• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Apr 3, 2007
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 164

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 10, 2010
    10
    best album of the decade. enough said.
  2. ArjenD
    May 8, 2007
    9
    Much, much better than their first two records. I didn't like them at all but Because of the Times is really wonderful! It is stuck on my iPod at the moment.
  3. TP
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    Absolutely nothing to be disappointed about here. A Classic.
  4. jakeg
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    This bands sound is unique, catchy and it is great
  5. jd
    Apr 3, 2007
    9
    I admit, I was mislead by the music they have posted on MySpace. This album is refreshing. Straight up, head nodding beats. Great vocals. More good songs than bad. The song "Fans" is one of my new fave. songs.
  6. AndrewB
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    this album was so good it beats ford rovers!
  7. beckysfd
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    great work, boys
  8. Jamie
    Sep 6, 2007
    9
    The year is rapidly coming to a close and it's my favorite of the year too - and I hadn't owned anything of theirs previously and went out and bought all of it on the strength of this.
  9. Arte
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    Has it's ups and downs like any CD and it certainly can't touch their marvellous debut, but a superb offerng nonetheless. Some fans of the band might not appreciate the new direction, but most Rock'n'Rollers will enjoy this one.
  10. TB2
    Mar 29, 2007
    9
    Great album. A little more matured for the more matured rock your socks off listener. I believe "Filter" magazine had it right with "This is meat and 'taters rock mixed with the Devil's blood." Good stuff and mixes well with Black Crowes, Drive-by-Truckers, etc.
  11. JonathanE.
    Mar 30, 2007
    9
    I was surprised by this record. I liked their last record "Aha Shake Heartbreak", it had a few great songs but it was a bit unfocused and not quite all the way there. With "Because of the Times" Kings of Leon have finally arrived delivering a cohesive album full of brilliant songs. Great vocals, great guitar playing, and great mood throughout.
  12. JoachimH
    Mar 31, 2007
    9
    This is by far the best album of 2007! Caleb have not sounded better for years, and the rest of the band swings so cool. This bad-ass-rock-n-roll-album is a must for every fan of Jet, The Fratellis, The Vines or just for fans of good rock. The best number is the amazing single "On Call", and i strongly recommend this album to everyone!
  13. TrinaG.
    Mar 3, 2007
    9
    If nothing else I do believe the "Because Of The Times" will finally clue the US into what the UK has known for quite some time: that Kings of Leon are a musical force worthy of their constant praise. I've been listening to this album for 3 weeks and it's only gotten better. Known for their unique type of bruising, muscular and chucky southern fried rock they have had quite a If nothing else I do believe the "Because Of The Times" will finally clue the US into what the UK has known for quite some time: that Kings of Leon are a musical force worthy of their constant praise. I've been listening to this album for 3 weeks and it's only gotten better. Known for their unique type of bruising, muscular and chucky southern fried rock they have had quite a following since they hit the world stage as the opening band for U2 during their monster Vertigo tour. KOL could have easily made album #3 a near replica of albums # 1 and 2 and their fans would have probably loved it. But something happened in the past two years; I guess touring witht he like of U2, Pearl Jam and Bob Dylan is an education unlike anything else because those KOL gents seem to have grown up nicely (musically, if nothing else). The first single "On Call" is pure testament to that. When I first heard a live version of this song my initial reaction was: "Where the f*ck did that song come from?" The song is sexy, mature...the hollow effects, the vocal delivery...it's a very "adult" departure from their usual punchy, almost violent southern rock but it's still all their sound. That was my hook. There's a lot of musical variation to dig into from "Arizona", which is just dead lovely, to "True Love Way" to "Charmer" which makes me marvel at Caleb's vocal ability. And Caleb's vocals are flexing throughout this album; so much tone and texture to that voice I forget that he's do young If this album doesn't seal KOL into the musical minds of people, nothing will. Expand
  14. winstong
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Breath of fresh air,they needed to oull off a good album and theyve done it in style!!
