Battle Born - The Killers
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 119

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    On first impression this sounded bloated, over produced and underwhelming but as I really enjoyed all their of their previous albums, I decided to give this time and space to breathe before making up my mind. I'm glad I did. On repeat listens there are some excellent songs on here and some really great songwriting on display although too often the bands talent is completely smothered by overproduction. I really think this album would have majorly benefitted from an Indie Rock production approach instead of the Stadium Rock production thats on show. I know it's totally not cool to like The Killers anymore, but given a chance, this record has many charms. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    5
    Worst album of The Killers yet. It's good stadia music and I would go and see them live if I had the chance to, but if you are hearing to it just in your room it's pretty dull. Their music is still good, but the CD is just unremarkable. You can confidently overlook that.
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    Eu comecei a escutar o novo álbum da banda The Killers com o pensamento de "vamos ver o que tem para hoje?" e quando terminou estava praticamente jogado no chão gritando: "obrigado, meu Deus!".


    Do segundo que começou a primeira faixa do álbum até o seu final fui transportado para outra era. Uma era relativamente não muito longe em tempo
    "real", mas longe em tempo "artístico": os anos oitenta. Todos sabem da grande influência que a década tem sobre o grupo de Las Vegas, mas em Battle Born eles levam tudo para outro nível. Você pode encontrar desde toques de Eurythmics até Bruce Springsteen durante todo o CD. Não apenas nas influências, mas como em toda a atmosfera sonora. Como disse antes, durante toda a duração de Battle Born me senti transportado para um trailer no meio dos Estados Unidos no final de 1987 como um adolescente ouvindo música e sonhando com o futuro. O grupo usa um bom time de colaboradores para criar grandes, contagiantes, poderosas hinos rock para fazer tocar em estádios lotados onde todos cantam usando toda a força dos pulmões. Cada música é uma produção mais grandiosa que a outra mostra um trabalho de instrumentalização simplesmente genial. Um dos melhores que eu ouvi desde que o blog foi criado. Brandon Flowers está no melhor momento de sua carreira como cantor entregando performances magistrais principalmente nas baladas o ajudando a ficar no topo dos vocalistas da atualidade. Em relação as composições, o álbum é uma ode ao amor de maneira mais oitentista possível: brega, sentimental, cool e cativante. Trabalhos maravilhosos que tem como os maiores destaques a linda Runaways (resenha a seguir), a delicada The Way It Was e a linda de bonita Here With Me. O álbum ainda tem a dark Deadlines And Commitments, a grandiosa Be Still e a super divertida Prize Fighter. Em primeiro lugar no meu coração está Miss Atomic Bomb. É impossível não comparar a canção com as grandes baladas da década de '80 onde a composição era uma história e não apenas frases soltas. Enfrentando crítícas bastante divergentes entre uma e outra, onde de lado há pessoas que amam e outras que odeiam, Battle Born se torna um clássico moderno baseado em uma outra era. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Fulfilled expectations! The huge anthem "Flesh and Bone" combined with hit single "Runaways" and the fan favorite "The Way It Was" are only the beginning of a magical trip through the deserts of Nevada. The third single "Here With Me" (with a music video directed by Tim Burton) paints The Killers with slow ballads like never before. "Matter of Time", the weakest here, begins great but kind of loses control in the middle and then gets it all together to finish with class. "Deadlines and Commitments", another one of the fan favorites, is filled with synthesizers and brilliant drumming by Ronnie Vannucci. The epic "Miss Atomic Bomb", a partner to the band's hit single "Mr. Brightside" from 2004's "Hot Fuss", is a strong track that remembers U2's "The Joshua Tree" days, resembling "Where the Streets Have No Name" and "With or Without You". Great work by guitarist Dave Keuning here. "The Rising Tide", a track The Killers produced, is a strong rock 'n' roll song with synthesizers and strong vocals, not the highlight of the album, but a great track. "Heart of Girl" shows Mark Stoermer at his best while playing his bass guitar while the lyrics flow greatly with the story. "From Here On Out", an almost-country song has a slide guitar memorably performed by Keuning. "Be Still"is a track that deserves attention as it present us Brandon Flowers' best vocal performance ever. Excellence is written all over this album with tracks like this and the last one, the title track, one of the highlights of the album, together with "The Way It Was", one of The Killers' best tracks. Please, also make sure to check out the deluxe edition tracks, specially "Carry Me Home", an excellent work by the band. To conclude, this is a killer album and is worth your time. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    I like the killers, like what these guys do and this album is good, give a chance to "Battle Born" and you will not be ashamed. I would like to give a special featuring for Miss Atomic Bomb, is my favourite song from the album and, everytime i start to listen the album, i begin by this music.
  6. Dec 18, 2012
    6
    Battle Born is not a great album, but it's a good one. Songs like "Runaways", "Miss Atomic Bomb" and "Here With Me" are very pretty songs and there are no songs in the album that we listen and say: OMG, this is so bad. So I think that this album is another little triumph in The Killers career, however they had already been much better, especially with their amazing album Day & Age, that contains the best Killers song ever: Human. Expand
  7. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    From the moment I first heard the majestic lead single "Runaways," I was instantly excited for this album. Battle Born combines elements of all three of The Killers' previous studio albums: from the New Wave and post-punk of Hot Fuss, to the Springsteen-esque heartland rock of Sam's Town, to the synthpop of Day & Age. It's definitely a step up from their previous album, which I felt was somewhat lacking compared to the band's first two albums. A few songs don't particularly stand out, but aside from that minor complaint, Battle Born is an excellent and heartfelt album. Expand
  8. Sep 20, 2012
    5
    Shrimp says he does not like these guys anymore but we all know he does. How could he not? I mean these guys have been Duran Duran rejects from day one that bubblegum pop the crap out of their albums. Duh shrimp be reppin this band......hello?
  9. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    The Killer's newest project Battle Born truly is a masterful album with powerful lyrics in all the songs while keeping a Killer's vibe the whole time. This album stands out to me because of the strong emotion in Brandon Flowers voice and the beauty of the guitar, bass, and drums to construct this album into what I think is their all time best.
  10. Sep 30, 2012
    6
    Let me start by saying in my opinion The Killers were the best band of the last decade, but this album is a major disappointment for me, the band seemed to have lost their edge front man Brandon Flowers is in fine voice but unfortunately this album features his most cliched and simple lyrics yet the mentions of Cellphones and Making Out sound even more daft given the album's mature AOR musical style whilst Dave's guitar and Mark's Bass are rarely given a chance to stand out. They are a few decent tracks, title track Battle Born is my personal favourite and overall it's not a terrible album just below par from what i've come to expect from this band. Expand
  11. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    A fantastic album, The Killers simply couldn't have done better with this album, every song has a unique and very good beat to it. Songs like the rising tide, miss atomic bomb, and runaways go down as some of the very best from them. A thoroughly enjoyable album, I would certainly recommend buying this.
  12. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    A consistent album with great tracks. Almost filler-free. Runaways and Flesh & Bone are amazing anthemic tracks while Be Still is simply beautiful and Here With Me feels close and personal.
  13. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    At first listen, this album feels like a very by-the-book, stadium rocker album. There isn't anything that immediately grabs you as innovative. It's also lacking the aggressive punch of the first two albums. Even the songs that try to "rock" feel more like and attempt to be powerful than actually conveying power. That being said, the hooks are memorable. You can't help humming the songs. They keep pulling you back for another listen. This has the feel of a bad-boy band all grown up. Even though it's more mainstream, it's still worth the listen. Expand
  14. Sep 21, 2012
    8
    The Battle Born theme throughout the album is something I really liked. "Flesh and Bone" starts it out fantastically and is one of the best tracks. Also their single "Runaways" is back and it still stands strong with the rest of the album. Some other tracks like "Here With Me" and "Battle Born" also caught my attention and help the album shine. The rest of it is adequate, and I love The Killers don't get me wrong but I really enjoyed those 4 tracks (the Flesh and Bone remix to add to the list) I listened to more than everything else. Solid album from The Killers and I'm interested in what's down the road. Expand
  15. Sep 21, 2012
    8
    Terrific new album. Big sweeping songs with big themes. I have only recently become a fan of theirs but this album does not disappoint. Try it. I think most will like it.
