Before I Self Destruct

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 76
  2. Negative: 14 out of 76

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 22, 2015
    8
    After a boring album, 50 returns in is 2003's prime with Before I self destruct. He comes back to his aggressiveness and explosive rhymes on the mic and seems to polish it off with dope beats and a retrieved ability to let loose the animal inside him. Death to my enemies and Psycho are highlights of the album.
  2. Nov 23, 2014
    10
    Great album.So many great songs.The only song I didn't like is could have been you.In my opinion there should have been some other song rather than that.
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    Its a shame the album only sold how much it did because this album is lyrically one of 50 cents best albums Best songs are The Invitation, death to my enemies, stretch and Pyscho.. Worst are get it hot gangsta delight
  4. ValeriyS
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    I do think that it is the best thing he did except brilliant Massacre, and among the best rap albums of this year.
  5. MichaelR
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    This album is a masterpiece showing 50 cent's true potential and writing and lyrical ability. He is more aggressive harder and lyrical. With the song Gangsta's Delight, So Disrespectful, Death to my Enemies, Psycho, Strong Enough, Get It Hot, Ok, You're right. Showing the darker and more lyrical side of 50 cent the you would of seen back when he made Get Rich or, Die This album is a masterpiece showing 50 cent's true potential and writing and lyrical ability. He is more aggressive harder and lyrical. With the song Gangsta's Delight, So Disrespectful, Death to my Enemies, Psycho, Strong Enough, Get It Hot, Ok, You're right. Showing the darker and more lyrical side of 50 cent the you would of seen back when he made Get Rich or, Die Trying. The Best songs on the cd would have to be So Disrespectful, Gangsta's Delight, Psycho, and Death to My Enemies bringing out the best of 50 cent we have ever seen. Expand
  6. RyanK
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    I think this album has to be hip hop album of the year along with Raekwon's OB4CL2 this album is his best since get rich or die tryin. but the massacre is also a good record curtis is horrible. but every song on this album is top notch production is top class and 50 is back with his witty lyrics the critics just dont get the concept of the album. but there are 2 weak songs such asI think this album has to be hip hop album of the year along with Raekwon's OB4CL2 this album is his best since get rich or die tryin. but the massacre is also a good record curtis is horrible. but every song on this album is top notch production is top class and 50 is back with his witty lyrics the critics just dont get the concept of the album. but there are 2 weak songs such as Baby by me & couldve been you with r kelly.i also think this album shudda sold more in its first week not 150k. its a very good album a must buy! Expand
  7. GarzaBlood
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    The Album is sick!! The sound quality is state of the art and the Instrumentals are banging. I also like the Idea that he disses Jay Z. Overall Great Album!! Yes I am from the West Coast!! Diego City that is.
  8. Dmeoine
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    This album is hotter than get rich or die trying the critics are hating just like they did relapse.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. His rhyme battle with Eminem on 'Psycho' has zero redeeming value, but the two old pros fire away with glee trying to out-psychopath each other. But about halfway through the album, 50 Cent detours from the street to the bedroom.
  2. Growling violent threats over hard beats, 50 sounds the hungriest he has in years. Of course, there’s nothing remotely original about the formula he’s returning to, but at least he’s going through the motions with gusto.
  3. After initially promising a return to form, 50 doesn't have the ability or initiative to hold the listener's interest over the long run.