Because the Internet - Childish Gambino
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 149

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Everything about this album, makes this undeniably one of the best albums of the year. The amount of improvement Donald has made is unbelievably amazing and inspiring, especially considering he is a more of an independent artist. The beats are all different and unique, his lyrics and flow are spot on, and the mind blowing screenplay and story of this whole album is astonishing. Hip Hop has new, better and wider boundaries now, thanks to the Boy. Expand
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    I think Donald has created a very involved project. I love the songs, his production across this entire record is impressive. I thought the addition of this fake "rapper rich kid/drug dealer" character was refreshing. It's a different take on a concept album, and if you enjoy the screenplay and movies he's created then you will love the album much more. Amazing work from Gambino. I love the whole vibe. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    Honestly i loved camp, but this blows it out of the water overall. From the beginning to the end Gambino keeps you engaged with his unique flow and versatile singing. i'm to lazy to go into a lot of detail just know that the album is great and shows growth and a sense of experimentation. It's as if boredom is something Gambino must avoid at all cost.
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    Phenomenal. Please just give it a listen with an open mind. Lots of critics had really biased reviews, and barely even talked about the music. I wasn't a big fan of Camp, but Royalty got my attention. Then 'Bino dropped this quality, and innovating album which blew my mind. Amazing.
  5. N10
    Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Donald Glover, or as he goes by the stage name of Childish Gambino is an actor, writer and comedian, whom a couple years back did release some tape's and also the great debut album "Camp" in 2011. Bino has since then left the huge sitcom serie "Community" and been having the major focus on his "newly" and progressing rap career. He is definitely one of the better with transitions from an actor/comedian/writer to a rapper, if not the best one out there know.

    He is known for his wittiness, wordplays, multiple flows, hilarious punch lines and "realness" as a rapper. As his debut had a sound it followed especially,"because of the internet" throws in a bit of every other genre outside hip hop and mixes it in to what this album sonically sounds as. It's a pretty cohesive record, musically something I've not heared quite like, a breath off fresh air with fun and dark themes over this project. Rich and creepy (the latter half) production by the two behind the boards (Ludwig Göransson, Childish Gambino), catchy hooks and really well written and constructed songs, one of the best albums to come this year, if not, the.

    For every track that goes by the beats starts getting really experimental with a lot of flavor of everything, and with the heavy instrumentals on songs like "zealots of stockholm" I can't help to nod my head.

    A year where rap (mainstream) music has been failing and disappointing me with albums such as Kanye's "Yeezus" and Drake's "Nothing Was The Same" for an example, it just sounded too much for me, just going out there to make different records and not very good ones. As much as Kanye brought some new to the mainstream, it's not like I haven't heared it on a Death Grips album and with Drake far as he goes, he's song writing was the better with the album while his rapping was lacking (people hailed him as a rapper on this thing, personally a much more complete rapper on Take Care, still appreciate what he strives and try going for), their production mostly was on point and great, lyrically it was their biggest gap and did not make them albums any further better with that. Why I refer these two, well, their albums where the most acclaimed, but just not so much with me. Ain't no so to say, I loved their precursor.

    This project is and will be underrated for some reason by critics (at least with these days to come), but, this will be the album we "I" will look back to in a couple of years from know and be like "uh, ish dope and original to it's box". One of the most exciting and interesting records I've heared in this past decade or so.

    Bino is the best rapper out there to sing and the best singer to rap, OUT, period!
    Great artist, "because the internet" is a damn near flawless album. Support.

    Fella need a nap, maybe a longer and track-by-track later on.
    Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Great album. Because the Internet is my favorite album of 2013, along with Acid Rap (Chance the Rapper). This album is great by itself, but if you listen to it with the screenplay (it can be found at becausetheinter.net), it takes everything to a different level of amazing.
  7. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Because the Internet takes the best from Culdesac, Camp, and Royalty is puts them all together to create one of the most engaging and emotional music experiences of the year. Fans that know Gambino only from Camp will not have as enjoyable and rewarding of an experience because they don't know the 'true' Gambino, that being his 'real' lyrics and dark emotional overtones in his songs of past such as Be Alone or The Last (still my personal favorite). To further enjoy BTI, one most read his interactive BTI Script that is online. I'll admit, I just liked BTI until I read the screenplay penned for the album. Now I see how it is one of the most engrossing musical experience I've ever had. Gambino is changing the game, people just can't seem to take notice of it. Expand
  8. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. From the music to the storyline it is an all around 10. Donald Glover has created THE most creative rollout for an album. Take the time to watch the short film, Clapping for the Wrong Reasons, watch some pre album interviews, then read the full screenplay on becausetheinter.net. This is how the artist intended on people to listen to his album. He has stated many times he isn't just a rapper. He doesn't want to be labeled that. Before you go and hate on this album do some research. This is my favorite album that has been released this year, beating Yeezus. Go out and check out the deluxe physical. It's really nice. Expand
  9. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    Childish Gambino really shows how much he's improved with this album. From his flow to his lyrics, it's a vast improvement that is instantly seen by comparison to some of his debut albums and even Camp. It's got real lyrics, sick beats (some comparable to Royalty), and still manages to keep some of his good one-liners. The accompanied screenplay is also a great bonus. Definitely one of the best albums of 2013. Expand
  10. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This is my favorite album of the year. Gambino really improved upon his singing and U can hear the Kanye influence. I also hear a bit Maxwell, Frank Ocean, and Andre 3000 too. But the fact is this is the album of the year. He took Kanye, Frank, and whatever other influences you hear and IMPROVED upon it. He has the innovative sound of Yeezus, with the catchiness of Frank Ocean and it still sounds original. He even wrote a screenplay for the album so it all makes sense.

    People think it's cool to hate Gambino and I even read a review that talked nothing about the music and all about Donald as a person.(I'm looking at you Consequence of Sound) But you can't deny he had one of the most imaginative roll outs ever. He literally created his own world for the album.