  16. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    well you should know before hear this album:it's the perfect combination of all the other 3 albums toghether and we can take from this that this it's a masterpiece!! the whole album its something very pleasure to be hear the sound of guitar the brilliant vocal os brandon flowers..and plus i can image the band playing Flesh and Bone in the shows:it's going to be amazing congratulations for this brilliant album Expand
  17. Sep 25, 2012
    8
    This is a great album for critics to hate and fans to love. For those of us focusing on the influences that the band draws in their newest work, this seems to be nothing more than a cheap Bruce Springsteen imitation with modern spike and drama. It is actually a dynamic, diverse outing that should very well stand as a paradigm of rock exhibitionism that does not exist anywhere else in today's music scene. It's well conceived... Flowers has been floating in space for a while, and it has done him some good. I thought "Day and Age" was their best attempt because of its sheer naive elegance, and it may still be. Still, Battle Born is a great entry into the catalogue, and shouldn't be missed by anyone who has even the most basic appreciation for decent, sincere modern rock music. The indie rock influences are delightful at the albums most repressed moments. Please give it a try; at the very least, you will be happy that you heard some half-creative radio fodder. Expand
  18. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    In the past, Brandon Flowers has been accused of sounding bored, unenthusiastic, and going through the motions. I'll tell ya right now I can't think of a time where he's sung his heart out with more, well, heart. It's a little early to tell even after listening to it 20 times, but I think I can go ahead and say this is their best since Hot Fuss. The first thought that came to me when I popped the CD in and spun it up was, "Now THIS is the Killers I've grown to love!" The only nick I can really give it is that on one or two songs the lyrics are a little cheesy and disjointed, but otherwise this is one you will sing to at the top of your lungs in your car and not care who's watching. They are firing on all cylinders here people, make no mistake about it. I'm glad we still have bands like The Killers around. They make it a lot easier to put up with all the cookie cutter candy pop stinking up the musical landscape. It's rare that I can say that I've heard two instant classic albums in one year, but Battle Born and Rush's Clockwork Angels stand atop as kings of the hill and torchbearers for rock n' roll. They are both going in my "desert island" collection. A big WELCOME BACK to Brandon and company. We missed you guys! Collapse
  19. Sep 18, 2012
    7
    Pode ate não ser o melhor cd do The Killers na minha opinião (embora dos criticos seja). Mas é um cd bom, e ainda parece o The Killers (defeito?). Algumas musicas são muito parecidas!!!Mas ok!
  20. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    "Battle Born" is all there is quality in the middle of ALTERNATIVE ROCK. "The Killers" came back with everything! Vocals perfect. Compositions excellent. Clips and performances that take our breath away. Ie "Battle Born" is the best album of alternative rock today. That is fact!
  21. Nov 11, 2013
    1
    A a piece of junk. I really enjoyed the Killers previous albums going into this, so I was absolutely disgusted to find this terrible mix between whinny country music and terrible rock a billy nonsense.

    If someone recommends this to you, you should punch them in the face.
  22. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Deep, immersive, simply brilliant. The best album of The Killers for the moment. Brandon's vocals became much better. Songs sound more complicated than in the previous albums. The album gave me unforgettable pleasure.
