Beyoncé

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Dec 13, 2013
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1127 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introduction (even to her hardcore fan base) to the new grown woman we now know as Beyoncé. Good luck with trying to categorize or label this album in one specific genre. It is however, hands down her best effort as of yet. Sonically this album is a masterpiece andBeyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introduction (even to her hardcore fan base) to the new grown woman we now know as Beyoncé. Good luck with trying to categorize or label this album in one specific genre. It is however, hands down her best effort as of yet. Sonically this album is a masterpiece and visually stunning. It emotes so much emotion it's almost tangible. In closing Beyoncé has proved yet again why she is a trendsetter and follows her rules. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    She has truly outdone every prior album with this work. Her work flows so effortlessly and the visual accompaniments add so much value to the work as a whole, nothing looks or feels forced. I hope everyone looks past their personal biases about Beyonce and let the MUSIC speak for itself.
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Coitado dos haters da JP, BCharts e afins. Não se preocupem, amigos. O fato de vocês se revoltarem seja pelo resultado de BJ ou outros albuns das vulgo-cantoras que vocês seguem, não irá mudar o resultado final dessa média. Afinal, se usuários mudassem alguma coisa, britfãs fariam MUTIRÃO. Beijo sabor 1# em 96 países, com médias que variam a maioria de 80 pra 90. Quem sabe a diva de vocêsCoitado dos haters da JP, BCharts e afins. Não se preocupem, amigos. O fato de vocês se revoltarem seja pelo resultado de BJ ou outros albuns das vulgo-cantoras que vocês seguem, não irá mudar o resultado final dessa média. Afinal, se usuários mudassem alguma coisa, britfãs fariam MUTIRÃO. Beijo sabor 1# em 96 países, com médias que variam a maioria de 80 pra 90. Quem sabe a diva de vocês não compram, pra aprender a fazer algo de qualidade, enquanto isso... elas elogiam no twitter. Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    "Beyoncé" isn't perfect, but its imperfection is what makes it special. This is very much different from everything Beyoncé has done before, although B'Day comes in as the closest body of work. However, the matureness and musical independence that Beyoncé shows in her fifth album is thrilling and embracing. In short words, "Beyoncé" is, definitely, Beyoncé's equivalent to Frank Ocean's"Beyoncé" isn't perfect, but its imperfection is what makes it special. This is very much different from everything Beyoncé has done before, although B'Day comes in as the closest body of work. However, the matureness and musical independence that Beyoncé shows in her fifth album is thrilling and embracing. In short words, "Beyoncé" is, definitely, Beyoncé's equivalent to Frank Ocean's "Channel Orange". Hands down, thumbs up for Queen Bey. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    A great album you can really see her growth as an artist, not to mention the amazing beats. Each track is killer 10/10. I really appreciate the accompanying videos shot all over the world it allows you to see the vision she had for each track, it's such an artistic journey from start to finish.
  6. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Beyonce is definitely a woman who truly knows who she is and is not afraid to take charge. Her self titled "Visionary Album" "Beyonce" is an instant masterpiece, showcasing her divine talent and vocal prowess. She needs no gimmick and a whole team of publicity, all she needed is to put her name and everyone take notice. The album is simple with so much soul and passion.
