• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Before The Dawn Heals Us Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The French electronica outfit (now down to a single member, Anthony Gonzalez) return with a follow-up to their much-loved 2003 breakthrough, 'Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. [A] sublime soundtrack to dancing in the moonlight. [21 Jan 2005, p.88]
  2. The inclusion of organic instruments really takes M83's keyboard-based material to the next level. [#8, p.107]
  3. This is a mammoth collusion of synth gasps and distorted swirls, darker and more urban than its meadow-bound predecessor.
  4. Like 2003’s Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts, Before the Dawn is commendable for its almost obsessive attention to detail that has produced a collection of gorgeously layered and dense songs without ever sounding laboured.
  5. There are several songs on the release that are easily among the best that the group has ever done, but by the time the 15 tracks and well over an hour run length are over, the release feels a bit on the long side and many of the shorter tracks simply feel like sketches that weren't fully fleshed-out.
  6. Admittedly, there are some notable missteps, but nothing as to suggest irrevocable damage to the album's sheen.
  7. Although M83's ambitions are often great, there is a problem here: Before The Dawn often drags its feet. [Mar 2005, p.138]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    best album everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
  2. android
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    awesome stuff.
  3. TylerD
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    M83's Before the Dawn Heals Us is, in a nutshell, brilliant. I haven't heard Dead Cities and I already love the band. I'm M83's Before the Dawn Heals Us is, in a nutshell, brilliant. I haven't heard Dead Cities and I already love the band. I'm really looking forward to hearing more. But for now, Before the Dawn Heals Us is filling my M83-hearing need just fine. One of the greatest albums I've ever heard. Expand
  4. teds.
    Jan 23, 2005
    9
    An awesome mix of shoegaze and space rock. Best electronic music ever since Air's 10.000 Hz Legend.
  5. Mark
    Jan 29, 2005
    9
    A little Pink Floyd with some Air and some Dead cities in between and you have a nice follow up.
  6. PinkRock
    Jan 28, 2005
    9
    The inclusion of vocals and live instruments on this release takes M83 to the next level. M83 have grown leaps and bounds in comparison to The inclusion of vocals and live instruments on this release takes M83 to the next level. M83 have grown leaps and bounds in comparison to their first release, M83, in 2002. If "Dead Cities, Red Seas, and Lost Ghosts" was their "Soft Bulletin", then "Before the Dawn Heals Us" is their "Yoshimi". Simply wonderous and amazing. Expand
  7. tom
    Jan 28, 2005
    5
    I personally can't seem to give the credit to them. They are so heavily influenced by My Bloody Valentine that it would be quite unfair I personally can't seem to give the credit to them. They are so heavily influenced by My Bloody Valentine that it would be quite unfair to praise them for just taking other's ideas to electronics and releasing it. Sorry, it's either hook or crook and I must say this is the latter of the two. Collapse

See all 15 User Reviews