Between Here And Gone

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Apr 27, 2004
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 2 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CaseyS
    May 1, 2004
    10
    Increbile....yet another masterpiece from MCC.
  2. JaredF
    May 17, 2004
    10
    GORGEOUS and POWERFUL!
  3. maryb
    May 31, 2004
    10
    Mary Chapin, you continue to amaze and to reach me.
  4. AndyP
    May 12, 2004
    10
    Reaches to the soul and enlightens the heart.
  5. BethT
    May 13, 2004
    10
    One of the most beautiful, enriching, thoughtful cd's I've heard.
  6. MCSchneider
    May 21, 2004
    10
    Haunting melodies and introspective lyrics throughout. A true masterwork.
  7. KevinR
    May 29, 2004
    10
    Typically it takes me 4 listens to know whether I like an album or not... not this one! GREAT album.
  8. PRoeloffs
    May 8, 2004
    10
    Mary Chapin has out done her self with this masterpiece. Some of her best work here.
  9. KeithC
    Jun 12, 2004
    10
    A truly gifted songwriter and musician. Between Here and Gone is "Chapins" finest work to date!!
  10. PatriciaL
    Jul 9, 2004
    10
    Stunningly beautiful. Having waited four hours to determine that my children were safe on 9/11/01, I found her memorial to those who died both wrenching and profound.
  11. DavidM
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    a beautiful, brilliant, moving album
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Between Here and Gone quietly demands the listener's attention and dives deeply into a labyrinth of emotions before emerging as a validating, affirmative, and instructive experience; it is an album not only to experience, but to hold on to.
  2. Q Magazine
    40
    Beautifully written, played and sung, but just once it would be nice to hear a bit of distortion, a fluffed note and some real soul. [Jun 2004, p.96]
  3. Carpenter reestablishes herself not only as a world-class poet, but as an artist of the first order.