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    All the songs are great to listen to, very enjoyable. I listened to it from first to last, more times, and it's a whole, it's worth playing on repeat. I absolutely loved her previous album, '4', but sometimes it was hard to listen to it many times on repeat because she sang such high notes and her vocals were so highlighted on the songs that it made your head hurt after too many repeatsAll the songs are great to listen to, very enjoyable. I listened to it from first to last, more times, and it's a whole, it's worth playing on repeat. I absolutely loved her previous album, '4', but sometimes it was hard to listen to it many times on repeat because she sang such high notes and her vocals were so highlighted on the songs that it made your head hurt after too many repeats (at least mine, but as I said, I loved it, just not 20 times on repeat). This album though doesn't make you feel that. The songs that could be huge hits, in no specific order: Blue; Drunk in love (ft. Jay-Z); Pretty hurts; XO; Flawless; Partition; 'Yoncé; Rocket. Potentially Blow and Mine (ft. Drake) as well. I love how the 'Partition' and 'Jealous' videos have similar themes and even some completely identical scenes, signifying how a woman can react differently in a situation. I saw some people dis the 'strategy' (or lack of however you want to put it) she used to put this album out, but if she puts out a new album with the well-known, regular strategies they diss her as well, that's what some haters just do, and this is why opinions like those are irrelevant for me. Instead of being in consumers' faces in TV, billboards, internet, etc. for weeks and months before release she chose this completely different path that no one has ever done before, and that takes a lot of courage, because it can be a very big win or a very big lose. In my opinion it is a win and I hope time will prove that. While Miley and Gaga (I do like Gaga, no hate) speak about their album as something revolutionary Beyonce ACTUALLY makes it revolutionary and THIS is why her fans defend and love her to death: she grows more and grows faster than anyone in the industry! She doesn't follow trends anymore like when her father managed her in a 'successful and safe for superstars' way, she makes those trends instead! As for the album being sexually explicit: she is a 32 year old married woman and she sings about loving a man, loving love itself and loving sex. I'm a 27 year old married woman and I love sex too. Every woman can and should love sex and not be afraid of saying that. She doesn't talk like a hooker (Nicki Minaj comes to mind...), she talks like a woman in a passionate relationship and there's nothing wrong with passionate women loving the sh.t outta sex! For anyone hating on Beyonce: I wish you could listen to her songs without knowing that SHE sings them because then you wouldn't concentrate on hating her for "kicking your favourite, LeToya, out of DC" or anything like that but you could actually understand why she's so amazing! Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's fifth studio album is by miles her best effort, this album is a MASTERPIECE, the best album I ever heard, nothing comes close. She has clearly outdone herself and she is in her own lane.
  9. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    The album keeps a lot of the simplistic yet cleverly engineered beats from her previous album 4, yet the production quality and tunes improve significantly, making it a much better effort. The best songs on the album are 'Haunted', 'Drunk In Love', 'Blow', 'Partition', 'XO' and 'Flawless'. Still, the real way in which BEYONCÉ outdoes itself is innovation: from the secret, non-promotedThe album keeps a lot of the simplistic yet cleverly engineered beats from her previous album 4, yet the production quality and tunes improve significantly, making it a much better effort. The best songs on the album are 'Haunted', 'Drunk In Love', 'Blow', 'Partition', 'XO' and 'Flawless'. Still, the real way in which BEYONCÉ outdoes itself is innovation: from the secret, non-promoted surprise release to the 'Visual album' concept to the fiercely bold lyrics and experimental craft, which is almost always enjoyable. Expand
  10. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Really great album. It shows how diverse she truly is. She is able to belt a ballad and show restraint in more vulnerable songs. She can rap and dance, looking great doing it. As a whole, Bey's best album to date. I particularly love 'Yonce/Partition and Superpower.
  11. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    I was literally just complaining about how long this album was taking, then "surprise" Beyoncé releases the entire thing without warning. I've been listening to the entire thing all night and I have to say it was so worth the wait. The songs are reminiscent of early Destiny's Child tracks but still very forward. The undertones of female empowerment and solidarity are amazing but evenI was literally just complaining about how long this album was taking, then "surprise" Beyoncé releases the entire thing without warning. I've been listening to the entire thing all night and I have to say it was so worth the wait. The songs are reminiscent of early Destiny's Child tracks but still very forward. The undertones of female empowerment and solidarity are amazing but even greater is the vulnerability displayed in the song penned for her daughter Blue Ivy and the child she miscarried. The sensuality, the beauty, the rawness all of it combined can only be described as "Beyoncé" a fitting title for a groundbreaking work of art. Beyonce responds to criticism of her feminism by sampling Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's TED talk, she celebrates her body and the bodies of all women, the agency women have over their careers, marriages, and relationships. This album is the best effort from Beyonce and I believe will be considered her magnum opus. Not only was the release brilliant, but it's reception and critical success also breaks new ground for Mrs. Knowles-Carter, the entire music industry will need to change the way it works now. Expand