  23. Sep 21, 2012
    5
    I have been looking forward to this album coming out for a good few months and have got to be honest and say I was disappointed with what they've come up with. I know they'll never reach the heights of their first album (not a lot of bands do) but I was expecting something more like Sam's Town. They've been away for 4 years so they've had plenty of time to come up with fresh ideas. A few of the songs are formulaic, one or two are Flowers solo material thrown on a Killers album. Stand outs for me were the first 2 tracks (Flesh and Bone + Runaways) the last 2 (Be Still + Battle Born). I'm trying my best to like Here With Me and A Matter of Time, but the rest I'm afraid to say do nothing for me even after a few listens. If the Killers can't do better than this, they should stop getting their fans hopes up and call it a day after maybe doing a greatest hits album and touring that. Expand
  24. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    This is definitely The Killers at their best. Ive been a real fan since Hot Fuss, and unlike the mainstream fans, i believe they have gotten progressively better with each album. 4 years has been worth the wait, a track or two takes an extra listen, but definitely worth the extra listen, buy this album, you will not be disappointed. Plenty of memorable vocal. drum. guitar and bass parts
  25. Sep 19, 2012
    7
    I honestly was disappointed with this album. Only a couple songs struck a chord with me ("Runaways" and "A Matter of Time"). The rest of the album lacked any real depth. I found myself constantly thinking that one song sounded exactly like another and was hoping that a cool progressive song would burst out of somewhere. Alas, there was no cool song to be had. Also, as a bit of a side note, for some reason it feels like the album has an influence of pop country, which really does not go well with Flowers' voice. Overall, it is an "Okay" album. I am not the target audience for this album, which saddens me because I have been their audience for the last three albums, so I will be lenient. If The Killers do come out with another album I hope they go back to their kick ass rock roots, instead of their southern softstream roots. Expand
  26. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    This is blood, sweat, and tears rock n' roll. It begs to be put on repeat in your car and as loud as your **** little stereo can handle. Four albums in ( five if you count the b-sides collection Sawdust) This is unlikely to win The Killers any new support ( unless your a certain Republican front-runner) and the detractors will have a heyday with the rehash of 80's mechanics and Flowers fondness of using every cliche he can get his hands on, but if you drank the kool-aid as I did back when Hot Fuss was released you will find a big, innocent, boot stomping sing-a-long that is a cohesive combination of all their previous efforts, and that is what makes Battle Born the best rock album of 2012 thus far.

    Stand out tracks: Flesh and Bone, Miss Atomic Bomb, From Here on Out
    Expand
  27. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    This album was amazing! I heard a bit of Sam's Town and Brandon's solo album Flamingo in here, which wasn't bad because I really loved Sam's Town being my favorite out of everything they released.
  28. Nov 12, 2012
    7
    When I first put on this album for a listen I got very excited, the opening track, Flesh and bone is my favorite song on the album possibly because it was also used as the preview song for it.

    But after runaways I noticed that the album defiantly slows down in pace and only a few songs pick the pace up again. Most of it appears to be ballads and slow songs which is fine but with an
    album title of battle born I was expecting more songs like the first two that opened it.

    Overall, a good album if you are a killers fan but could have used some more anthem songs.
    Expand
  29. Feb 12, 2013
    0
    Finally, after a four-year hiatus, The Killers broke the silence with their fourth studio album, 2012’s Battle Born. Turns out silence would’ve been easier on the ears. This album couldn’t have been further from Hot Fuss and Sam’s Town if they’d tried (and they may’ve; it’s really bad). It’s almost as if they decided to remake Day Age with more engineering and less emotion (if that’s even possible). I don’t know who their target audience is nowadays, and I’m not sure they do either; all I know is that it can’t be the same people who made their earlier works fly off the shelves, skyrocketing them into superstardom. I guess “what happens in Vegas” really should “stay in Vegas”. My guess is that The Killers will be reduced to ‘house band’ at Caesar’s Palace in no time. On a positive note, Battle Born makes me appreciate Day Age a lot more than I ever thought I could. Oh, and I think it’s time for The Killers to change their name to something a little less aggressive, such as “The Whiners” or perhaps “The Fray”. They don’t deserve a cool name anymore. Expand
  30. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Wonderful album. Would love to hear this live. The Killers again combine magnificent rock with meaningful lyrics. Every song on the album is great--no need skip any tracks!
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    55
    They too often edge into Meat Loaf/Jim Steinman territory, where every detail becomes a cause for operatic exaggeration and any clunky line or cliche sounds ridiculous. [No. 93, p.56]
  2. Oct 22, 2012
    80
    This ends up as a thrilling victory of an album because at its heart it has the same great swirling mass of melancholic energy that drove their debut. [Nov 2012, p.88]
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    65
    Naturally there some moments where having too producers and visions hurts them, but for the most part, the band sticks to the formula that's worked in the past.