Based on a T.R.U. Story

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Based on a T.R.U. Story Image
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Georgia rapper formerly known as Tity Boi releases his debut album on Def Jam and it features guest appearances from Drake, John Legend, Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj, Mike Posner, Scarface, The-Dream, and Kanye West.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    2 Chainz's debut album is a triumph on so many levels.
  2. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    2 Chainz commands the spotlight--rapping about success and sex with the irrepressible enthusiasm of the upstart he isn't.
  3. Aug 29, 2012
    67
    Based On A T.R.U. Story finds 2 Chainz mining the same territory he's been exploring for the past couple of years throughout his Codeine Cowboy and T.R.U. Realigion mixtapes, but fleshed out by the hollowness that comes as a side effect of spending too much time with Kanye West.
  4. Aug 29, 2012
    60
    There are no lyrical acrobatics-just his patented simple-sounding yet soon-to-be-sewn-in-your-brain one liners.
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    59
    The problem is that the hints of personality underneath the braggadocio overflowing on "Based on a T.R.U. Story" exist as faint flickers, pointing to a storytelling skill that has yet to be given the spotlight.
  6. Aug 29, 2012
    45
    Despite his chart success with Drake, many of 2 Chainz' pop maneuvers feel tone-deaf.
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    25
    Contrasted with Lil Wayne's easy, seemingly effortless guest verse, 2 Chainz sounds like a rank amateur whose topics of choice -- strippers, money, drugs -- have been examined to death in hip-hop by others with a much more varied vocabulary.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 10 out of 17
  1. Apr 22, 2015
    7
    The first entry as 2 chainz from Tauheed Epps proves to be a pretty solid one. The extremely well produced beats are what make it so specialThe first entry as 2 chainz from Tauheed Epps proves to be a pretty solid one. The extremely well produced beats are what make it so special and listenable. On the lyrical side, 2 chainz has litteraly nothing to offer, but he saves his lack of content with a near-perfect new school flow and a lot of swag. While a few songs like Birthday song are truly awful (except for Yeezy's verse), the majority of the album is solid. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2015
    5
    2 Chainz is a funny guy, for sure, but this wasn't a very strong debut. Some of the songs here continue 2 Chainz (post-Tity Boi)'s history of2 Chainz is a funny guy, for sure, but this wasn't a very strong debut. Some of the songs here continue 2 Chainz (post-Tity Boi)'s history of great production with a lot of humorous lines that make those songs good, but most of the songs don't continue this tradition. I wasn't enjoying the production here. It ranged from boring to repetitive. Also, most of the lyrics here I did not enjoy. He had better of both of these things on the sequel. The only thing here that's shining is his originality. He has a unique style, although that's not even showing much on this album. Overall, a disappointing effort from 2 Chainz. I think he was capable of doing better than this. Grade: C/C+. Highlights: "I Luv Dem Strippers" (awesome sequel to Beez in the Trap!), "Dope Peddler", "Birthday Song". Worst songs: "I'm Different" (obviously, he's not so different...), "Stop Me Now" (Really? Soul?!?!) Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    4
    So i am relistening to it, and the lyrics (though still bad) are not as bad as the fist listen. its his first album, considering where rap andSo i am relistening to it, and the lyrics (though still bad) are not as bad as the fist listen. its his first album, considering where rap and hip hop are going, he bends in. this album could be better, but its not the worst. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    3
    most overerrated rapper ever ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! failure.... dis **** verses are so weak an so lame dat an 8 year old canmost overerrated rapper ever ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! failure.... dis **** verses are so weak an so lame dat an 8 year old can rap way better dan him.... 2 chainz should quit rapping and get a job at burger king... weak ass **** Collapse
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    2
    2 chainz is a great rapper and he is clever and funny, but his solo career is horrendous. Weak hooks, weak production. the album is straight2 chainz is a great rapper and he is clever and funny, but his solo career is horrendous. Weak hooks, weak production. the album is straight up awful and one of the least enjoyable albums I have ever heard. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hella overrated rapper, I know that before I listened to the album, but still want to hear it for some reasons... Lyrically sucks, but half of the album is still listenable especially for beats. Anyway it's crappy album and might be the worst album I ever heard.
    Lyrics 0/10
    Beats 4/10
    Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2013
    0
    This album is by far the worst rap album i have ever heard. All the songs suck and have really lame lines, the only 2 songs that are capableThis album is by far the worst rap album i have ever heard. All the songs suck and have really lame lines, the only 2 songs that are capable to listen to without going deaf are no lies and ghetto dreams and i find it disrespectful that an album like this has a 55 rating while other albums like eminem's recovery gets a 61 which is only 6 points away from this trash album Expand

See all 17 User Reviews