  12. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    This surprise self-titled release by Beyonce is arguably her best work. Beyonce has a voice that of her own signature connotation and no one can really impersonate her. She uses this to her advantage in this latest problem, exploring matters such as her baby daughter in soft drumming rhythms and crooning voice and lyrics. One of the best albums of the year, and an R&B venture that is aThis surprise self-titled release by Beyonce is arguably her best work. Beyonce has a voice that of her own signature connotation and no one can really impersonate her. She uses this to her advantage in this latest problem, exploring matters such as her baby daughter in soft drumming rhythms and crooning voice and lyrics. One of the best albums of the year, and an R&B venture that is a cut above the rest. Expand
  13. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. And Beyoncé's nothing surprises us with his new job, I thought that Friday the 13th would be just another "scary", but saw not. Beyoncé knows what he does, and does well. BEYONCE is there! Expand
  14. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    The album is cohesive without songs sounding the same. Beyoncé has managed to record an album that appeals to the masses without sounding like anything else mainstream. Her voice hasn't sounded better than it does on this album. It's a great body of work that shows off her voice brilliantly and we hear her voice differently to how we have in the past. The videos add to the listeningThe album is cohesive without songs sounding the same. Beyoncé has managed to record an album that appeals to the masses without sounding like anything else mainstream. Her voice hasn't sounded better than it does on this album. It's a great body of work that shows off her voice brilliantly and we hear her voice differently to how we have in the past. The videos add to the listening experience by telling the story that Beyoncé felt while recording each song. Expand
  15. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    If someone had told you in 2011 that the next Beyoncé release would be the most "independent" album of 2013, would you ever have believed them? I readily admit, such a comment would have elicited little more than a scoff from myself. Yet, a down-to-the-buzzer contender for album of the year, BEYONCE seems to rely more on DIY aesthetic than any other major release seen this year. Singles?If someone had told you in 2011 that the next Beyoncé release would be the most "independent" album of 2013, would you ever have believed them? I readily admit, such a comment would have elicited little more than a scoff from myself. Yet, a down-to-the-buzzer contender for album of the year, BEYONCE seems to rely more on DIY aesthetic than any other major release seen this year. Singles? Nope. Months-long promotional gimmicks? No press at all (lookin' at you, Yeezus/Reflektor/Shaking the Habitual). Touring? BEFORE the release of the album? Hell, yes ("I don't trust these record labels I'm touring", she sings on "Haunted"). BEYONCE is a vital assertion of individuality and artistic integrity from an ARTIST (and by this point, she has inexorably earned that title) whose royal status intrinsically invites stagnation.
    A decidedly experimental album, unconventionalities of pop music abound: extended intros, outros, spoken word interludes, movements, and any other indulgences present are earned over and over again. And despite a seemingly sudden awareness of her own illustrious status, the album is also her most emotionally frank, putting herself in a particularly vulnerable position. It's altogether a risk of gargantuan proportions and it pays off beautifully, somehow endearing Mrs. Carter-Knowles to her audience more than she already is.
    Though you probably won't find many of these songs with much radio time, the album displays an even broader range of styles and themes that we've come to expect from a typical Beyoncé album. Within BEYONCE, you'll find: explorations of her marriage (with Jay Z, who quests on "Drunk in Love"), both ups ("Blow", "Partition") and downs ("Jealous"), criticism of body image attitudes ("Pretty Hurts"), statements of supremacy ("***Flawless") and self-awareness ("No Angel), heartfelt farewells to lost loved ones ("Heaven"), odes to motherhood ("Blue"), and, of course, one big group-hug sing-along anthem that you swear could solve every major world problem ("XO"). And despite its grandiosity, it culminates with a general air of restraint (hear how spare that production is) and control (check how exclusive that guest list of producers and guest vocals is) with few exceptions, a feat no one other than the Queen Bey herself could carry out. Bow down, indeed.
    Expand
  16. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    B put her foot into this one. This is all I am listening to right now. Videos are beautiful, she is beautiful, her baby is beautiful. I was just a regular fan before she dropped this album but I am now a full blown stan. Best album of the year!!
  17. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    No announcement. No single. No hype. No nothing. Just her name, her talent, her vision, her music, her voice. Today will be seen as an historic day, mark my words.
    Back to this project. Incredible productions, amazing vocals, "Beyoncé" is such a great record. And on top of that, you can actually SEE what the artist meant and wanted to share. Double experience.
  18. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    This album is everything! From her soul raising voice to her "Whitney" esque pop voice, She is arugably the most talented artist alive. She has the abilities to not only sillhouette Michael Jackson but bring back the presence of Michael and Tina and Whitney, all in one Power Phoenomenon. True Superstar! True Legend!
  19. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    This album offers so much variety sonically and thematically. It showcases Beyonce's maturity as an artist and talks about very personal matters on the album (regarding sexuality, femininity, and motherhood). Each song is artistically crafted and not created for radio purposes.
  20. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    (Already counting on the Platinum Edition) I can not understand all this love that people have for this album, it really is a good album, but not the best of Beyoncé, many his songs make me sleep and I can not hear whole, the lucky for you there are great songs that save the album.
    Highlights: Partition and Drunk In Love
    Lows: Superpower and No Angel
  21. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    The most memorable and the most musically rich album to date. Bey is the queen and will always remain. My favorite songs are: Haunted, XO, Heaven, Blow and Jealous.
