 23, 2015
    5
    2 Chainz is a funny guy, for sure, but this wasn't a very strong debut. Some of the songs here continue 2 Chainz (post-Tity Boi)'s history of great production with a lot of humorous lines that make those songs good, but most of the songs don't continue this tradition. I wasn't enjoying the production here. It ranged from boring to repetitive. Also, most of the lyrics here I did not enjoy.2 Chainz is a funny guy, for sure, but this wasn't a very strong debut. Some of the songs here continue 2 Chainz (post-Tity Boi)'s history of great production with a lot of humorous lines that make those songs good, but most of the songs don't continue this tradition. I wasn't enjoying the production here. It ranged from boring to repetitive. Also, most of the lyrics here I did not enjoy. He had better of both of these things on the sequel. The only thing here that's shining is his originality. He has a unique style, although that's not even showing much on this album. Overall, a disappointing effort from 2 Chainz. I think he was capable of doing better than this. Grade: C/C+. Highlights: "I Luv Dem Strippers" (awesome sequel to Beez in the Trap!), "Dope Peddler", "Birthday Song". Worst songs: "I'm Different" (obviously, he's not so different...), "Stop Me Now" (Really? Soul?!?!) Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    2 Chainz's debut album is a triumph on so many levels.
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    59
    The problem is that the hints of personality underneath the braggadocio overflowing on "Based on a T.R.U. Story" exist as faint flickers, pointing to a storytelling skill that has yet to be given the spotlight.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    Mainly, it's good for some frivolous fun.