Believe - Justin Bieber
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    88
    It might be the year's most beautifully sung recording.
  2. 83
    It's a prime showcase for his new voice and burgeoning mettle, proving that Bieber isn't just maturing, he's evolving.
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    The beats here are deft as well as driving. Surprisingly, EDM stylings such as the juddering bassline of As Long As You Love Me work well with his plaintive and still unmistakeably teenage voice.
  4. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Believe has enough strong material to keep most of the followers satisfied for another year, while elders should feel relieved that nothing is as sickly sweet as "Baby."
  5. Jun 15, 2012
    80
    Justin Bieber's new album not only finds him becoming an artist for adults on his own terms, but showcasing impressively distinctive tones and translating an innate charisma across many styles.
  6. Jun 15, 2012
    74
    Overall, Believe sinks its tendrils into the listener's brain by riding the dance music phenomenon and offering some whizz-bang production alongside Bieber's sticky-sweet singing voice.
  7. 70
    Believe doesn't always live up to the standards of its best cuts.
  8. Jun 26, 2012
    67
    Believe is most appealing when Bieber either emulates his mentor Usher-on dance-R&B tracks like "Boyfriend" (which remains one of 2012's best pop singles) or the slinky deluxe-edition track "Out Of Town Girl"-or plays to his basest, and best, pop instincts, like the aforementioned Jackson-aping "Die In Your Arms" or the Diplo-assisted head-rush "Thought Of You."
  9. Jul 9, 2012
    60
    A mostly harmless exercise in selling records.
  10. Jun 21, 2012
    60
    The more aggressive bangers are effective, though Bieber gets eclipsed by everything else going on in the tracks.
  11. Jun 15, 2012
    60
    His gently sparkling persona can get overwhelmed by all the sonic gear-switching, technological tomfoolery and sweaty come-ons; it can all feel a bit rushed.
  12. Jun 22, 2012
    50
    Though his new voice has the rambunctiousness that pubescence assumes, it's also marked with the timorousness that's less often celebrated, but equally omnipresent among vocalists trying to figure out the limits of their new range.
  13. Jun 20, 2012
    40
    Lyrical awkwardness abounds.
  14. 40
    The blandness of the R&B pop-soul arrangements simply throws attention on to the repetitive narrowness of Bieber's delivery.
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 357 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 100
  2. Negative: 28 out of 100
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Bieber's second album does not disappoint. He showed immense growth with this album. The songs are very mature and the quality is very goodBieber's second album does not disappoint. He showed immense growth with this album. The songs are very mature and the quality is very good aswell. This album is going to convert so many haters into fans, or even beliebers. It's a pop album with heavy influences of R&B and Hip-Hop. Best songs would be "Die In Your Arms", "Maria" & "Right Here". Full Review »
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    1
    how are people talking about how hard he worked? he doesn't play a single instrument? i gave this album a listen, to see if he washow are people talking about how hard he worked? he doesn't play a single instrument? i gave this album a listen, to see if he was progressing. this is the usual pop slop that shoots out of the pop industry and into spoon-fed hands. the usual producers, the usual beats, just aiming for financial excess. how hard he worked? please. even under the songwriting credits, he has 3-6 additional writers per song. this kid is 18 years old, and big ups to him for the success he has accumulated, but this is no masterpiece. this is not hard work. reading the '10' reviews of this album is really hard to stomach. i am completely down with fun albums, the dancefloor, what have you. but this album and the bieber 'sensation' just screams lifeless industry product, i.e. boring. Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    5
    Well, I decided to listen to Believe after all the positive reviews claiming that it will 'convert so many haters into fans'. It's safe to sayWell, I decided to listen to Believe after all the positive reviews claiming that it will 'convert so many haters into fans'. It's safe to say I'm more of a hater than a fan, but I objectively listened to the album, and I'm still not convinced. There is really nothing that sets this album apart from any other contemporary release in 2012; it's all standard pop gubbins and studio trickery to me. The production is nice, clean and doesn't detract from Bieber's voice too much, which was suprising. Speaking of which, Bieber's singing is nothing amazing. Maybe he can sing, but this album doesn't serve as proof for that. The lyrics are definitely a weak point of the album; some of the rhymes are just plain silly ("Chillin' by the fire while we eatin' fondue" - what?!). Overall, there ain't a lot to get excited about here. It sounds like every other chart album out there to me, but since it's a Justin Bieber, his many fans will no doubt flock to this and proclaim it 'the greatest album ever' or 'perfect'. Full Review »