  15. JosephA
    Apr 11, 2007
    9
    Wow, I thought their last album was complete crap with hints of promise and I absolutely was not interested in hearing their new one. Well, thank god I gave it a shot!! Those hints of promise have blossomed in a massive way, the album is excellent.
  16. Gina.P
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    This album is definitely a 10. You would have never expected it from them. It's emotional and rough at the same time. Like a jam session with emotion. Amazing, you should all listen.
  17. RubS
    Apr 1, 2007
    9
    It's awesome - don't like a few moments on the songs, but it is still pretty cool!
  18. JimmyT
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Because of the time is an awe-inspiring album, a step up from the already high-flying Aha Shake Heartbreak. White this release Kings of Leon prove they are more than a one trick pony and pave their ways to rock superstardom
  19. Aric
    Apr 2, 2007
    9
    A more focused album by a brilliant band on the verge of a great career! 'Kings' have a sound that is a complex mix of many influences too often pigeon-holed as Southern Rock. Listen to tracks like "On Call", " Knocked Up", "Ragoo" and my personal favorite "McFearless" and you will hear music from a band too young for this amount of scope.
  20. tony
    Apr 30, 2007
    9
    The last album was great. I didn't expect this one to be as good. But i hate it when people expect every album from every band to be the same thing over and over. Its different but its just as good in its own way. It starts out with a great unexpected 7 minute song ... i dont think the last album was even 7 minutes long. That was the Kings of Leon telling you that they are older this The last album was great. I didn't expect this one to be as good. But i hate it when people expect every album from every band to be the same thing over and over. Its different but its just as good in its own way. It starts out with a great unexpected 7 minute song ... i dont think the last album was even 7 minutes long. That was the Kings of Leon telling you that they are older this album is different but you are going to like it. Buy it listen to it more than once and put it your regular collection. Expand
  21. salmanh
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Iconic Album .. amazing
  22. MarkG
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    Definitely a 10.Having read some reviews it seems to me critics miss the point about records,if they sound good they are good and this one sounds great.It's also a grower.I've now listened to the full album over a dozen times & it keeps getting better.It doesn't matter if they sound a bit like this band or that band only that they make good songs doing it and these boys are Definitely a 10.Having read some reviews it seems to me critics miss the point about records,if they sound good they are good and this one sounds great.It's also a grower.I've now listened to the full album over a dozen times & it keeps getting better.It doesn't matter if they sound a bit like this band or that band only that they make good songs doing it and these boys are talented enough to carry it off.Can't wait for their next offering.Meanwhile i'll just play this album 'til my ears bleed.Keep up the good work boys,Scotland loves you. Expand
  23. WillL.
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Exceeds the promise shown on their first two albums, this is flawless. The band still have raw energy, but now play with atmosphere, acoustics and benefit from improved (Springsteen-esque) lyrics, previously their achilles heel.
  24. ZachP
    Dec 21, 2008
    9
    Flawed, spectacular and sprawling, Because of the Times is the Kings best album yet. it's contagious and insane and "On Call' is by far their best song since "California Waiting." If the bittersweet melody of that song and "Arizona" doesn't touch you in some way, you have no soul.
  25. SteveH
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    A work of genius that builds on the first two albums and gets so far into your head you can't get it out. Ragoo and Fans particular favourites and as good as anything they've done so far. The band extend their playing to the next level and Caleb has to be the best singer in rock.
  26. KyleN
    Mar 14, 2007
    9
    Listening to this album makes me feel like a badass
  27. tinat
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    by far their best album yet! the first two had great moments, but this has classic songs all the way through. i'm lucky to really enjoy 4-5 songs on any record. that is when i know i like it. i can easily listen to at least 9-10 of these at any given moment! this record is perfect for soundtracks to great movies. it's like explosions in the sky with shorter, poppier songs, a by far their best album yet! the first two had great moments, but this has classic songs all the way through. i'm lucky to really enjoy 4-5 songs on any record. that is when i know i like it. i can easily listen to at least 9-10 of these at any given moment! this record is perfect for soundtracks to great movies. it's like explosions in the sky with shorter, poppier songs, a singer and more distortion and reverb. Expand
  28. EDWARDS
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    Buy this album!
