• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Sep 18, 2012
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Battle Born is the kind of rock 'n' roll record that almost nobody makes anymore: it's bombastic and excessive and oversized, but it's also a grand and universal statement, a master class of album structure and sequencing, and a culmination of everything Brandon Flowers and The Killers have done up to this point.
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    This ends up as a thrilling victory of an album because at its heart it has the same great swirling mass of melancholic energy that drove their debut. [Nov 2012, p.88]
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    80
    Battle Born, doesn't quite reach those heights [of their debut, Hot Fuss], but it comes close.
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    For the first time, the ballads are as memorable as the dance cuts.
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    The album is at its best with "A Matter Of Time" and "From Here On Out."
  6. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    They're veterans that know how to use their tools, so even if the raw materials may not be quite as compelling as their earliest singles, the overall craft on Battle Born is more appealing.
  7. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Battle Born is a belter, an album made for bedrooms, stadiums and old-school denim jacket patches alike.
  8. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Flush with stirring, singalong melodies, they construct exciting, catchy songs that draw on the dynamics of stadium rock established by classic bands.
  9. 75
    These are big songs, determined to deliver photo-finish climaxes every few seconds.
  10. Sep 18, 2012
    75
    It's the band's most fully realized record, and that should keep them at the front of a dwindling pack.
  11. Sep 18, 2012
    75
    They say go big or go home, but The Killers went home and made something as big as fans' expectations.
  12. Sep 19, 2012
    70
    In many ways, Battle Born will live up to everything you wish of it, just not every Lanois-Lillywhite-and-O'Brien-helmed second.
  13. 70
    If you've the stomach to set aside your indie sensibilities and endure the occasional terrifying flashback to '(Everything I Do) I Do It For You', Battle Born holds some majestic moments.
  14. Oct 4, 2012
    65
    Naturally there some moments where having too producers and visions hurts them, but for the most part, the band sticks to the formula that's worked in the past.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    well you should know before hear this album:it's the perfect combination of all the other 3 albums toghether and we can take from this thatwell you should know before hear this album:it's the perfect combination of all the other 3 albums toghether and we can take from this that this it's a masterpiece!! the whole album its something very pleasure to be hear the sound of guitar the brilliant vocal os brandon flowers..and plus i can image the band playing Flesh and Bone in the shows:it's going to be amazing congratulations for this brilliant album Full Review »
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    This is definitely The Killers at their best. Ive been a real fan since Hot Fuss, and unlike the mainstream fans, i believe they have gottenThis is definitely The Killers at their best. Ive been a real fan since Hot Fuss, and unlike the mainstream fans, i believe they have gotten progressively better with each album. 4 years has been worth the wait, a track or two takes an extra listen, but definitely worth the extra listen, buy this album, you will not be disappointed. Plenty of memorable vocal. drum. guitar and bass parts Full Review »
  3. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    On first impression this sounded bloated, over produced and underwhelming but as I really enjoyed all their of their previous albums, IOn first impression this sounded bloated, over produced and underwhelming but as I really enjoyed all their of their previous albums, I decided to give this time and space to breathe before making up my mind. I'm glad I did. On repeat listens there are some excellent songs on here and some really great songwriting on display although too often the bands talent is completely smothered by overproduction. I really think this album would have majorly benefitted from an Indie Rock production approach instead of the Stadium Rock production thats on show. I know it's totally not cool to like The Killers anymore, but given a chance, this record has many charms. Full Review »