Beautifully Human: Words And Sounds Vol. 2 Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The soul singer returns with a follow-up to her Grammy-nominated debut.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Rarely do the settings distinguish themselves.... But a distinct voice delivering noticeable verbal content is a setting too--that's why you notice the content.
  2. She's as comfortable sighing like a muted horn as she is wailing in big-band fashion--though it's the infusion of tenderness in her homespun tales that seals the CD's lasting appeal. [3 Sep 2004, p.74]
  3. Her voice is versatile, the beats delicioiusly languid, but it's the songwriting that shines. [Oct 2004, p.129]
  4. Though it sags a bit over the course of 72 minutes, the effect is that of being sung to privately by a vocalist who has mastered the art of intimacy.
  5. 80
    She's both deeply personal and relevantly dope, thriving where poetry slams and hip hop beats collide. [Sep 2004, p.231]
  6. Buffs the rough edges of Words & Sounds, Vol. 1 but sacrifices some of that record's spirited adventurousness.
  7. Beautifully Human isn't quite the conceptual masterpiece it strives to be: Too often, the music falls short of Scott's lyrical brilliance.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. NseE
    Dec 15, 2004
    10
    Not as great as her debut in my opinion, but still a brilliant and outstanding cd. Lyrically, she is still up there as is evident on the superb 'Cross my mind' and 'Family reunion'. Other standouts are 'Rasool', the semi-operatic 'Still there', 'Whatever', the jazzy 'Talk to me', 'Bedda at home' and 'Golden'. Classy, joyous, soulful! Collapse
  2. LarryO
    Sep 7, 2004
    10
    HOT the cd is HOT I was wondering how she would do it again but she did Again. All i can say is the cd is Hot.
  3. TJefferson
    Aug 30, 2004
    10
    Forgive the length, but this is a statement by an artist worthy of the praise. This poet's work elevates lyrical music, her performance reaffirms the power of the human voice. If Aretha Franklin and Joni Mitchell and Abbey Lincoln and Ricki Lee Jones and Minnie Riperton had a love child, she would be Jill Scott. Soul music has its singer-songwriter for the modern age. Expand
  4. FA
    Sep 16, 2004
    10
    I'm still sitting, can't wake up
  5. BridgetJ
    Sep 17, 2004
    9
    I don't know if it is too early to say vintage Jill Scott with this being only her second album... but I'll say it anway, VINTAGE JILL SCOTT!!!!! Expand
  6. VishD
    Oct 10, 2004
    9
    Shocking album, perfect lyrical content...sweet vibes all the way through. Overall, this album is really quite amazing.
  7. SimonS
    Jan 20, 2006
    4
    Her failings with men are due to the fact that she is ridiculously shallow and has unrealistic expectations about men. Her lyrics are soooo irritating! Its well crafted music but I just can't get past her lyrics. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews