• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Jun 19, 2012
User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 384 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    1
    how are people talking about how hard he worked? he doesn't play a single instrument? i gave this album a listen, to see if he was progressing. this is the usual pop slop that shoots out of the pop industry and into spoon-fed hands. the usual producers, the usual beats, just aiming for financial excess. how hard he worked? please. even under the songwriting credits, he has 3-6 additionalhow are people talking about how hard he worked? he doesn't play a single instrument? i gave this album a listen, to see if he was progressing. this is the usual pop slop that shoots out of the pop industry and into spoon-fed hands. the usual producers, the usual beats, just aiming for financial excess. how hard he worked? please. even under the songwriting credits, he has 3-6 additional writers per song. this kid is 18 years old, and big ups to him for the success he has accumulated, but this is no masterpiece. this is not hard work. reading the '10' reviews of this album is really hard to stomach. i am completely down with fun albums, the dancefloor, what have you. but this album and the bieber 'sensation' just screams lifeless industry product, i.e. boring. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Bieber's second album does not disappoint. He showed immense growth with this album. The songs are very mature and the quality is very good aswell. This album is going to convert so many haters into fans, or even beliebers. It's a pop album with heavy influences of R&B and Hip-Hop. Best songs would be "Die In Your Arms", "Maria" & "Right Here".
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    1
    Ok, I'm 17 years old and I've nothing against teenager making music, but this is almost unlistenable! There's too much autotune and he doesn't even use his falsetto well. There are a lot of boys and girls of his age that make better music, but they're less famous: go listening to Hayley Westenra's old CDs and you'll know what I mean!
  4. Jul 19, 2013
    0
    Tan linda una musica con voz de marica al frente......................................................................................................
  5. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    He is a scum of society, his "music" is an ear cancer, (s) he's very arrogant, treats fans like dirt, these teens consumers of crap, these children are girls with **** scratching with this marginal (I mean just people who believe this garbage, Idol as if it were a god), this **** Ain't Nobody's role model. This **** does not favor anything in music culture. Just to hear a song made me sickHe is a scum of society, his "music" is an ear cancer, (s) he's very arrogant, treats fans like dirt, these teens consumers of crap, these children are girls with **** scratching with this marginal (I mean just people who believe this garbage, Idol as if it were a god), this **** Ain't Nobody's role model. This **** does not favor anything in music culture. Just to hear a song made me sick and ashamed. (if this noise pollution can be considered music), is an embarrassment to 62 points, it just shows the low cultural level of the people. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2014
    0
    "Believe" me when I say Justin Bieber is a talentless loser. If not for Usher, Bieber would be working at McDonalds. Believe is Bieber's worst album to date. He gets worse and worse with age. Justin Bieber's Baby become a viral hit for being terrible just like Rebecca Black's Friday, Soulja Boy's Crank That, and Psy's Gangnam Style. Only bad songs become viral hits. Justin Bieber's 15"Believe" me when I say Justin Bieber is a talentless loser. If not for Usher, Bieber would be working at McDonalds. Believe is Bieber's worst album to date. He gets worse and worse with age. Justin Bieber's Baby become a viral hit for being terrible just like Rebecca Black's Friday, Soulja Boy's Crank That, and Psy's Gangnam Style. Only bad songs become viral hits. Justin Bieber's 15 minutes of fame are almost up and he will become a washed up loser like Lief Garret. He'll be constantly in and out of rehab and constantly getting arrested and getting ridiculously light sentences. Bye Bieber. The next stop for you is Celebrity Rehab. Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2015
    0
    AGAIN?!?!?! This moronic, idiot Bieber needs to stop creating crap music. Those dumb critics overrate his trash. Beliebers are also crap! Avoid this album as well as his other albums and the idiot himself. He even got detained by the cops!!! Lol.
  8. Mar 17, 2015
    0
    DOHHH!! NOT AGAIN!! WHY WON'T JB stop singing like crap? This moronic,idiot,crapdump face has returned from jail, singing crap again. Avoid this album AT ALL COSTS!!! P.S. Beliebers are crap. I would shoot JB with a watergun filled with pee. Lol!
  9. Oct 22, 2012
    1
    Pergunta rápida: é melhor levar um tiro ou ouvir o no álbum do Justin Bieber? Se você acredita que a dor de um tiro é mais suportável que a dor causada no ouvidos por escutar o péssimo Believe, acertou.

    Devo admitir que fui com o coração aberto e a minha opinião sem amarras com pré-conceitos para avaliar melhor
    Pergunta rápida: é melhor levar um tiro ou ouvir o no álbum do Justin Bieber? Se você acredita que a dor de um tiro é mais suportável que a dor causada no ouvidos por escutar o péssimo Believe, acertou.

    Devo admitir que fui com o coração aberto e a minha opinião sem amarras com pré-conceitos para avaliar melhor o trabalho que é visto como o divisor de "ídolo adolescente" para "adulto". Só queria saber em qual mundo o trabalho realizado em Believe é divisor de alguma coisa. Só se for de "cantor teen com algumas canções até boazinhas" para "cantor teen que acha que está evoluindo que só canções ruins". Se antes o pop teen conseguia casar bem com a personalidade de Bieber agora a coisa caminha para um caminho estranho e precário. Na maioria do álbum, as batidas seguem de dance, pop, eletropop e com alguma coisa de R&B que parecem a resta do almoço de ontem. Não há uma grama de criatividade ou mesmo de vergonha na cara de copiar qualquer um que faça sucesso com o estilo. A falta de personalidade que o caminhão de produtores dão ao trabalho é de impressionar. Se não fosse pela voz de Justin, as canções poderiam ser de qualquer um. E por falar em voz: Justin está crescendo a olhos vistos. Isso é fato, mas a falta de habilidade para achar seu tom certo é grave. Ele não sabe se procura um toma mais grave (onde ele se sai melhor) ou aposta nos falsetos (onde ele é péssimo, ainda mais quando tenta subir mais o tom). Uma regra para esse tipo de trabalho é a parte da composição que normalmente se torna mais madura, mas aqui parece que retrocedeu. Se antes era feita para meninas de 13 anos com treze neurônios, agora a faixa etária caiu para 11 com apenas o Tico e Teco. É sério: poucas vezes vi juntas composições tão rasas, clichês e bobas. Entre todas as canções de nível precário onde ele não decide se quer ser o Usher, o Enrique Inglesias ou a Britney Spears (All Around the World é a copia de Till the World Ends), existe algumas coisas boas para serem faladas. A melhor canção de Believe (disparadamente) é a baladinha Catching Feelings acompanhado com uma boa base indo numa direção mais R&B. Num álbum onde a mais audaciosa musicalmente é Boyfriend, não podemos esperar muita coisa, né? Outro momento "interessante" é seu desabafo contra a menina que falou que ele era o pai do seu filho em Maria já que a tentativa dele soar com o Rei do Pop em Billie Jean conseguindo o momento mais "profundo". Há outros momentos não tão péssimos em Be Alright e Believe, tocas seguindo algo mais intimista. Do resto, nem vale comentar. Eu até acreditei que ele poderia evoluir, mas foram apenas falsas promessas.
    Expand
  10. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    Oh God, my ears! I'd rather clean a hundred toilets clean with nothing but my tongue than listen to the garbage that this kid produces. It just goes to show that a million tween girls CAN be wrong.
