Bat Out Of Hell III: The Monster Is Loose Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the Loaf's third (and hopefully final) installment in his three-decade Bat Out Of Hell series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. If the original Bat Out Of Hell was Bruce Springsteen's Born To Run as scored by Richard Wagner, this is even more theatrical. [Nov 2006, p.140]
  2. This is a musical just waiting to be staged.
  3. The whole thing is, of course, ridiculous. But Meat's beat manifesto should be treasured as the last chapter of a remarkable rock trilogy.
  4. That he fails is not the fault of his individual performance; it's the fault of botched execution.
  5. 40
    [It] lacks conceptual cohesion. [Nov 2006, p.112]
  6. 40
    Producer Desmond Child trips up the Meatman by valuing metal flash over the altruism of want-you-need-you humanity.
  7. The Diane Warren and Desmond Child faux-Steinman stuff is far worse, but the inescapable message of Bat III is that even Meat's former partner hasn't been at peak strength for at least a decade.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. johng
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    the meat is back! I will admit that it does not touch Bat out of Hell 1, but it certinally better than II
  2. JeffB
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    This is an awesome CD and I hope Meat Loaf continues to create masterpieces like this
  3. DebbieW
    Jan 8, 2007
    10
    I love it!! His voice & passion are still incredible & fabulous! The orchestration also blows me away & gives me chills!!! I also love watching him in person - what can I say - it's been on my cd player since Oct. 31st!! Already have my NY tickets!!! Expand
  4. jeremyk
    Nov 16, 2006
    9
    I saw Meat last year at casino rama, He gave yous a sneek peek of a few songs. I didnt know what to think when he played them then. But now they grow on you. Sure it doesnt sound like Bat 1 or 2, but it has the feel epic in every way.. this is a great piece of work... a nother great job by the man they call meat. Expand
  5. MattD.
    Nov 3, 2006
    7
    The metal-influenced songs fail miserably. And "It's All Coming Back To Me Now" would be useless if it wasn't for Marion Raven's vocals, which I really like. But most of the CD is like tasty meat loaf. Collapse
  6. KelleyE
    Jan 16, 2007
    3
    This CD is a mess. Jim Stienman insists on recycling songs once again. This is the third time "It's all coming back" has been recorded and "Bad for Good" has been recorded at least that many times and parts of it more than that. The compositions sound like someone gave a a freshman music major an orchestra to play with and they got carried away. Meat Loaf's voice is starting to fail and he can no longer hit the high notes. Lowering the key only makes it sound like Tom Jones singing Stienman. Save your money. Expand
  7. Ik
    Nov 6, 2006
    0
    Painfull

See all 16 User Reviews