• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Battle Born Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth release for the Las Vegas pop band features production from Daniel Lanois, Steve Lillywhite, Brendan O'Brien, Stuart Price, and Damian Taylor.
Buy On

Top Track

Here With Me
Wheels are turning I remember when you were mine Now just to reach you Baby, I'd stand in line But there's another world We're living... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Battle Born is the kind of rock 'n' roll record that almost nobody makes anymore: it's bombastic and excessive and oversized, but it's also a grand and universal statement, a master class of album structure and sequencing, and a culmination of everything Brandon Flowers and The Killers have done up to this point.
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Battle Born is a belter, an album made for bedrooms, stadiums and old-school denim jacket patches alike.
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    80
    For the first time, the ballads are as memorable as the dance cuts.
  4. Oct 4, 2012
    65
    Naturally there some moments where having too producers and visions hurts them, but for the most part, the band sticks to the formula that's worked in the past.
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    60
    With their simultaneous emphasis on the pedal-to-the-metal triumphalism of rock's yesteryear and their ultimate submission to tomorrow's grinding machinery, the Killers' new album may as well be called Battle Born This Way.
  6. Magnet
    Dec 4, 2012
    55
    They too often edge into Meat Loaf/Jim Steinman territory, where every detail becomes a cause for operatic exaggeration and any clunky line or cliche sounds ridiculous. [No. 93, p.56]
  7. Sep 24, 2012
    30
    Battle Born is a confused mess of an album, drenched in influences but positively overextended in its execution, the band trying way too hard to do something grander and more complex than what they've done before.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    well you should know before hear this album:it's the perfect combination of all the other 3 albums toghether and we can take from this thatwell you should know before hear this album:it's the perfect combination of all the other 3 albums toghether and we can take from this that this it's a masterpiece!! the whole album its something very pleasure to be hear the sound of guitar the brilliant vocal os brandon flowers..and plus i can image the band playing Flesh and Bone in the shows:it's going to be amazing congratulations for this brilliant album Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Wonderful album. Would love to hear this live. The Killers again combine magnificent rock with meaningful lyrics. Every song on the album isWonderful album. Would love to hear this live. The Killers again combine magnificent rock with meaningful lyrics. Every song on the album is great--no need skip any tracks! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    A consistent album with great tracks. Almost filler-free. Runaways and Flesh & Bone are amazing anthemic tracks while Be Still is simplyA consistent album with great tracks. Almost filler-free. Runaways and Flesh & Bone are amazing anthemic tracks while Be Still is simply beautiful and Here With Me feels close and personal. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    8
    Terrific new album. Big sweeping songs with big themes. I have only recently become a fan of theirs but this album does not disappoint. TryTerrific new album. Big sweeping songs with big themes. I have only recently become a fan of theirs but this album does not disappoint. Try it. I think most will like it. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    I like the killers, like what these guys do and this album is good, give a chance to "Battle Born" and you will not be ashamed. I would likeI like the killers, like what these guys do and this album is good, give a chance to "Battle Born" and you will not be ashamed. I would like to give a special featuring for Miss Atomic Bomb, is my favourite song from the album and, everytime i start to listen the album, i begin by this music. Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    7
    At first listen, this album feels like a very by-the-book, stadium rocker album. There isn't anything that immediately grabs you asAt first listen, this album feels like a very by-the-book, stadium rocker album. There isn't anything that immediately grabs you as innovative. It's also lacking the aggressive punch of the first two albums. Even the songs that try to "rock" feel more like and attempt to be powerful than actually conveying power. That being said, the hooks are memorable. You can't help humming the songs. They keep pulling you back for another listen. This has the feel of a bad-boy band all grown up. Even though it's more mainstream, it's still worth the listen. Collapse
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    0
    Finally, after a four-year hiatus, The Killers broke the silence with their fourth studio album, 2012’s Battle Born. Turns out silenceFinally, after a four-year hiatus, The Killers broke the silence with their fourth studio album, 2012’s Battle Born. Turns out silence would’ve been easier on the ears. This album couldn’t have been further from Hot Fuss and Sam’s Town if they’d tried (and they may’ve; it’s really bad). It’s almost as if they decided to remake Day Age with more engineering and less emotion (if that’s even possible). I don’t know who their target audience is nowadays, and I’m not sure they do either; all I know is that it can’t be the same people who made their earlier works fly off the shelves, skyrocketing them into superstardom. I guess “what happens in Vegas” really should “stay in Vegas”. My guess is that The Killers will be reduced to ‘house band’ at Caesar’s Palace in no time. On a positive note, Battle Born makes me appreciate Day Age a lot more than I ever thought I could. Oh, and I think it’s time for The Killers to change their name to something a little less aggressive, such as “The Whiners” or perhaps “The Fray”. They don’t deserve a cool name anymore. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews