Because the Internet - Childish Gambino
Because the Internet Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 153 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length studio release for actor/rapper Donald Glover as Childish Gambino features guest appearances from Jhene Aiko, Azealia Banks, and Chance the Rapper.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    80
    Because The Internet shows off his full array of talent (writer, musician, comedian) and makes him stand out from the rest.
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    80
    He hasn't quite perfected his talents, but it's far and away the best work he's done as Gambino yet.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    75
    The surrounding flutter of puzzle pieces adds depth, but the record still stands on its own as a bold statement on modern life and the cold distance technology places between human relationships.
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    67
    Because The Internet finally shows that Donald Glover is serious about his music, and he’s willing to take some chances to make sure that Childish Gambino can grow as an artist.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    Even though Because The Internet is kind of strange and kind of a bummer, it does show Glover’s range as a musician.
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    58
    Because the Internet is a nobly expansive attempt at plumbing the catacombs of social media for meaning and exploring the gap between the performative avatars we present as our online selves and the offline realities of our lives, but like the Twitter hounds and comment section warriors it speaks to and about, it could ultimately do well with a little less multitasking.
  7. Dec 10, 2013
    20
    Maybe the entire album is a meme itself, a grand existential joke critiquing the all-conquering rise of Internet culture by parodying its overwhelming randomness. Whatever it is, though, it's a bad rap record.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Everything about this album, makes this undeniably one of the best albums of the year. The amount of improvement Donald has made is unbelievably amazing and inspiring, especially considering he is a more of an independent artist. The beats are all different and unique, his lyrics and flow are spot on, and the mind blowing screenplay and story of this whole album is astonishing. Hip Hop has new, better and wider boundaries now, thanks to the Boy. Expand
  2. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    One of the better albums out there. This was an experimental album, but he delivered, and covered different types of hip hop. The end of the album is very experimental, but follows through with the overall theme that Gambino delivers throughout the whole album. If you only like listening to some songs and not the whole album straight through, I recommend 3005, The Other Guys, Sweatpants, and Telegraph Rd. Overall, this album is a beautiful piece of artwork, and if you can see him live, I HIGHLY recommend it. One of the best live performers out there. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    CG made a huge leap forward with this album. I find that Because the Internet sounds better after watching Clapping for the Wrong Reasons and reading the screenplay. It's very creative and top tier! Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. From the music to the storyline it is an all around 10. Donald Glover has created THE most creative rollout for an album. Take the time to watch the short film, Clapping for the Wrong Reasons, watch some pre album interviews, then read the full screenplay on becausetheinter.net. This is how the artist intended on people to listen to his album. He has stated many times he isn't just a rapper. He doesn't want to be labeled that. Before you go and hate on this album do some research. This is my favorite album that has been released this year, beating Yeezus. Go out and check out the deluxe physical. It's really nice. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    Because The Internet sees Glover finally putting everything he's learned from making EP, Camp, & Royalty into one great big experimental package. He's finally comfortable with his technical rapping abilities and (with the help of others) his beat making abilities. The script adds another element to the album that I love because after you read it, every time you play the album it's like having visuals in your head. The only downfall to the album is that without the script it's hard to really follow the story. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    This is a very amazing album. It is pretty experimental, and it's an acquired taste. But this is definitely one of my favorite albums of the year. And the content is just so relateable and deep. The internet seems to hate Gambino strictly because of "Camp." But this is a monster improvement. I love this album, and most people that respect art and good music, will like this too. Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    1
    Sounds like any other modern rap artist. How about some Innovation? Beats that create an empty sound and bore me to death. His flow is OK, but becomes choppy at certain times. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews