Because the Internet Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length studio release for actor/rapper Donald Glover as Childish Gambino features guest appearances from Jhene Aiko, Azealia Banks, and Chance the Rapper.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Dec 17, 2013
    80
    Because The Internet shows off his full array of talent (writer, musician, comedian) and makes him stand out from the rest.
  2. Dec 10, 2013
    80
    He hasn't quite perfected his talents, but it's far and away the best work he's done as Gambino yet.
  3. Dec 30, 2013
    75
    The surrounding flutter of puzzle pieces adds depth, but the record still stands on its own as a bold statement on modern life and the cold distance technology places between human relationships.
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    67
    Because The Internet finally shows that Donald Glover is serious about his music, and he’s willing to take some chances to make sure that Childish Gambino can grow as an artist.
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    60
    Even though Because The Internet is kind of strange and kind of a bummer, it does show Glover’s range as a musician.
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    58
    Because the Internet is a nobly expansive attempt at plumbing the catacombs of social media for meaning and exploring the gap between the performative avatars we present as our online selves and the offline realities of our lives, but like the Twitter hounds and comment section warriors it speaks to and about, it could ultimately do well with a little less multitasking.
  7. Dec 10, 2013
    20
    Maybe the entire album is a meme itself, a grand existential joke critiquing the all-conquering rise of Internet culture by parodying its overwhelming randomness. Whatever it is, though, it's a bad rap record.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 5 out of 51
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Everything about this album, makes this undeniably one of the best albums of the year. The amount of improvement Donald has made isEverything about this album, makes this undeniably one of the best albums of the year. The amount of improvement Donald has made is unbelievably amazing and inspiring, especially considering he is a more of an independent artist. The beats are all different and unique, his lyrics and flow are spot on, and the mind blowing screenplay and story of this whole album is astonishing. Hip Hop has new, better and wider boundaries now, thanks to the Boy. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    i appreciate everything about this album and Donald himself- the immense effort and honesty put into this album. Everything is relatable toi appreciate everything about this album and Donald himself- the immense effort and honesty put into this album. Everything is relatable to your life and not just if you're a celebrity. I believe that was the whole point about his Instragram posts. It might need a couple of times to listen too, since it's an experimental and personal album, but you will end up appreciating it as art, not just music. This album could be the next step in the right direction for a crumbling music industry. This album could definitely be the next level as music is concerned, and definitely in the genre of rap. Also, the flow and lyrics showcased on several tracks, including Zealots of Stockholm and Sweatpants proves undeniable mastery and brilliance added to an album that tells a wonderful, brutally true story. The clapping for the wrong reasons short film and screenplay shows a true sense of ambition, in which i admire and respect. Forever my favorite album and artist. Give this a lesson. Please. Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Because the Internet takes the best from Culdesac, Camp, and Royalty is puts them all together to create one of the most engaging andBecause the Internet takes the best from Culdesac, Camp, and Royalty is puts them all together to create one of the most engaging and emotional music experiences of the year. Fans that know Gambino only from Camp will not have as enjoyable and rewarding of an experience because they don't know the 'true' Gambino, that being his 'real' lyrics and dark emotional overtones in his songs of past such as Be Alone or The Last (still my personal favorite). To further enjoy BTI, one most read his interactive BTI Script that is online. I'll admit, I just liked BTI until I read the screenplay penned for the album. Now I see how it is one of the most engrossing musical experience I've ever had. Gambino is changing the game, people just can't seem to take notice of it. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    9
    Gambino continues to grow and impress with his newest album. Rap typically isn't too appealing, but Gambino makes me listen because he wantsGambino continues to grow and impress with his newest album. Rap typically isn't too appealing, but Gambino makes me listen because he wants to make a point. There's always something a little deeper on every song. Definitely one of the strongest albums of the year. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    9
    Honestly i loved camp, but this blows it out of the water overall. From the beginning to the end Gambino keeps you engaged with his uniqueHonestly i loved camp, but this blows it out of the water overall. From the beginning to the end Gambino keeps you engaged with his unique flow and versatile singing. i'm to lazy to go into a lot of detail just know that the album is great and shows growth and a sense of experimentation. It's as if boredom is something Gambino must avoid at all cost. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2014
    8
    A rather mysterious, yet relatable album from Gambino. He's done it again, with cool beats, strange vibes, and even stranger lyrics. I loveA rather mysterious, yet relatable album from Gambino. He's done it again, with cool beats, strange vibes, and even stranger lyrics. I love it. An overall great album from an overall great rapper, actor, and comedian. (favorite songs: 3005, The Crawl, Sweatpants) Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2013
    1
    Sounds like any other modern rap artist. How about some Innovation? Beats that create an empty sound and bore me to death. His flow is OK, butSounds like any other modern rap artist. How about some Innovation? Beats that create an empty sound and bore me to death. His flow is OK, but becomes choppy at certain times. Collapse

See all 51 User Reviews