    The perks of being a multi-talent.
    Expand
  11. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    This is the best album Donald Glover has ever made and is one of the most unique and fascinating albums of the year. It's a hip-hop album the way Radiohead's Kid A is a rock album.
  12. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    love this album...wasnt expecting much from this...i had only seen his acting but this is def one of my favorite rap albums of the year. Shadows, 3005, sweatpants, worldstar, all dope songs
  13. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    Gambino redefines rap with his new hit album. It intertwines with his written story that becomes a rap masterpiece. He mixes his comedic genius with deep emotional lyrics to become a rapper for the ages. Gambino somehow outdoes himself with this legend of rap that is so new and unique that you can't hate it. Childish Gambino's "Because the Internet" will be remembered in the world of rap for a long time. I can't wait to see what he does next. Expand
  14. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Donald Glover has revolutionized concept albums with Because The Internet. Along with literally living out the character of "The Boy" that the story of this album is based on for the past year, having brief "skits" in some tracks to add to the realism of The Boy's life, and completely capturing the timid, anxious, and sporadic personality of the boy; he also wrote a 72 page interactive online screenplay to go along with the album. Safe to say a skit about Domino's pizza has nothing on this man's creative authority. The production on this album is much improved and very inventive compared to the typical trap beats heard on the radio. "Crawl" not only features an incredibly well done beat, but an addictive chorus and an eerie vibe. "WorldStar" captures the instantaneous coverage and media overload that we encounter on the web every day in this generation. "Sweatpants" has one of the best "textbook" flows of any song I've heard in the past few years in hip hop, along with songs like "No Exits" expanding the creative side of rap, and almost giving a dazed acid washed vision of being infatuated and afraid of yourself and your immediate surroundings. The last song I'd like to touch on is "Flight of the Navigator"; it is truly one of the most beautiful songs and sends me to a meadow on some perfect world, with friends, drinks, and truly a deep happiness burning inside of me. Every song on this album is a gem, but I'd recommend for anyone who wants to branch out of their usual brand of hip hop, or any genre truly, to check out this album. Expand
  15. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    This is a very amazing album. It is pretty experimental, and it's an acquired taste. But this is definitely one of my favorite albums of the year. And the content is just so relateable and deep. The internet seems to hate Gambino strictly because of "Camp." But this is a monster improvement. I love this album, and most people that respect art and good music, will like this too.
  16. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    One of the most creative experiences I've had the pleasure to witness in a while. He's created a whole world centered around "The Boy" that rests on the aura of spectacular creativity. The album itself is amazing. When you add in the screenplay as well as his short film "Clapping for the Wrong Reasons" to the equation, you start to connect this long woven and complex thread that makes your brain wonder how something this genius could be created. Expand
  17. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Great conceptual work. Because the Internet is such a personal album but it has the power to reach great highs when understood. It may try patience... but we're rewarded after all.
  18. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums I've heard this year. Don't listen to the critics, they talk a lot of BS. My favorite song on this album is "The Worst Guys".....
  19. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    This has to be my favorite album of this year because he took a concept that we all know and made it different and succeeded .For me, the album didn't have any skipable tracks which was a surprise because in every album I have listen to this year had skipable tracks, but this didn't. Gambino has been called a water down Drake but if you think about it he has better wordplay then drake ,he also can sing better then Drake. Beats in this album are fantastic and mesmerizing if this album was just beats ,this album would have the same outcome with me because they are that good., Overall this album is better then his previous project and is a most hear for everybody for hip hop heads and no hip hop heads Expand
  20. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    CG made a huge leap forward with this album. I find that Because the Internet sounds better after watching Clapping for the Wrong Reasons and reading the screenplay. It's very creative and top tier!
  21. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    I have been non stop playing this album. You take something more away from it every time, and that is the point where this project shines through as amazing. The attention to detail with wordplay and symbolism is nothing short of brilliant. I need not talk about the innovative and creative production, with tracks like Telegraph Ave, Zealots of Stockholm, No Exit, and Crawl instilling raw emotion in the listener. Gambino has stepped his game up, and it says something that this is the first album I ever listened to that gave me chills at the end. There is a bit of controversy about a screenplay being written for this album. Do not read the script. This album is about having an experience and not being force fed all of the information. This is a flawless project and this proves Gambino as more than just a punch line rapper. Expand
  22. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    Because The Internet sees Glover finally putting everything he's learned from making EP, Camp, & Royalty into one great big experimental package. He's finally comfortable with his technical rapping abilities and (with the help of others) his beat making abilities. The script adds another element to the album that I love because after you read it, every time you play the album it's like having visuals in your head. The only downfall to the album is that without the script it's hard to really follow the story. Expand
  23. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    i appreciate everything about this album and Donald himself- the immense effort and honesty put into this album. Everything is relatable to your life and not just if you're a celebrity. I believe that was the whole point about his Instragram posts. It might need a couple of times to listen too, since it's an experimental and personal album, but you will end up appreciating it as art, not just music. This album could be the next step in the right direction for a crumbling music industry. This album could definitely be the next level as music is concerned, and definitely in the genre of rap. Also, the flow and lyrics showcased on several tracks, including Zealots of Stockholm and Sweatpants proves undeniable mastery and brilliance added to an album that tells a wonderful, brutally true story. The clapping for the wrong reasons short film and screenplay shows a true sense of ambition, in which i admire and respect. Forever my favorite album and artist. Give this a lesson. Please. Expand
  24. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    This album is amazing it is filled with well produced instrumentals to the songs Gambino also dabbles into some new flows with this album that he delivered very well, the features (Problem, Chance the Rapper, Jhene Aiko) are on point. But the best way to listen to the album and get a full understanding and visual of what he's saying read the script, becausetheinter.net
  25. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    This album deserves to be in the conservation as one of the best Hip-Hop/Rap albums of the year, but in many ways it is more than that. There is a true authentic voice within the music, something that many rap artists lack these days. Even though it may not be your typical "hardcore" authenticity, it is still his true take on life at the current moment. Musically, it brings a heavier flavor then Camp and the beats are similar to that of Royalty. The punchlines that make him unique are still there, but the tone has gone down a more serious route. Although the music is great, the way he ties the album to the 72-page screenplay is incredible. He entranced me with the beats into the "the boy's" point of view and how lost he felt throughout the story.

