Beard, Wives, Denim

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2013
    7
    Some songs on here are leaps and bounds better than what you will find on Innerspeaker. However, this album fails to hold up with consistency. Some songs drag on far too long, and others are just shoddy.
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    If you are not experimental music fans - most of the material on album you'll just pass by. In another case, on "Beard, Wives, Denim" you will find the best alternative rock format. Fancy-catchy melodies, guitar solos that are holding fashion - nay, even psychedelic vocal resonance is included in the budget of "carefree" form.
  3. Nov 18, 2016
    10
    The best psych rock album I know of. It's charmingly lo-fi, wonderfully trippy, and constantly changing direction; one moment your head will be swirling in the moody psychedelia of Sorry I Was Under the Sky, the next you'll be bopping your head to the smooth funk of Moth Wings; later, tapping your feet along with Leisure Pony's rapid riffs.
    Although its unpredictable nature led me to
    The best psych rock album I know of. It's charmingly lo-fi, wonderfully trippy, and constantly changing direction; one moment your head will be swirling in the moody psychedelia of Sorry I Was Under the Sky, the next you'll be bopping your head to the smooth funk of Moth Wings; later, tapping your feet along with Leisure Pony's rapid riffs.
    Although its unpredictable nature led me to question it on my first listen, it has since become my favorite album and one of the most rewarding musical experiences I've undergone to date.
    Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    80
    It's different enough to feel like a companion piece rather than a knock-off: less laboured over, more the sound of a rock band kicking back, and less alienated.
  2. Uncut
    Jun 1, 2012
    80
    A fair amount of cosmic fannying involved, but this is framed by some cracking songwriting. [Jul 2012, p.79]
  3. Under The Radar
    Mar 21, 2012
    60
    Pond's music leans a little more joyous, perhaps, and is more infused with glam and classic rock [than sister band, Tame Impala.] [March 2012, p.79]