Battlefield

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Jul 21, 2009
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshuaM.
    Oct 5, 2009
    8
    This album is much better than her debut album. Better writing, better vocals, better everything. Best song on the album is "Let It Rain". Check it out.
  2. TaariqueD.
    Aug 8, 2009
    9
    Very nice album. Certainly better than her debut. The only song that isn't too catchy for me is Faith. For the rest the album has the perfect mix of uptempo tracks and ballads.
  3. AlexM.
    Dec 5, 2009
    10
    Poptastic album! Very radio-friendly.
  4. SeptN.
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    Such a great album! better than her debut album. The electro/dance songs (S.O.S, Emergency) are HOT. The Cure's a beautiful ballad, a great combination of Leona's & Kelly's style.
  5. HumbertoB.
    Jul 23, 2009
    9
    I dont know why so many bad reviews. Serious, Im not a hysteric fan or even a fan of Miss Spark, but this album really got me. Im listening right now, and Im really enjoying the songs. The midtempos and ballads are great! Love her voice, catchy hooks, great melodies. Well... its an album that you can easily listen and makes you feel good. Don't Ler It Go To Your Head, Battlefield, I dont know why so many bad reviews. Serious, Im not a hysteric fan or even a fan of Miss Spark, but this album really got me. Im listening right now, and Im really enjoying the songs. The midtempos and ballads are great! Love her voice, catchy hooks, great melodies. Well... its an album that you can easily listen and makes you feel good. Don't Ler It Go To Your Head, Battlefield, Wlaking On Snow, No Parade and Let It Rain are the best! Gotta love it. Expand
  6. ajD
    Aug 25, 2009
    7
    Its a very good album...You can easily listen to it all the way through without being bored!
  7. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    This is certainly a step-up from her debut album. Battlefield is one of the best pop albums from the past couple years. You can listen to the album from track 1 to 12 without having to skip a song. Jordin's vocal soar from track to track & the production is strong but not over-powering. Stand out tracks are Battlefield, Don't Let It Go to Your Head, It Takes More, Watch You Go, No ParadeThis is certainly a step-up from her debut album. Battlefield is one of the best pop albums from the past couple years. You can listen to the album from track 1 to 12 without having to skip a song. Jordin's vocal soar from track to track & the production is strong but not over-powering. Stand out tracks are Battlefield, Don't Let It Go to Your Head, It Takes More, Watch You Go, No Parade and Was I The Only One. I would definitely recommended this album. Expand
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    The uptempo tracks are somehow mediocre but I must say that the ballads are really touching. She is ready to be the next princess of rhythm and blues with this album.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Battlefield actually contains enough ?potential hits to keep the singer in heavy rotation until well into Idol's 10th season.
  2. As nice as it is to hear Sparks continuing to dabble in dance-pop, though, one wonders if it would have been a smarter move in terms of career longevity to try to build on the urban audience she started to cultivate with 'No Air.'
  3. Regrettably, though, Sparks sounds more comfortable with power ballads such as 'No Parade;' and there's an inner Pat Benatar struggling to get out on the title track. OK if you like this kind of thing.