  11. Jun 26, 2012
    2
    i never hate bieber for me he was just a popish teenager but with believe it proves to be his worst album so far, not because of the music, its the lyrics designed for little girls who aren't smart enought for one direction
  12. Jul 6, 2012
    0
    Ok here's my opinion... I listened to all of them and it was just as bad as all of his other albums. Yes he finally hit puberty and he's not "gay" (which isn't an insult) or lesbian like the usual insults all the haters give him. But honestly this album was bad I listened to all of the songs and all of them sucked, like every time... I wanted to tear my ears apart... but I must say IOk here's my opinion... I listened to all of them and it was just as bad as all of his other albums. Yes he finally hit puberty and he's not "gay" (which isn't an insult) or lesbian like the usual insults all the haters give him. But honestly this album was bad I listened to all of the songs and all of them sucked, like every time... I wanted to tear my ears apart... but I must say I didn't want to do that when I listened to "All Around the World" that song had a little bit of meaning into it and the lyrics weren't as bad... but his voice was the usual. I also didn't mention that he sounds like pedophile which is quite annoying. But overall this is just another crappy album for annoying and obsessive teeny boppers, mainly 9-15 year old girls Expand
  13. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    Is this a joke? This album is average in everyway(but look at him in the front cover... he is so cute), and he didnt even wrote this album. This is just another mainstream, manufactured album(and JB himself) to roll in big bucks from adolescent girls
  14. Jun 27, 2012
    3
    Better than his first two attempts but still falls flat. He has a good voice but that is the only good thing i can find in this album. I didn't review his last two or even listen to them because they were obviously aimed at 9-15 year old girls. But i heard this album is for anyone who can appreciate a good pop singer/song writer. Besides the fact that he didn't write most of this materialBetter than his first two attempts but still falls flat. He has a good voice but that is the only good thing i can find in this album. I didn't review his last two or even listen to them because they were obviously aimed at 9-15 year old girls. But i heard this album is for anyone who can appreciate a good pop singer/song writer. Besides the fact that he didn't write most of this material if that, he may have wrote none but i'm not sure. The melodies and chords are all very simple but is expected in pop nowadays, this isn't necessarily a bad thing it makes for an easy, light listen but when the lyrics are this bland and all the songs don't differ it won't hold your full attention for the whole album. This is just the record companies way of keeping all his younger fans while also trying to reach older girls, which i won't condemn them for but it just shows that this album is not for me or any guy or any girl over the age of 19 should i say. I'm not saying listening to it is annoying or torture but besides the fact that it's not awful i can't find a reason to give this a positive review. Expand
  15. Jun 24, 2012
    0
    This album is...I don't know what i could say, because with 10 songs less it could be an awesome ep, by the way, its a completely piece of garbage for say something , because it's not the auto tune the only problem, is the meaningless lyrics and superficial beats and rithms that make this album one of the worst of the entire year, good luck for the next biebs.
  16. Aug 8, 2012
    0
    bad album is the worst album of 2012 believe is such a ridiculous and patetic album is a copy of justin timberlake and 0 is much for justin bieber is very very bad
  17. Jul 1, 2012
    0
    Terrible album. Nothing good about it. Just your typical crappy bubble-gum pop album, no originality, no replay value, NOTHING!! Bieber can't sing, dance, rap, play instruments, etc. He's overhyped and overrated. He'll fade away like some of the other crappy kid pop singers.
  18. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    the boy should be ashamed. and so should everyone involved in the creation of this; you will likely finish listening to this album in a terrible mood. Don't put yourself through that.
  19. Jun 25, 2012
    0
    Oh my God, What is it ??? Please Justin, stop your music, I BELIEVE that you are just a teen's phenomen but not a singer or musician and don't believe that you are an artist.
  20. Jun 24, 2012
    3
    This album is...I don't know what i could say, because with 10 songs less it could be an awesome ep, by the way, its a completely piece of garbage for say something , because it's not the auto tune the only problem, is the meaningless lyrics and superficial beats and rithms that make this album one of the worst of the entire year, good luck for the next biebs.
  21. Jun 21, 2012
    5
    Well, I decided to listen to Believe after all the positive reviews claiming that it will 'convert so many haters into fans'. It's safe to say I'm more of a hater than a fan, but I objectively listened to the album, and I'm still not convinced. There is really nothing that sets this album apart from any other contemporary release in 2012; it's all standard pop gubbins and studio trickeryWell, I decided to listen to Believe after all the positive reviews claiming that it will 'convert so many haters into fans'. It's safe to say I'm more of a hater than a fan, but I objectively listened to the album, and I'm still not convinced. There is really nothing that sets this album apart from any other contemporary release in 2012; it's all standard pop gubbins and studio trickery to me. The production is nice, clean and doesn't detract from Bieber's voice too much, which was suprising. Speaking of which, Bieber's singing is nothing amazing. Maybe he can sing, but this album doesn't serve as proof for that. The lyrics are definitely a weak point of the album; some of the rhymes are just plain silly ("Chillin' by the fire while we eatin' fondue" - what?!). Overall, there ain't a lot to get excited about here. It sounds like every other chart album out there to me, but since it's a Justin Bieber, his many fans will no doubt flock to this and proclaim it 'the greatest album ever' or 'perfect'. Expand
  22. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! I love his new sound! It definitely isn't what I was expecting! He has made a range of incredible songs and i love every single one! They all have insane beats or soothing and touching lyrics. LOVE IT!
  23. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Listening to this album you get the feeling Bieber aint goin anywhere. He brings soul to dance music, pop to hip hop, creating an album that can not disappoint. His use of different genres just shows how well rounded and creative his mind is. This album is perfectly Bieber. It defines him as an artist and not just a teen wonder....without making it seem like he grew up too fast. His voiceListening to this album you get the feeling Bieber aint goin anywhere. He brings soul to dance music, pop to hip hop, creating an album that can not disappoint. His use of different genres just shows how well rounded and creative his mind is. This album is perfectly Bieber. It defines him as an artist and not just a teen wonder....without making it seem like he grew up too fast. His voice has only gotten better with time. This is definetely an album to buy and cherish for decades to come. Congrats Biebs, you've proved yourself 1000 times over with this one. Expand
  24. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Despite Bieber's main audience being females, Believe proves to be a step up from his past albums. Believe is a pop/R&B album and does it well. There are no filler tracks in the album. The production and Bieber's vocals are top notch. Is he coming close to the title King or Prince of Pop? No, but this album is good and would be a worthy addition to any collection. Of course, some peopleDespite Bieber's main audience being females, Believe proves to be a step up from his past albums. Believe is a pop/R&B album and does it well. There are no filler tracks in the album. The production and Bieber's vocals are top notch. Is he coming close to the title King or Prince of Pop? No, but this album is good and would be a worthy addition to any collection. Of course, some people won't look at this album because "Bieber is just for girls." Which is hardly true anymore. Expand
  25. Jun 19, 2012
    0
    every track is mass produced and lacks origninality. Justins producers have clearly just taken other work of commercial success and cheaply replicated it
  26. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This album is amazing. There's a lot of mixed songs, and they all mean something to him. He has worked so hard on this album. It has been late night andearly mornings. He's been so tired, but if you have REALLY listened to the album, you can hear that the good work has paid off. congrats bieber.
  27. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This is by far Justin's best album. I love the partial crossover to other genre's that it has and how mature it is in comparison to his earlier work. His music is no longer 'embarrassing' to listen to nor would someone be criticised for being a listener had it not been a record from Bieber. Overall, the album is amazing and I expected much less than this. Why is everyone praising the albumThis is by far Justin's best album. I love the partial crossover to other genre's that it has and how mature it is in comparison to his earlier work. His music is no longer 'embarrassing' to listen to nor would someone be criticised for being a listener had it not been a record from Bieber. Overall, the album is amazing and I expected much less than this. Why is everyone praising the album but giving it a '0'? Anyway... Expand
  28. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Such an amazing album. He's really talented :) thank you for that beautibul album, hard work pays off, I am so proud of you. I love all the songs. Love you Justin!
  29. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing, voice is beautiful. This album is going to convert lots of haters, don't really have a favorite song as they're all so good! Well done Justin
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    60
    A mostly harmless exercise in selling records.
  2. 70
    Believe doesn't always live up to the standards of its best cuts.
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    67
    Believe is most appealing when Bieber either emulates his mentor Usher-on dance-R&B tracks like "Boyfriend" (which remains one of 2012's best pop singles) or the slinky deluxe-edition track "Out Of Town Girl"-or plays to his basest, and best, pop instincts, like the aforementioned Jackson-aping "Die In Your Arms" or the Diplo-assisted head-rush "Thought Of You."