  29. cathlinb
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    this album oozes greatness. and the followill family? they ooze greatness with a side of sex appeal. "knocked up" takes my breath away.
  30. DG
    Mar 29, 2007
    9
    Shows a ton of growth since Aha Shake Heartbreak, both as musicians and songwriters. One of my favorites of 2007 so far.
  31. Oillhnhkk
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    fan fucking tastic!!
  32. RobH
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    Amazing album, continuing their tradition of pure class albums. you get the sense of a more mature band when you listen to this album.
  33. [Anonymous]
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    brilliant, a masterpiece. this album has everything, and i haven't heard anything so fresh in years. but it as soon as it comes out, i know i will. many standout tracks, great musicianship, great lyrics. just amazing.
  34. bretts
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    F'n awesome!
  35. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    Great album. Shows the diversity and musical intelligence that the band has. awesome album best tracks: McFearless, Ragoo, On Call and Charmer.
  36. JohnnyS
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    The Kings of Leon's songwriting expertise and musicianship are nothing short of jaw-dropping on this album. The guitars in particular are very tasteful and breathtakingly creative, in my opinion right up there with anything the Edge or Joey Santiago has done over the years. The only reason I deduct a point is because I don't particularly care for the singer. That and some of the The Kings of Leon's songwriting expertise and musicianship are nothing short of jaw-dropping on this album. The guitars in particular are very tasteful and breathtakingly creative, in my opinion right up there with anything the Edge or Joey Santiago has done over the years. The only reason I deduct a point is because I don't particularly care for the singer. That and some of the songs, while still top quality, are a little too country-fried for my sensibilities. Excellent album and well worth a listen for anyone who's a fan of rock music. Expand
  37. jim
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    great record! best yet! love them!
  38. JustinP
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    The best album i've heard in years.
  39. matthewb
    Apr 3, 2007
    9
    Classic
  40. Rambow
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    Great album that benefits from multiple listens. Not more of the same but more great stuff either way.
  41. MattG
    Apr 6, 2007
    10
    They just keep making original music without going overboard. I didn't think they would be able to beat the first two albums, but they did. Their best effort to date and if you've heard their first two, then that is a gigantic complement.
  42. ZacS
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    This album is great from start to finish. Its soul searching and makes you question yourself. All of it equals awesome. Pick it up! definitely one of the best of 2007
  43. AaronH
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    Best album of 2007.
  44. dana
    May 17, 2007
    10
    loved the first two albums but kol get better with each album. this is definatly the album of the year for me. so many good tracks, camero, black thumbnail, my party, mcfearless
  45. CathlinO
    May 2, 2007
    10
    I have to agree with Ilya R on this one, only I think it doesn't get much better than the entire album (though there may be notable exceptions)
  46. JonC
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Great record, great band. A breath of fresh air. The boys are stretching it out, people have to allow them to evolve.
  47. TimH
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    Great stuff. I saw them live not too long ago, and they blew me away. "Knocked Up" is a classic.
  48. TBone
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    If you listen to Knocked Up, Charmer (Get past the yelp), On Call, True Love Way, Ragoo, Fans, McFearless, Black Thumbnail. I don't see how this scores less than a 7. It's good. Great for drinking whiskey in the dark or driving in the dark.
  49. MojoPiN
    Apr 19, 2008
    9
    While lyrically it's no masterpiece, the words still resonate as personal, impassioned tales that help carry the tunes, but ultimately, it's the depth of the music, the beautifully thick and well placed drum sounds and the soaring neo-shoegazing guitar work that makes this album a real gem of 2007.
