Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Dec 16, 2013
    60
    Tracks still miss on occasions, and Glover writes with such self-awareness that the listener can regard him as a full-of-himself show-off, someone who believes he deserves musical success just because he’s achieved it in television.
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    Even though Because The Internet is kind of strange and kind of a bummer, it does show Glover’s range as a musician.
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    Gambino is observant and often funny, and his loose-limbed flow can sting.
  4. 60
    The results are intriguing, occasionally frustrating, rarely boring.
  5. Dec 12, 2013
    58
    Because the Internet is a nobly expansive attempt at plumbing the catacombs of social media for meaning and exploring the gap between the performative avatars we present as our online selves and the offline realities of our lives, but like the Twitter hounds and comment section warriors it speaks to and about, it could ultimately do well with a little less multitasking.
  6. 50
    Because The Internet is just a giant non-sequitur, a pop culture gag reel that relies a little too heavily on flippancy to ring true.
  7. 50
    Because the Internet, like Camp before it, fails to bring the sparkle that Glover has displayed in his comedy writing to his music; where his debut was crude, cartoonish and silly, this effort is faux-reflective, misguided and ultimately collapses under the weight of a concept that’s almost impossible to make sense of.
  8. Jan 28, 2014
    40
    This is a luxurious but ultimately hollow Faberge egg of a record. [Feb 2014, p.121]
  9. Dec 9, 2013
    40
    Bloated with all manner of interstitial suites and assorted skit-like stopgaps, the 19-track Because the Internet could serviceably represent the titular web Glover finds so perplexing.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 5 out of 50
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Everything about this album, makes this undeniably one of the best albums of the year. The amount of improvement Donald has made isEverything about this album, makes this undeniably one of the best albums of the year. The amount of improvement Donald has made is unbelievably amazing and inspiring, especially considering he is a more of an independent artist. The beats are all different and unique, his lyrics and flow are spot on, and the mind blowing screenplay and story of this whole album is astonishing. Hip Hop has new, better and wider boundaries now, thanks to the Boy. Full Review »
  2. Dec 15, 2013
    1
    Sounds like any other modern rap artist. How about some Innovation? Beats that create an empty sound and bore me to death. His flow is OK, butSounds like any other modern rap artist. How about some Innovation? Beats that create an empty sound and bore me to death. His flow is OK, but becomes choppy at certain times. Full Review »
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    Phenomenal. Please just give it a listen with an open mind. Lots of critics had really biased reviews, and barely even talked about the music.Phenomenal. Please just give it a listen with an open mind. Lots of critics had really biased reviews, and barely even talked about the music. I wasn't a big fan of Camp, but Royalty got my attention. Then 'Bino dropped this quality, and innovating album which blew my mind. Amazing. Full Review »