• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Believe Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 480 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Big Sean, Drake, Ludacris, and Nicki Minaj guest on the third full-length album from the Canadian pop singer.
Buy On

Top Track

Boyfriend
VERSE 1 If I was your boyfriend, I'd never let you go I can take you places you ain't never been before Baby take a chance or you'll never ever ... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    88
    It might be the year's most beautifully sung recording.
  2. 83
    It's a prime showcase for his new voice and burgeoning mettle, proving that Bieber isn't just maturing, he's evolving.
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    The beats here are deft as well as driving. Surprisingly, EDM stylings such as the juddering bassline of As Long As You Love Me work well with his plaintive and still unmistakeably teenage voice.
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    67
    Believe is most appealing when Bieber either emulates his mentor Usher-on dance-R&B tracks like "Boyfriend" (which remains one of 2012's best pop singles) or the slinky deluxe-edition track "Out Of Town Girl"-or plays to his basest, and best, pop instincts, like the aforementioned Jackson-aping "Die In Your Arms" or the Diplo-assisted head-rush "Thought Of You."
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    60
    A mostly harmless exercise in selling records.
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    60
    The more aggressive bangers are effective, though Bieber gets eclipsed by everything else going on in the tracks.
  7. 40
    The blandness of the R&B pop-soul arrangements simply throws attention on to the repetitive narrowness of Bieber's delivery.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 113
  2. Negative: 31 out of 113
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Justin, album is incredible! Songs are so soulful, sensitive and this album is completely YOU! Proud! Beautiful music, strong but soft and warming vocal, feelings, energy, love and warm from your big heart... This is Happiness! Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Such an amazing album. He's really talented :) thank you for that beautibul album, hard work pays off, I am so proud of you. I love all theSuch an amazing album. He's really talented :) thank you for that beautibul album, hard work pays off, I am so proud of you. I love all the songs. Love you Justin! Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Bieber's second album does not disappoint. He showed immense growth with this album. The songs are very mature and the quality is very goodBieber's second album does not disappoint. He showed immense growth with this album. The songs are very mature and the quality is very good aswell. This album is going to convert so many haters into fans, or even beliebers. It's a pop album with heavy influences of R&B and Hip-Hop. Best songs would be "Die In Your Arms", "Maria" & "Right Here". Collapse
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Listening to this album you get the feeling Bieber aint goin anywhere. He brings soul to dance music, pop to hip hop, creating an album thatListening to this album you get the feeling Bieber aint goin anywhere. He brings soul to dance music, pop to hip hop, creating an album that can not disappoint. His use of different genres just shows how well rounded and creative his mind is. This album is perfectly Bieber. It defines him as an artist and not just a teen wonder....without making it seem like he grew up too fast. His voice has only gotten better with time. This is definetely an album to buy and cherish for decades to come. Congrats Biebs, you've proved yourself 1000 times over with this one. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    7
    I hate "my world" it sucked. Yet in "believe" he showcases his new and more mature voice and better yet at times cheesy lyrics. ItsI hate "my world" it sucked. Yet in "believe" he showcases his new and more mature voice and better yet at times cheesy lyrics. Its beautifully sang, and an overall good that I enjoy listening to highlights: "As long as you love me, beauty and the beat, and maria. Mr. Bieber well done and keep up the good work. Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2016
    0
    I have heard people praising this album and it is utterly pathetic not worth listening to and I also heard people saying he worked really hardI have heard people praising this album and it is utterly pathetic not worth listening to and I also heard people saying he worked really hard on the album when he doesn't play any instruments means to me there isn't too much to it. Please avoid this album. Expand

See all 113 User Reviews