Beautifully Human: Words And Sounds Vol. 2

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Aug 31, 2004
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesA
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    Perfection!
  2. VishD
    Oct 10, 2004
    9
    Shocking album, perfect lyrical content...sweet vibes all the way through. Overall, this album is really quite amazing.
  3. NseE
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    Not as great as her debut in my opinion, but still a brilliant and outstanding cd. Lyrically, she is still up there as is evident on the superb 'Cross my mind' and 'Family reunion'. Other standouts are 'Rasool', the semi-operatic 'Still there', 'Whatever', the jazzy 'Talk to me', 'Bedda at home' and 'Golden'. Not as great as her debut in my opinion, but still a brilliant and outstanding cd. Lyrically, she is still up there as is evident on the superb 'Cross my mind' and 'Family reunion'. Other standouts are 'Rasool', the semi-operatic 'Still there', 'Whatever', the jazzy 'Talk to me', 'Bedda at home' and 'Golden'. Classy, joyous, soulful! Expand
  4. TJefferson
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    Forgive the length, but this is a statement by an artist worthy of the praise. This poet's work elevates lyrical music, her performance reaffirms the power of the human voice. If Aretha Franklin and Joni Mitchell and Abbey Lincoln and Ricki Lee Jones and Minnie Riperton had a love child, she would be Jill Scott. Soul music has its singer-songwriter for the modern age.
  5. [Anonymous]
    Sep 1, 2004
    10
    Splendid album!! magical to say the least!
  6. VanessaV
    Sep 17, 2004
    9
    It's real relaxing. She displays such a mellow madness with her style.
  7. RyanC
    Sep 1, 2004
    9
    After vol 1, I figured it was impossible to make another album that great, but she did. These days, I have just been so disappointed with music and artists these days, but she delivered with a beautiful album full of feeling. a must have.
  8. BridgetJ
    Sep 17, 2004
    9
    I don't know if it is too early to say vintage Jill Scott with this being only her second album... but I'll say it anway, VINTAGE JILL SCOTT!!!!!
  9. LarryO
    Sep 7, 2004
    10
    HOT the cd is HOT I was wondering how she would do it again but she did Again. All i can say is the cd is Hot.
  10. EJJohnson
    Sep 13, 2004
    8
    This is a beautiful album and offers a refreshing break from the highly sampled, synthetic music coming from the hip-hop world today. Jill Scott has not lost her touch, and is romantic and cleaver as ever in her interaction with the music. The problem is, coming on the hills of the highly successful, and now classic, Who Is Jill Scott (Words and Sounds Vol. 1), the words are there, but This is a beautiful album and offers a refreshing break from the highly sampled, synthetic music coming from the hip-hop world today. Jill Scott has not lost her touch, and is romantic and cleaver as ever in her interaction with the music. The problem is, coming on the hills of the highly successful, and now classic, Who Is Jill Scott (Words and Sounds Vol. 1), the words are there, but the sounds are just not as compelling as they were on the first album. The music just don't move me like on the first album. Few songs stand out as major hits. However, it's a wonderful album altogether, and thank God she didn't make a dreadful sophmore set like Erykah Badu did. Expand
  11. FA
    Sep 16, 2004
    10
    I'm still sitting, can't wake up
  12. MarkR
    Sep 7, 2004
    10
    This is as good as it gets! Jill Scott is something special.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Though not every track works, Scott still remains at the top of her game.
  2. Vibe
    80
    She's both deeply personal and relevantly dope, thriving where poetry slams and hip hop beats collide. [Sep 2004, p.231]
  3. Though it sags a bit over the course of 72 minutes, the effect is that of being sung to privately by a vocalist who has mastered the art of intimacy.