• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2012
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    [With] excesses as egregious as the half-spoken echoes of Battle Born, the cheese is amped so far that what this really sounds like is the soundtrack to some lost 90s Disney film.
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    [Battle Born] might be their wildest neon-Springsteen fever dream yet.
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    60
    With their simultaneous emphasis on the pedal-to-the-metal triumphalism of rock's yesteryear and their ultimate submission to tomorrow's grinding machinery, the Killers' new album may as well be called Battle Born This Way.
  4. Sep 14, 2012
    60
    You struggle to find the energy till the third or fourth listen, when Heart of a Girl and From Here on Out reveal themselves to be the sweetest, most sincere explorations of a kind of US rock that will always raise hairs on the necks of those who like this sort of thing.
  5. Sep 14, 2012
    60
    As ever, his lyrics sound better the less you think about them, but you know The Killers are getting it right because most of the time, you don't need to.
  6. Dec 4, 2012
    55
    They too often edge into Meat Loaf/Jim Steinman territory, where every detail becomes a cause for operatic exaggeration and any clunky line or cliche sounds ridiculous. [No. 93, p.56]
  7. 50
    Nobody's asking the Killers to restock their eyeliner, but if they insist on making everything so over-the-top, it would serve them well to crack a smile every now and then.
  8. Sep 17, 2012
    50
    Battle Born is music played in the past tense.
  9. Sep 28, 2012
    40
    Aiming for Springsteen-like glory, they settle instead for overcooked melodrama on parade of would-be anthems sufficiently over the top to make Muse envious. [Nov 2012, p.76]
  10. 40
    Aside from "Battle Born", none of the other high points succeed against the influences The Killers have long been aping, much less against those times when the band has hit that sentimental ache that exists in all of us.
  11. This is a production in search of an album, a massive empty shell, a big expensive nothing.
  12. Sep 17, 2012
    40
    This is a collection of massive-sounding, impeccably-produced songs which mask their dearth of ideas with hackneyed bluster.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    well you should know before hear this album:it's the perfect combination of all the other 3 albums toghether and we can take from this thatwell you should know before hear this album:it's the perfect combination of all the other 3 albums toghether and we can take from this that this it's a masterpiece!! the whole album its something very pleasure to be hear the sound of guitar the brilliant vocal os brandon flowers..and plus i can image the band playing Flesh and Bone in the shows:it's going to be amazing congratulations for this brilliant album Full Review »
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    This is definitely The Killers at their best. Ive been a real fan since Hot Fuss, and unlike the mainstream fans, i believe they have gottenThis is definitely The Killers at their best. Ive been a real fan since Hot Fuss, and unlike the mainstream fans, i believe they have gotten progressively better with each album. 4 years has been worth the wait, a track or two takes an extra listen, but definitely worth the extra listen, buy this album, you will not be disappointed. Plenty of memorable vocal. drum. guitar and bass parts Full Review »
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    On first impression this sounded bloated, over produced and underwhelming but as I really enjoyed all their of their previous albums, IOn first impression this sounded bloated, over produced and underwhelming but as I really enjoyed all their of their previous albums, I decided to give this time and space to breathe before making up my mind. I'm glad I did. On repeat listens there are some excellent songs on here and some really great songwriting on display although too often the bands talent is completely smothered by overproduction. I really think this album would have majorly benefitted from an Indie Rock production approach instead of the Stadium Rock production thats on show. I know it's totally not cool to like The Killers anymore, but given a chance, this record has many charms. Full Review »