Battle For The Sun Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth album for the London-based rock trio was produced by Dave Bottrill and is the band's first album with new drummer, Steve Forrest (original drummer Steve Hewitt parted company in 2007).
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Battle For The Sun takes the best elements of thier sound and focuses it into a cohesive listening experience--there's no filler to be found. [Jul 2009, p.130]
  2. [The album’s final track is] a satisfying conclusion to the band’s best album since 2000’s Black Market Music.
  3. The band has made records more appealingly outré than this one. Raise the freak flag higher, dudes!
  4. A heavier take on their gothic moan-rock.
  5. The bulk is what Placebo term "hard pop": lean, muscular movers shot through with melody. As unfashionable as it may be to say so, there aren't many bands that do it better. [July 2009]
  6. Too many songs are full of bombast and bland angst, as if these smart guys know better but can't help themselves.
  7. They've jettisoned just about anything that ever made them perversely enjoyable.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. PaolaV.
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    Its an absolute great work, I've follow them since their beginnings and i bought it just because, not expecting too much after meds, and it was refreshing surprising, the lyrics were by no means predictable, I think its their finest work so far. Expand
  2. BrunoRoss
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Fantastic!
  3. AnneL
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    What a pleasure! Love most of the songs. Drums still powerful and lyrics showing a new stage / maturity in Brian's life. Had been disappointed with their albums after Black Market Music. This one makes them top of my list again. Gripping music. Fabulous sounds. Love letting them take over me! Expand
  4. JazzUp
    Jan 26, 2010
    9
    There's both dark and bright feelings in the album. Every song is full of meaning. I consider this album decent and I've paid for it already. Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    It is outstanding how they can still release such a great album. The style has changed a little bit, maybe it's more focused on the vocals than before, but i really didn't mind that. It's still Placebo, but they're doing something a bit different and it's good. There's a lot of energy here and you can't really start naming tracks without listing the whole album. It's a wonderful work, worthy of buying Expand
  6. DavidH
    Dec 13, 2009
    7
    Didn't like it at all at first, but it has started to grow on me. It was much much better at a live show.it has 3 songs which stand out which can make an album these days because more people tend download singles from itunes etc than albums. i can understand why a lot of hardened fans such as myself wont like it but at least they are trying to sound more rounded. I think this will go down better in the U.S.A than past albums. overall a good effort but just not good enough for Placebo, I feel slightly disappointed. Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews