Beyoncé - Beyonce
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 640 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 640

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introduction (even to her hardcore fan base) to the new grown woman we now know as Beyoncé. Good luck with trying to categorize or label this album in one specific genre. It is however, hands down her best effort as of yet. Sonically this album is a masterpiece andBeyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introduction (even to her hardcore fan base) to the new grown woman we now know as Beyoncé. Good luck with trying to categorize or label this album in one specific genre. It is however, hands down her best effort as of yet. Sonically this album is a masterpiece and visually stunning. It emotes so much emotion it's almost tangible. In closing Beyoncé has proved yet again why she is a trendsetter and follows her rules. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    She has truly outdone every prior album with this work. Her work flows so effortlessly and the visual accompaniments add so much value to the work as a whole, nothing looks or feels forced. I hope everyone looks past their personal biases about Beyonce and let the MUSIC speak for itself.
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé proves again that she is unpredictable, that's something that makes her bigger than other artists. She's always showing something new and this surprise album is one of the best things that happened this year.
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    O álbum está maravilhoso, os vocais como sempre estão IMPECÁVEIS. Sem contar que já vem com todos os clipes. sem comparações estamos falando da RAINHA Queen B.
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    It's new Beyoncé for this time.She made a change for the game,a story with each song.She doesn't only make music,but tell a story to us this time.One album,whole story for her life so far.Inspiring,Fantastic,and touching my heart.Thank you,Beyoncé.
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    perfeita,sensacional,demorou mas de surpreza e mas gostoso......estou super feliz ela surpreende cada vez mas....o clipe da BLUE feita aqui no brasil espetacular fiquei emocionada!!!!
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This visual album has changed the game. That's all Beyonce does.. set the standard for others to follow. The music is incredible and the videos are awesome! She shows she cares and gets IT. Not piecing together a bunch of throw-a-way singles no one will remember 10 years from now, but a cohesive collection of hard work and dedication to mastering one's craft. My favorite song changesThis visual album has changed the game. That's all Beyonce does.. set the standard for others to follow. The music is incredible and the videos are awesome! She shows she cares and gets IT. Not piecing together a bunch of throw-a-way singles no one will remember 10 years from now, but a cohesive collection of hard work and dedication to mastering one's craft. My favorite song changes by the hour. I love them ALL! I've been on cloud 9 for approximately 19 hours lol no sleep. I can't stop listening to the music and watching the videos. Expand
  8. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé really came into her own with this album. In this album she took notice of her power and importance,and stopped being the censored version that was always clean. She has finally reached a point in her career, where she can be herself and people WILL appreciate her for that. As she said months in "I Been On", "I don't need no hype." And she was right. Her release was unprecedentedBeyoncé really came into her own with this album. In this album she took notice of her power and importance,and stopped being the censored version that was always clean. She has finally reached a point in her career, where she can be herself and people WILL appreciate her for that. As she said months in "I Been On", "I don't need no hype." And she was right. Her release was unprecedented by her fans, by the press, and by her true stand. Everyone was shocked and pleasantly so. This album is a proper sequel to 4, as it shows her continuing to experiment with new music types while still slaying with vocals. Her hard work is imminent and will definitely pay off, as this album is very Grammy worth (20th Grammy anyone?). The Queen has returned. Stand back or you will be stung. Slay a bit Beyoncé. Expand
  9. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    I've been a loyal Beyoncé fan since '03. First off, I could have never fathomed this level of cohesion or creativity. Clearly, self-management has amped her quality of music and her extension of her artistry. The album as a whole is nothing like anything in her catalogue.
    The material is daring, both lyrically and sonically. Staying true to her R&B roots, songs like 'Pretty Hurts',
    I've been a loyal Beyoncé fan since '03. First off, I could have never fathomed this level of cohesion or creativity. Clearly, self-management has amped her quality of music and her extension of her artistry. The album as a whole is nothing like anything in her catalogue.
