Bat Out Of Hell III: The Monster Is Loose

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 2006
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 5 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ik
    Nov 6, 2006
    0
    Painfull
  2. BrutusO
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    I was never much of a fan of Bat Out Of Hell 1, though I have a mild affection for the second one. So it was quite a surprise to me when I liked the third one so much. Sure, it is mostly stupid adolescent melodrama. They all are. But isn't that why people liked it in the first place? And buried in amongst all the operatic over-the-top atmospherics, there are actually some pretty I was never much of a fan of Bat Out Of Hell 1, though I have a mild affection for the second one. So it was quite a surprise to me when I liked the third one so much. Sure, it is mostly stupid adolescent melodrama. They all are. But isn't that why people liked it in the first place? And buried in amongst all the operatic over-the-top atmospherics, there are actually some pretty lovely songs if you care to listen. And the rock is timelessly heavy (admittedly out of date, but then, it always was). Basically, if I dared to put my "cool" persona aside for ten minutes, I would have to admit I actually enjoyed this album more than the latest Wolfmother, Killers, Gorillaz, Jet and Oasis albums put together. A guilty pleasure. Expand
  3. KelleyE
    Jan 16, 2007
    3
    This CD is a mess. Jim Stienman insists on recycling songs once again. This is the third time "It's all coming back" has been recorded and "Bad for Good" has been recorded at least that many times and parts of it more than that. The compositions sound like someone gave a a freshman music major an orchestra to play with and they got carried away. Meat Loaf's voice is starting to This CD is a mess. Jim Stienman insists on recycling songs once again. This is the third time "It's all coming back" has been recorded and "Bad for Good" has been recorded at least that many times and parts of it more than that. The compositions sound like someone gave a a freshman music major an orchestra to play with and they got carried away. Meat Loaf's voice is starting to fail and he can no longer hit the high notes. Lowering the key only makes it sound like Tom Jones singing Stienman. Save your money. Expand
  4. ToddW
    Nov 2, 2006
    1
    Instead of Meatloaf, this called should be called Meathead. (Sorry, Rob Reiner.) I thought The Who were shameless. This guy makes Roger and Pete look like UNICEF. The first album with this theme was pretty good. The second should have been buried like a well-worn dog bone. This one, well, I guess it's the rotted corpse. With Jim Steinman playing again playing the monster's Instead of Meatloaf, this called should be called Meathead. (Sorry, Rob Reiner.) I thought The Who were shameless. This guy makes Roger and Pete look like UNICEF. The first album with this theme was pretty good. The second should have been buried like a well-worn dog bone. This one, well, I guess it's the rotted corpse. With Jim Steinman playing again playing the monster's svengali. Is it me or does he look like the wacked-out government scientist in "Independence Day"? A soundtrack to that would have been more interesting than mining this vein again for this less than dynamic duo. The crypt has gone empty, Meat, so, obviously, has your smoke house. And speaking of "loafing," it would behoove you, dear readers, to save yourself the $18.99 you'd be spending at FYE for this overcooked entree, and, rather, slap a slice of olive loaf to each ear. Both would be equally enjoyable. Scratch that; at least the sandwich loaf is redeemable in that it has olives. Expand
  5. johng
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    the meat is back! I will admit that it does not touch Bat out of Hell 1, but it certinally better than II
  6. JeffB
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    This is an awesome CD and I hope Meat Loaf continues to create masterpieces like this
  7. ScottC
    Dec 31, 2006
    10
    I was 17 when Bat out of Hell was released in 1977, and I was blown away. 30 years later, and starving for rock and roll, Bat III satisfies my hunger and then some. Is it as good as Bat I ? No. It is an excellent follow up effort that with several listenings you will grow quickly to love and appreciate. Can't wait to see him in Syracuse, NY. Meat Rocks !!
  8. ZooTrain
    Dec 4, 2006
    0
    When will Meat Loaf realize that he's horrible without Steinman? Without Steinman's production, the album sounds flat and lifeless.
  9. DebbieW
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    I love it!! His voice & passion are still incredible & fabulous! The orchestration also blows me away & gives me chills!!! I also love watching him in person - what can I say - it's been on my cd player since Oct. 31st!! Already have my NY tickets!!!
