User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. C.Daher
    Oct 23, 2001
    10
    It's a great album, with a mixture of pop, rock, alternative, 60's, etc. Very diferent from version 2.0 (the best for me), but this one is vey very cool
  2. BobbyDigital
    Dec 9, 2001
    9
    Hated it when I first heard it (guess I wanted more 2.0) but soon loved it!
  3. KathrynS.
    Oct 9, 2001
    10
    It's the greatest album ever by the greatest band ever!
  4. RunawayLover
    Jan 2, 2002
    8
    "Beautiful" is easily Garbage's best album, displaying diversity and imagination that were unheard of on their first two albums. Whereas "Version" and their debut albums focused on maintaining the same sound throughout, "Beautiful" successfully takes risks and ends up being the most worthwhile and gripping Garbage album to date.
  5. if4pif4
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    love it!
  6. Louis
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    This ius the best garbage album ever made. It is the whole reason why i got into the band. It is electronica-rock at it's best. This band really knows how to deliver good talented music worth buying no matter what genre they cover!
  7. GiuseppeM.
    May 27, 2007
    10
    Perfectly eclectic sophisticated album.
  8. JeremyF.
    Sep 20, 2007
    8
    I think this is a fantastic album. The electric outfit suits them well. I think it's my favorite album, but the only problem is that it seems a little phony. This is not the core, gritty Garbage. But I really love it. I love Shut Your Mouth, Cup Of Coffee, Drive You home, Cherry Lips, and Nobody Loves You. I think that if they released a mainly-slow-song record (ie: Cup of Coffee, I think this is a fantastic album. The electric outfit suits them well. I think it's my favorite album, but the only problem is that it seems a little phony. This is not the core, gritty Garbage. But I really love it. I love Shut Your Mouth, Cup Of Coffee, Drive You home, Cherry Lips, and Nobody Loves You. I think that if they released a mainly-slow-song record (ie: Cup of Coffee, Can't Cry These Tears Anymore) it would be nearly perfect, since their slower-paced numbers ironically tend to work to better. Expand
  9. MatsushitaY.
    Dec 13, 2001
    10
    KEWL!
  10. GraemeK.
    Oct 25, 2001
    10
    I wish I could stop listening to it, but seem physically unable to remove it from my cd player.
  11. RandyB
    Mar 12, 2005
    9
    beautifulgarbage is the type of artistic endeavor that succeeds admirably. It sees Garbage completely revel in the pop sound, and because there is meaning behind it, it blows regular pop artists out of the water. Shirley Manson's lyrics become vulnerable and wrenching in some ("Nobody Loves You"; "Cup of Coffee"; Drive You Home") and remain as fierce as they ever were in others beautifulgarbage is the type of artistic endeavor that succeeds admirably. It sees Garbage completely revel in the pop sound, and because there is meaning behind it, it blows regular pop artists out of the water. Shirley Manson's lyrics become vulnerable and wrenching in some ("Nobody Loves You"; "Cup of Coffee"; Drive You Home") and remain as fierce as they ever were in others ("Shut Your Mouth"; "Silence is Golden") Some might not be able to appreciate it, but beautifulgarbage makes pop listenable. And I'm sorry, but Garbage can never be interchangable, each song on here sounds distinct from the others; I'm not exactly sure how you could confuse "Androgyny" for "Cherry Lips". Expand
  12. AustinA
    Jul 25, 2005
    8
    Beautiful indeed.
  13. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    I think it's beautiful. Very powerful lyrics.
    Highlight tracks: "Silence is Golden", "Cup of Coffee", "Nobody Loves You", "Breaking Up the Girl", "So Like a Rose", "Drive You Home", "Can't Dry These Tears."
  14. May 17, 2012
    9
    This album is often seen as the black sheep of Garbages catalogue, but if you chuck any expectations out the window, it stands out as a fantastic pop rock album, with intelligent heartfelt lyrics and excellent melodies. Standout tracks are Shut Your Mouth, Cup of Coffee and Cherry Lips.
  15. Mar 23, 2014
    7
    "Beautifulgarbage" is definitely Garbage's worst album, but it's not all that bad. It's not like Garbage's previous albums, and the previous albums were amazing. This one just missed the mark. The best tracks are "Shut Your Mouth" and "Cherry Lips (Go Baby Go)."
  16. Jun 3, 2016
    8
    Not the band's strongest effort, but still containing killer hooks and beats as well catchy songs. The fault lies in the over saturation of music genres and eras rather than one cohesive marketable sound. If it had been more radio friendly this could have been a Blondie album for the 21st century. Given time though this album is a grower.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. The sound of a band blissfully uncoiling under the sun of self-assurance.
  2. Gone are the likes of 'Queer' or 'Subhuman', there's no ummph or intelligence. In straining to achieve a smarter, more mature album the band have created the most tawdry epitaph possible.
  3. Blender
    60
    The Garbage machine doesn't always function so pristinely. [Oct/Nov 2001, p.105]