Because Of You

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: May 1, 2007
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LukeM
    May 5, 2007
    The first three tracks are just beautiful. The rest of it loses the Michael Jackson vibe, which is too bad, but it's still solid r&b.
  2. MyUziWeightsATon
    May 3, 2007
    Ne-Yo is one of the onliest RnB artist that STILL make good music,
  3. LenaW
    May 2, 2007
    this album is pretty boring. I had high expectations due to Ne-Yo's debut. there are 4 good tracks on this album. But 4 out of 12 tracks. that's not so good.
  4. JosephA
    Apr 30, 2007
    Better than good. "Because of You" steps up everything that made "In My Own Words" a winner. It's more confident, adventurous, and personal with an over abundance of melody and harmony to keep it going strong througout the entire album.
  5. ChrisF
    May 7, 2007
    This album is funky fresh. Neyo has a good voice and every song you can groove to. No he is not MJ or Prince but he doesn't have to be to really enjoy his music and his sound.
  6. KirbyD
    May 7, 2007
    Excellent, although not as immediate as "In My Own Words". Now however I can't stop listening to it. It's loaded with tons of melodic and harmonic hooks. Great follow up.
  7. JeffN.
    May 10, 2007
  8. GershwinH.
    Jun 24, 2007
    Love the album!Not only do the songs pay tribute to the music legends(MJ & Prince) but their also touch our souls.Tracks like Do You & Make It Work.Because Of You is written beautifully which you cant take away and each song will take you back if you listen to the words.Love this album cant wait for the next
  9. RainR
    May 19, 2007
    "Because of you" is a superb track! I prefer this one more than "So Sick" or "Sexy Love".. it gives a different feel..

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    The album is an unmistakable attempt to channel [Michael] Jackson's early Quncy Jones-helmed LPs--and the effort often pays off beautifully. [27 Apr 2007, p.139]
  2. The album is almost identical to Ne-Yo's promising debut, last year's In My Own Words, but, while it starts off strong with the thumping yet melodic title track, nothing here matches the smooth pop of "So Sick" and "Sexy Love," and there are at least two other young stars out there doing the MJ thing better.
  3. A likable little album.