Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy On
  1. Feb 22, 2012
    80
    The singing is immaculate all the way through, and there's plenty of blowing space from some dynamic improvisers, notably saxophonists Yosuke Sato and Tivon Pennicott.
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    90
    Yeah, Gregory Porter is the real deal.
  3. Porter has made the best vocal album in an age.
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    80
    Gregory Porter's sophomore effort confirms the talent that was so apparent on his debut.
  5. Mojo
    Mar 23, 2012
    80
    With a gift for creating memorable melodies allied with a strong storytelling narrative, he comes across like a sophisticated jazz version of Bill Withers. [Apr 2012, p.94]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 15, 2012
    9
    Although more a listener of Jazz from decades gone by, I instantly felt at home with Gregory Porter's 'Be Good'. This is a musician who isAlthough more a listener of Jazz from decades gone by, I instantly felt at home with Gregory Porter's 'Be Good'. This is a musician who is clearly comfortable and in control of his craft - you feel the warmth and energy immediately. The album is like listening to an old friend - or a musician from days gone by you thought you had heard before. Highly recommended. Full Review »
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    This is the best jazz album I've ever heard since the jazz era; His voice, his energy, his lyrics, encompass you and treat you to some great,This is the best jazz album I've ever heard since the jazz era; His voice, his energy, his lyrics, encompass you and treat you to some great, soulful music you'll definitely enjoy if you're into jazz. Enjoy! Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    I spent mere seconds of listening to "Be Good" and "On My Way to Harlem" before going to his website and purchasing his album. It doesn't takeI spent mere seconds of listening to "Be Good" and "On My Way to Harlem" before going to his website and purchasing his album. It doesn't take long to recognize excellence. Full Review »