    The material is daring, both lyrically and sonically. Staying true to her R&B roots, songs like 'Pretty Hurts', 'Blow', 'XO' and 'Drunk in Love' stand out immediately. The former, which features her hit-making husband Jay-Z, is mind-blowing and delivers the hype and execution that always comes along with a Bey&J collaboration.
    Released as a visual album, the album includes 17 videos, one for each of the songs and an extra three for 'Ghost', 'Yoncé' and immediate fan-favorite, 'Bow Down'. The level of execution and the vision that develops throughout the collection of videos is immediately reminiscent of Michael Jackson's 'Thriller'. The amount of creativity it may have taken Queen B and her team to successfully seam such an incredible visual is without a doubt unparalleled by her Pop peers.
    Likewise, the lack of notification and promotion aid the excitement of the new material from the Pop Queen. It's clear that NEW RULES have been established in the music industry by way of Kanye's 'one month' notification of 'YEEZSUS', Jay-Z's 'two week' notification of 'Magna Carta: Holy Grail' and now Beyonce's 'BEYONCÉ'. Move over music executives! Music royalty seems to be overtaking the industry and doing things with NEW RULES!
    Collapse
  10. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Perfect! The best album ever. Beyoncé is the new queen, bow down bitc*s.
    Beyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introduction (even to her hardcore fan base) to the new grown woman we now know as Beyoncé. Good luck with trying to categorize or label this album in one specific genre. It is however, hands
    Perfect! The best album ever. Beyoncé is the new queen, bow down bitc*s.
    Beyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introduction (even to her hardcore fan base) to the new grown woman we now know as Beyoncé. Good luck with trying to categorize or label this album in one specific genre. It is however, hands down her best effort as of yet.
    Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    The Best Surprise Ever... This album reached the people more than a publicid of 3 months, everybody got surprised and loved that surprise, No one could do better this than her! Very well done.
  12. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Beyoncé foi simplesmente espetacular nos mínimos detalhes, trazendo para 2013 um álbum que realmente vale a pena perder horas e horas apenas curtindo a vida e ouvindo este som tão bom Expand
  13. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Beyonnce did it again what a woman inspiration True artist!! album is perfect from start to finish. Visual album just kills me, every video is so amazing.. Other artists just falls down. We needed this album so much
  14. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Melhor álbum de Beyoncé maduro e inovador, diferente de tudo que ela já fez ao longo da carreira,
    Beyoncé se mostra verdadeiramente uma "Grown Woman" nesse novo trabalho, que sabe o poder de sedução que tem e está disposta a usá-lo.
    Agora sentar e aguardar os Grammys!
  15. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    She may just be the only pop female that cares about making great albums as a whole. 'Beyoncé' is a gorgeous, sexy voice, with amazing production and the usual brilliant vocals from the King. Recommended.
  16. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    O álbum está maravilhoso. Vai totalmente fora dos padrões da Beyoncé. Os vocais deste álbum são os melhores de toda a discografia dela. Merece o sucesso que está fazendo. Go Queen B
  17. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    O album perfeito quem ta dando votos negativos são os britfã desesperados amo os desepsero das mudas
    album da beyoncé perfeito urban conceitual como diz os muda fã e ja chegou quebrando records sem prometer nada
  18. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    The most urban album of Beyoncé's career. The biggest surprise of the year. The most incredible music videos of B are here. An evolution in your music, style and attitude.
  19. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    No announcement. No single. No hype. No nothing. Just her name, her talent, her vision, her music, her voice. Today will be seen as an historic day, mark my words.
    Back to this project. Incredible productions, amazing vocals, "Beyoncé" is such a great record. And on top of that, you can actually SEE what the artist meant and wanted to share. Double experience.
    I always wonder "how can
    No announcement. No single. No hype. No nothing. Just her name, her talent, her vision, her music, her voice. Today will be seen as an historic day, mark my words.