  50. AaronH
    May 6, 2008
    10
    Best album of 2007.
  51. ZekeT.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    A mature, beautiful third album from the new kings of southern rock.
  52. DiegoP
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    An amazing album by an amazing band!
  53. federicor
    Apr 23, 2007
    9
    A quite good album, I dare say!
  54. GarethH.
    Jun 13, 2007
    9
    I only didn't give it 10 because no-one should get 10! Looking at all the reviews I am amazed that there is so little fuss about "Knocked Up"! It was about 3 days before I heard any other track on the album. Everything about that opening track had me hooked immediately. If these guys ever make a better song I will crawl on hands and knees to get a copy. Oh, and when I did get round I only didn't give it 10 because no-one should get 10! Looking at all the reviews I am amazed that there is so little fuss about "Knocked Up"! It was about 3 days before I heard any other track on the album. Everything about that opening track had me hooked immediately. If these guys ever make a better song I will crawl on hands and knees to get a copy. Oh, and when I did get round to it, the rest of the album is sublime, Idon't think one track is in the slightest disappointing. Wonderful stuff. Collapse
  55. Joe
    Jun 15, 2007
    10
    best album of 2007 so far. no filler tracks, the album flows beautifully from beginning to end. every track is unique and awesome in its right...highly recommended.
  56. SpencerJ.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Just gets better and better with every listen. It's a shame they don't get as much attention in the states as they do over in Britain.
  57. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    Kings of leon changed their style for the better.They're half hard rock half soft rock style finally works on this record.My problem with old KOL was that theyre slower songs lacked feeling and were ultimitly boring.'Arizona' and 'The Runner' are highlights on this terrific album
  58. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Arizona is one of the best songs I have ever heard, just one of the many highlights on this album. Big change in the kings sound in this album but it works perfectly.
  59. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Because Of The Times is a great album. The Sound of it all sounds so much more unique from their previous albums. Caleb's voice has definitely matured. So many amazing tracks. The album starts off with the slow-burning "Knocked Up" which is just a great song to kick off the album with. "Charmer" is a really playful song. Caleb's yell catches your attention quick. "On Call", "My Party",Because Of The Times is a great album. The Sound of it all sounds so much more unique from their previous albums. Caleb's voice has definitely matured. So many amazing tracks. The album starts off with the slow-burning "Knocked Up" which is just a great song to kick off the album with. "Charmer" is a really playful song. Caleb's yell catches your attention quick. "On Call", "My Party", and "Ragoo" are all wonderful songs. All In All, "Because Of The Times" is The Kings Of Leon's second best album. A- Expand
  60. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    The Kings of Leon keep the quality levels high on their 3rd record. A clear move from alternative guitar rock to heavier stadium rock can be heard here - this record is full of rock and it's the first time on a KOL record that you can hear the songs being fit for huge stadiums. The tunes are excellent on this and this rightly propelled the band to massive stardom. I still prefer Aha ShakeThe Kings of Leon keep the quality levels high on their 3rd record. A clear move from alternative guitar rock to heavier stadium rock can be heard here - this record is full of rock and it's the first time on a KOL record that you can hear the songs being fit for huge stadiums. The tunes are excellent on this and this rightly propelled the band to massive stardom. I still prefer Aha Shake Heartbreak as an album but this is a close second. Expand
  61. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    Without doubt kings of Leon's best piece of work. The album kicks off with the epic knocked up, seven and half minutes of jaw dropping music. This album blends kings of Leon's new massive sound with their old southern roots. A great album from start to finish.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. If less accessible on first hearing than its predecessors, the result is an epic wide-screen movie of a CD and the band's best to date.
  2. Although it's stylistically diverse, the album feels coherent.
  3. Kings of Leon often seem torn between their stadium rawk impulses and their hip underground aspirations.