• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Believe Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 380 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Big Sean, Drake, Ludacris, and Nicki Minaj guest on the third full-length album from the Canadian pop singer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    88
    It might be the year's most beautifully sung recording.
  2. 83
    It's a prime showcase for his new voice and burgeoning mettle, proving that Bieber isn't just maturing, he's evolving.
  3. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    The beats here are deft as well as driving. Surprisingly, EDM stylings such as the juddering bassline of As Long As You Love Me work well with his plaintive and still unmistakeably teenage voice.
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    67
    Believe is most appealing when Bieber either emulates his mentor Usher-on dance-R&B tracks like "Boyfriend" (which remains one of 2012's best pop singles) or the slinky deluxe-edition track "Out Of Town Girl"-or plays to his basest, and best, pop instincts, like the aforementioned Jackson-aping "Die In Your Arms" or the Diplo-assisted head-rush "Thought Of You."
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    60
    A mostly harmless exercise in selling records.
  6. Jun 21, 2012
    60
    The more aggressive bangers are effective, though Bieber gets eclipsed by everything else going on in the tracks.
  7. 40
    The blandness of the R&B pop-soul arrangements simply throws attention on to the repetitive narrowness of Bieber's delivery.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 107
  2. Negative: 32 out of 107
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Bieber's second album does not disappoint. He showed immense growth with this album. The songs are very mature and the quality is very goodBieber's second album does not disappoint. He showed immense growth with this album. The songs are very mature and the quality is very good aswell. This album is going to convert so many haters into fans, or even beliebers. It's a pop album with heavy influences of R&B and Hip-Hop. Best songs would be "Die In Your Arms", "Maria" & "Right Here". Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    WOW! Im so happy with this CD its perfect in so many ways. Justin will always be my inspiration and my bby. The beats and the lyrics areWOW! Im so happy with this CD its perfect in so many ways. Justin will always be my inspiration and my bby. The beats and the lyrics are amazing and he has some great artist featuring on this CD. Hopefully ill be able to meet him someday. BELIEBER FOREVER. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think it's a perfect album, because he made music for an older public without losing the my world essence. We can see this in songs like Catching Feelings or Fall. We can see music with a futuristic essence in songs like As Long As You Love Me. We can see songs for dancing like All Around the World. This album has a little of everything, Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    Believe is honestly great. Best tracks: Fall, Right Here, Maria, Take You, Boyfriend and Out Of Town Girl. It's fresh, young and pop. SoBelieve is honestly great. Best tracks: Fall, Right Here, Maria, Take You, Boyfriend and Out Of Town Girl. It's fresh, young and pop. So what? Justin succeeded that's what. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    Justin Bieber's latest album is a good step forward, it isn't as perfect as most people make it out to be but it's a great album. The albumJustin Bieber's latest album is a good step forward, it isn't as perfect as most people make it out to be but it's a great album. The album finds Justin experimenting new genres, trying to broaden his fan-base and repertoire and calls in the likes of Rodney Jerkins and Mike Posner to help him.

    His debut release Boyfriend, I believe was the perfect choice to market his album as it made a statement that there is a change, and a huge change that. Boyfriend sounds like Timberlake circa Girlfriend mixed with Ying-Yang Twins, Whisper Song.

    The songs I love the most on the album are the Michael Jackson reminiscent numbers - Die in Your Arms, Catching Feelings and Maria. Die In Your Arms samples MJ's "We've Got A Good Thing Going" and showcases Justin's somewhat underrated vocal skill in what is one of the most infectious tracks I've heard, it also reminds of Love on Top - Beyonce. Catching Feelings is a perfect album track that is so laid-back that you can just head-bob to and reminds me of Human Nature. Then there is Maria, which is arguably the most important song Justin has done addressing the Maria Yeater incident last year, giving an awesome vocal and making a Billie Jean circa 2012.

    In my honest opinion, the songs with assists aren't as good as I anticipated (maybe except Right Here and As Long As You Love Me). All Around The World is ok, Beauty and A Beat is good but not great, the collaborations with Nicki and Ludacris seriously left me wanting more but euro-pop music isn't my first choice so maybe it's just me.

    The album doesn't break any boundaries musically, but it breaks boundaries for Justin and his future in music. Believe will bring him new fans and is a good album. If Justin keeps this momentum he will reach the megastardom that artists like Michael Jackson, Mariah Carey and Whitney Houston and more recently Beyonce have.
    Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2012
    3
    This album is...I don't know what i could say, because with 10 songs less it could be an awesome ep, by the way, its a completely piece ofThis album is...I don't know what i could say, because with 10 songs less it could be an awesome ep, by the way, its a completely piece of garbage for say something , because it's not the auto tune the only problem, is the meaningless lyrics and superficial beats and rithms that make this album one of the worst of the entire year, good luck for the next biebs. Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2015
    0
    KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILLKILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT KILL IT. I hate you Expand

See all 107 User Reviews