    Back to this project. Incredible productions, amazing vocals, "Beyoncé" is such a great record. And on top of that, you can actually SEE what the artist meant and wanted to share. Double experience.
    I always wonder "how can Beyoncé top her previous effort?" and she always, ALWAYS, comes through, surprise her, and redefine music.
    Expand
  20. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This is by far Beyoncé's best album. It is amazing, the production is so clean and top notch, and the lyrics and melodies are genius. Partition is my favorite song! So good! You MUST buy this album!
  21. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    2013 has been a year of overblown promotional album roll-outs. Everyone from Kanye West and Jay Z to Daft Punk and Arcade Fire tried some novel new strategy to launch their new music into the universe. And right before its end (the year's end, not the universe's... we hope) the Queen, the King, Beyoncé threw both of her middle fingers up and dropped a brand new self-titled album out of2013 has been a year of overblown promotional album roll-outs. Everyone from Kanye West and Jay Z to Daft Punk and Arcade Fire tried some novel new strategy to launch their new music into the universe. And right before its end (the year's end, not the universe's... we hope) the Queen, the King, Beyoncé threw both of her middle fingers up and dropped a brand new self-titled album out of thin air—at midnight, just in time to keep music writers up all night listening.

    Beyoncé is a lot of things. It's an audio album with a longer, visual component. It's her most layered effort to date, with lyrics tackling motherhood, marriage, sexuality and self-empowerment. It's also her most sonically daring, gleaning influence from everything from Prince, David Bowie, Madonna, and The Velvet Rope
    Expand
  22. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Esse álbum perfeito, como sempre ela conseguiu se renovar e surpreender todos os seus fãs. Todos os clipes e músicas são surpreendentes algo jamais feito na carreira dela, com certeza ela mostrou quem a Queen B. Expand
  23. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    esse álbum para mim perfeito demais esse era meu sonho ver a Bey num estilo mais Gueto como sempre a Bey sabe surpreender seus fãs Parabéns Queen você merece tudo e muito mais
  24. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise but a good surprese the cd is amazing, the songs are sweet and pretty! The best cd of the year, good album, amazing songs and amazing videos!
  25. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Damn! For this I didn't expect, for those who loved reclaim Beyoncé do the same things, move your butt or making music with repetitive rhythms... Good, then this cd was a slap in the face of haters, burial. With a R&B/Urban style, showed that Beyoncé is a multi-genre singer and creative. What she did, no one ever will. Expand
  26. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Coitado dos haters da JP, BCharts e afins. Não se preocupem, amigos. O fato de vocês se revoltarem seja pelo resultado de BJ ou outros albuns das vulgo-cantoras que vocês seguem, não irá mudar o resultado final dessa média. Afinal, se usuários mudassem alguma coisa, britfãs fariam MUTIRÃO. Beijo sabor 1# em 96 países, com médias que variam a maioria de 80 pra 90. Quem sabe a diva de vocêsCoitado dos haters da JP, BCharts e afins. Não se preocupem, amigos. O fato de vocês se revoltarem seja pelo resultado de BJ ou outros albuns das vulgo-cantoras que vocês seguem, não irá mudar o resultado final dessa média. Afinal, se usuários mudassem alguma coisa, britfãs fariam MUTIRÃO. Beijo sabor 1# em 96 países, com médias que variam a maioria de 80 pra 90. Quem sabe a diva de vocês não compram, pra aprender a fazer algo de qualidade, enquanto isso... elas elogiam no twitter. Expand
  27. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé did the best album of the year! All the people say: "This is the year of Miley" "Year of Katy" "Year of Gaga" but in the final the queen came and put the others down with a perfect art. I'm so proud!
  28. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    A great album you can really see her growth as an artist, not to mention the amazing beats. Each track is killer 10/10. I really appreciate the accompanying videos shot all over the world it allows you to see the vision she had for each track, it's such an artistic journey from start to finish.
  29. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    beyonce rise up musically, artistically, visually. Beyoncé is her best cohesive album to date.
    not to mention game changing visuall offer for each tracks bring new feels and energy.