  10. jeremyk
    Nov 16, 2006
    9
    I saw Meat last year at casino rama, He gave yous a sneek peek of a few songs. I didnt know what to think when he played them then. But now they grow on you. Sure it doesnt sound like Bat 1 or 2, but it has the feel epic in every way.. this is a great piece of work... a nother great job by the man they call meat.
  11. MattD.
    Nov 3, 2006
    7
    The metal-influenced songs fail miserably. And "It's All Coming Back To Me Now" would be useless if it wasn't for Marion Raven's vocals, which I really like. But most of the CD is like tasty meat loaf.
  12. AndrewM
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    What did they expect? A better work than Bat I and II?; we´re all getting older and the master is ill for years. Even this way, it is better than 99% of the rock stuff we hear every day. It is great and even tragic. Who didn´t know yet the JS songs Bad for good, Seize the Night and The future ain´t.., it is a MUST. The revelation, for me, is Alive: incredible arrangment, What did they expect? A better work than Bat I and II?; we´re all getting older and the master is ill for years. Even this way, it is better than 99% of the rock stuff we hear every day. It is great and even tragic. Who didn´t know yet the JS songs Bad for good, Seize the Night and The future ain´t.., it is a MUST. The revelation, for me, is Alive: incredible arrangment, great lyrics and a incredible voice, with a smashing chorus attack: fantastic! Oh, I would the master would return and make us the Bat IV, with all brandnew songs: then, the bat-meat-man may retire, but not yet, not yet! Expand
  13. JoseLuisZ
    Dec 9, 2006
    8
    kind of cool! I really like Loaf´s music but I need much more I know he can give us more than just a 3rd version of the bat!...that is not original any more.
  14. allisonr
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    loved it very good,its been in the cd player since we got it
  15. DamienS
    Dec 23, 2006
    6
    Largely a mixture of truly awful attempts at straightforward metal and lower-tier Jim Steinman songs (with the exception of the excellent "It's All Coming back to Me Now," "The Future Ain't What It Used to Be," "Bad for Good," and "Cry to Heaven"), "The Monster Is Loose" (I refuse to call it a part of the "Bat out of Hell" series) is saved by a series of high-energy pop songs Largely a mixture of truly awful attempts at straightforward metal and lower-tier Jim Steinman songs (with the exception of the excellent "It's All Coming back to Me Now," "The Future Ain't What It Used to Be," "Bad for Good," and "Cry to Heaven"), "The Monster Is Loose" (I refuse to call it a part of the "Bat out of Hell" series) is saved by a series of high-energy pop songs beefed up with some power chords and string arrangements (especially "Cry Over Me" and "Alive"). It's a better album than I expected in a non-Steinman Meat Loaf release, but certainly doesn't deserve its title. Expand
  16. DavidF
    Dec 29, 2006
    9
    No Steinman wasn't an active part of the album. Get over it. I bought this listened to the 1st 10 seconds of each track and thought, "This is gonna suck." Wrong!! I find this a better overall album than BOH II. This one does not have a mega number one single on it though. I do have to say that on Alive, I somehow expected a refrain from Born to Run to slip in. A previous reviewer No Steinman wasn't an active part of the album. Get over it. I bought this listened to the 1st 10 seconds of each track and thought, "This is gonna suck." Wrong!! I find this a better overall album than BOH II. This one does not have a mega number one single on it though. I do have to say that on Alive, I somehow expected a refrain from Born to Run to slip in. A previous reviewer implied Meatloaf is terrible w/o Steinman. With a couple of exceptions, I think that the reverse may be true. I do hate that the two of them had to fight like children. Each of them does need the other. As egotistical as Meat can be, Steinman is as every bit as attractive as a wayward four year old when he doesn't get his way. In defense of Meat's ego, every time he has said ,"I can do that", he has done it. So I don't see it as being bragging as much as a rather flamboyant statement of his abilities. Take away the charged emotional environment around the album, and it stands as a piece of work that is every bit as good as anything else the Meat man has done. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. There are moments on Bat Out of Hell III to convince even die-hard minimalists that behemoth is better.
  2. That he fails is not the fault of his individual performance; it's the fault of botched execution.
  3. More a pop orchestral mishmash than a well-defined rock opus, Bat III is dark, seemingly hopeless at times, and ├╝ber dramatic. Oddly enough, that's also its saving grace.