    Cant Miss Tracks: Telegraph Ave., Flight of the Navigator
    Expand
  26. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    I don't listen to a lot of Hip-Hop/Rap but this guy is seriously talented. This album is amazing. The lyrics and flow of his raps are miles above most mainstream rap artists today. The production is slick and clean and the songs have twists and turns you would not expect to fit, yet they do. This album is a rap masterpiece in my opinion and I'm excited to see where he goes next.
  27. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    Greatest concept album to date. My advice is to read the screenplay while listening to the album, really creates an experience to remember. Combines everything good about Yeezus with everything good about Chanel Orange. Simply amazing experience. There is definitely a song on this album for everyone.
  28. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    Gambino continues to grow and impress with his newest album. Rap typically isn't too appealing, but Gambino makes me listen because he wants to make a point. There's always something a little deeper on every song. Definitely one of the strongest albums of the year.
  29. Jan 15, 2014
    10
    Every track on this album is truly amazing and original. The multi talented Glover comes through on this album with amazing production quality. Like truly beautiful stuff here. The song "3005" is probably getting the most buzz around. Even getting some radio play, which is a little odd for Gambino's music. Some of my favorite tracks on the album are: Zealots of Stockholm, Crawl, The Party, and Pink Toes. He also got some great features on this album. People like Chance the Rapper and Jhene Aiko. All and all this is one of my favorite albums of 2013 Expand
  30. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    this album is years beyond todays music. not only is the concept something so innovative and REAL, but something that makes you think. It makes you think about the internet..something we all use and has integrated its way into all of our lives and our world. On top of that, he is a great rapper with incredible beats and perfectly fit production. This is an album that will stay one of my personal favorites Expand
  31. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    Progress alone this album is a dope. The effort is there, the innovation is there and the elevation swag for lack of a better term is on point. A little emo, a little swag, and actual real words and thoughts make it awesome. Doors left open
  32. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    My favorite album of 2013 !
    This album is so deep, it has so many layers. At first I didn't like it THAT much, but the more you get into it, the more you dig into the stories and the more you understand the lyrics the better it gets.
    The instrumentals are awesome and so divers, his lyrics and flow are great, and despite what others say, I really like the singing on this album.
    Fav.
    Songs:
    1. Life: The Biggest Troll
    2. Telegraph Ave.
    3. ... what am I doing? All of the songs are amazing !
    ( watch the review Dead End Hip Hop did for this album! )
    Expand
  33. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    One of the better albums out there. This was an experimental album, but he delivered, and covered different types of hip hop. The end of the album is very experimental, but follows through with the overall theme that Gambino delivers throughout the whole album. If you only like listening to some songs and not the whole album straight through, I recommend 3005, The Other Guys, Sweatpants, and Telegraph Rd. Overall, this album is a beautiful piece of artwork, and if you can see him live, I HIGHLY recommend it. One of the best live performers out there. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Jan 28, 2014
    40
    This is a luxurious but ultimately hollow Faberge egg of a record. [Feb 2014, p.121]
  2. Jan 8, 2014
    70
    Because The Internet stands on its own musically. The project undoubtedly stands much taller when put in context of all the additional material released in order to create something bigger. [Dec 2013/Jan 2014, p.89]
  3. Jan 3, 2014
    70
    As a concept album on man's most abstract concept, Because the Internet is more than worth the download.