  30. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Perfect queen B is back to top, O álbum está maravilhoso, os vocais como sempre estão IMPECÁVEIS. Sem contar que já vem com todos os clipes. sem comparações estamos falando da RAINHA Queen B.
  31. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Este o seu melhor álbum, incrível como ela vem evoluindo musicalmente, eu temia o lançamento desse álbum, pois pensava que após o fracasso comercial dos singles do álbum anterior ela viria com algo mais comercial e decepcionante como fez com o I Am..Sasha Fierce que apesar de um bom álbum e de grande êxito comercial, o álbum mais fraco de sua carreira, ouso a dizer que genérico eEste o seu melhor álbum, incrível como ela vem evoluindo musicalmente, eu temia o lançamento desse álbum, pois pensava que após o fracasso comercial dos singles do álbum anterior ela viria com algo mais comercial e decepcionante como fez com o I Am..Sasha Fierce que apesar de um bom álbum e de grande êxito comercial, o álbum mais fraco de sua carreira, ouso a dizer que genérico e enjoativo. Porém com "BEYONCÉ", Beyoncé mostrou mais uma vez o motivo pelo qual a maior representante do R&B no século XXI. Não bom simplesmente por ser um álbum visual (eu mal vi os clipes), mas musicalmente perfeito, impecável. Queen B is back! Este o seu melhor álbum! Expand
  32. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    "Beyoncé" isn't perfect, but its imperfection is what makes it special. This is very much different from everything Beyoncé has done before, although B'Day comes in as the closest body of work. However, the matureness and musical independence that Beyoncé shows in her fifth album is thrilling and embracing. In short words, "Beyoncé" is, definitely, Beyoncé's equivalent to Frank Ocean's"Beyoncé" isn't perfect, but its imperfection is what makes it special. This is very much different from everything Beyoncé has done before, although B'Day comes in as the closest body of work. However, the matureness and musical independence that Beyoncé shows in her fifth album is thrilling and embracing. In short words, "Beyoncé" is, definitely, Beyoncé's equivalent to Frank Ocean's "Channel Orange". Hands down, thumbs up for Queen Bey. Expand
  33. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    For a long time, i thought that Beyoncé was old news.

    Big mistake. Not only is this a terrific album, It is her most powerful and mature to date. This will probably be recognized as her magnum opus in years to come. The lyrics, her voice, her awesome vocal work, the music and production, all work together to create a mood that i actually can't find a word for. I don't think
    For a long time, i thought that Beyoncé was old news.

    Big mistake.

    Not only is this a terrific album, It is her most powerful and mature to date. This will probably be recognized as her magnum opus in years to come.

    The lyrics, her voice, her awesome vocal work, the music and production, all work together to create a mood that i actually can't find a word for. I don't think "Beautiful" does any justice for this amazing work of art. I'm saying all that and i haven't even watched any of the videos yet.

    The significance of the album is derived from many reasons. Not only because it's spectacular, but because it's spectacular in a time when albums are looked upon as anything but. At a time when they are looked upon as an unnecessary idea from a bygone era.

    Over the years, many female artists appeared and achieved great success over the years, whether in rap, r&b, or pop. But Beyoncé has, without a doubt, cemented her place as their queen.
    Expand
  34. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyonce has created one of the best albums of the year. Not only did she defy all that we know about how to make and release an album, but she came up with a completely new platform of the "visual album". It's crazy how much time and effort went into producing her best album yet, and then to surprise it upon us without any notice, is pure genius. She is relying on her strength of an artistBeyonce has created one of the best albums of the year. Not only did she defy all that we know about how to make and release an album, but she came up with a completely new platform of the "visual album". It's crazy how much time and effort went into producing her best album yet, and then to surprise it upon us without any notice, is pure genius. She is relying on her strength of an artist instead of pop propaganda. She is her own hype, no marketing needed. All Hail Queen Bey! #bowdown Expand
  35. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Completely unexpected, but wonderfully perfect. Beyonce somehow was able to keep this project a secret and it totally paid off. Surprising critics and fans once more, this album will just add to her ever-growing legacy.