  22. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    This is a flawless piece of R&B and pop. I was initially weary of this album, but after several listens, I enjoyed the Queen's fifth album. While it doesn't have an original title (what is the deal for artists naming their fifth or first albums after themselves?), it boasts out enough blunt sexuality and honest truths of marriage and motherhood and relationships to show that Beyonce can beThis is a flawless piece of R&B and pop. I was initially weary of this album, but after several listens, I enjoyed the Queen's fifth album. While it doesn't have an original title (what is the deal for artists naming their fifth or first albums after themselves?), it boasts out enough blunt sexuality and honest truths of marriage and motherhood and relationships to show that Beyonce can be one of those artists - the ones that truly stand out in a crowd. However, there were some songs ("Rocket" and Drake's rap "Mine") that seemed unnecessary, but this is still a pretty flawless piece. Expand
  23. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Aside from the use of the element of surprise, "BEYONCE" is a true musical experience from beginning to end. She sounds extremely confident, yet at the same time very vulnerable on the music presented on this album. Her beautiful vocals and the nearly perfectly executed production on the album makes it a very welcome surprise at the end of 2013. R&B lovers should definitely be here forAside from the use of the element of surprise, "BEYONCE" is a true musical experience from beginning to end. She sounds extremely confident, yet at the same time very vulnerable on the music presented on this album. Her beautiful vocals and the nearly perfectly executed production on the album makes it a very welcome surprise at the end of 2013. R&B lovers should definitely be here for this well composed record. Queen Beyonce might just have released her best project... so far Expand
  24. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    The most urban album of Beyoncé's career. The biggest surprise of the year. The most incredible music videos of B are here. An evolution in your music, style and attitude.
  25. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This is by far Beyoncé's best album. It is amazing, the production is so clean and top notch, and the lyrics and melodies are genius. Partition is my favorite song! So good! You MUST buy this album!
  26. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    2013 has been a year of overblown promotional album roll-outs. Everyone from Kanye West and Jay Z to Daft Punk and Arcade Fire tried some novel new strategy to launch their new music into the universe. And right before its end (the year's end, not the universe's... we hope) the Queen, the King, Beyoncé threw both of her middle fingers up and dropped a brand new self-titled album out of2013 has been a year of overblown promotional album roll-outs. Everyone from Kanye West and Jay Z to Daft Punk and Arcade Fire tried some novel new strategy to launch their new music into the universe. And right before its end (the year's end, not the universe's... we hope) the Queen, the King, Beyoncé threw both of her middle fingers up and dropped a brand new self-titled album out of thin air—at midnight, just in time to keep music writers up all night listening.

    Beyoncé is a lot of things. It's an audio album with a longer, visual component. It's her most layered effort to date, with lyrics tackling motherhood, marriage, sexuality and self-empowerment. It's also her most sonically daring, gleaning influence from everything from Prince, David Bowie, Madonna, and The Velvet Rope
    Expand
  27. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Esse álbum perfeito, como sempre ela conseguiu se renovar e surpreender todos os seus fãs. Todos os clipes e músicas são surpreendentes algo jamais feito na carreira dela, com certeza ela mostrou quem a Queen B. Expand
  28. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise but a good surprese the cd is amazing, the songs are sweet and pretty! The best cd of the year, good album, amazing songs and amazing videos!
  29. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Imprevisível, cativante, viciante... Indiscutivelmente o melhor album do ano. Se alguém ainda colocava em prova o talento de Beyoncé, agora teve a prova que precisava pra ver que ela está no TOPO da música mundial. Curvem-se, vadias!
  30. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Perfect queen B is back to top, O álbum está maravilhoso, os vocais como sempre estão IMPECÁVEIS. Sem contar que já vem com todos os clipes. sem comparações estamos falando da RAINHA Queen B.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    At its dizzying zenith, Beyoncé is a loaded fusion of generosity and self-empowerment. or perhaps, more accurately, it finds self-empowerment in generosity.
  2. Mojo
    Feb 11, 2014
    60
    It's this continued need to feed her multi-platinum beast that stops the album from being the post-modern wheeze it could have been. [Mar 2014, p.94]
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    90
    Though there are a million details about BEYONCÉ to examine--from the release strategy to the visual aspect and more--the strongest ideas are still found solely in the music. She addresses topics like beauty, body image, miscarriages, jealousy, sexuality, marriage, motherhood and self-worth.