  36. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Beyonce is definitely a woman who truly knows who she is and is not afraid to take charge. Her self titled "Visionary Album" "Beyonce" is an instant masterpiece, showcasing her divine talent and vocal prowess. She needs no gimmick and a whole team of publicity, all she needed is to put her name and everyone take notice. The album is simple with so much soul and passion.
  37. Dec 15, 2013
    9
    Aside from the use of the element of surprise, "BEYONCE" is a true musical experience from beginning to end. She sounds extremely confident, yet at the same time very vulnerable on the music presented on this album. Her beautiful vocals and the nearly perfectly executed production on the album makes it a very welcome surprise at the end of 2013. R&B lovers should definitely be here forAside from the use of the element of surprise, "BEYONCE" is a true musical experience from beginning to end. She sounds extremely confident, yet at the same time very vulnerable on the music presented on this album. Her beautiful vocals and the nearly perfectly executed production on the album makes it a very welcome surprise at the end of 2013. R&B lovers should definitely be here for this well composed record. Queen Beyonce might just have released her best project... so far Expand
  38. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    So proud of this lady for exceeding my expectations for her new album.
    Sultry sexy aggressive strength and so many more are subjects she covers in this album.
    Beyonce should proud of herself for releasing this monumental visual ALBUM
    Keep the jingle singles to the little girls.
    Beyonce is a grown ass woman and owning it.
  39. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Combining eccentric visuals and great music. This album is amazing. Pop music usually strays away from this creativity but Beyonce shows us with this record just how innovative she is.
  40. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    After a lot of buzz, Beysus has surpresed the world releasing a surprising maste piece of an album. More than just music, the avant-garde project propose to bring together one video for each music. The result was a intense frenesi and aclamation. This is the most consistent material in her hole career,
  41. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Imprevisível, cativante, viciante... Indiscutivelmente o melhor album do ano. Se alguém ainda colocava em prova o talento de Beyoncé, agora teve a prova que precisava pra ver que ela está no TOPO da música mundial. Curvem-se, vadias!
  42. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    All the songs are great to listen to, very enjoyable. I listened to it from first to last, more times, and it's a whole, it's worth playing on repeat. I absolutely loved her previous album, '4', but sometimes it was hard to listen to it many times on repeat because she sang such high notes and her vocals were so highlighted on the songs that it made your head hurt after too many repeatsAll the songs are great to listen to, very enjoyable. I listened to it from first to last, more times, and it's a whole, it's worth playing on repeat. I absolutely loved her previous album, '4', but sometimes it was hard to listen to it many times on repeat because she sang such high notes and her vocals were so highlighted on the songs that it made your head hurt after too many repeats (at least mine, but as I said, I loved it, just not 20 times on repeat). This album though doesn't make you feel that. The songs that could be huge hits, in no specific order: Blue; Drunk in love (ft. Jay-Z); Pretty hurts; XO; Flawless; Partition; 'Yoncé; Rocket. Potentially Blow and Mine (ft. Drake) as well. I love how the 'Partition' and 'Jealous' videos have similar themes and even some completely identical scenes, signifying how a woman can react differently in a situation. I saw some people dis the 'strategy' (or lack of however you want to put it) she used to put this album out, but if she puts out a new album with the well-known, regular strategies they diss her as well, that's what some haters just do, and this is why opinions like those are irrelevant for me. Instead of being in consumers' faces in TV, billboards, internet, etc. for weeks and months before release she chose this completely different path that no one has ever done before, and that takes a lot of courage, because it can be a very big win or a very big lose. In my opinion it is a win and I hope time will prove that. While Miley and Gaga (I do like Gaga, no hate) speak about their album as something revolutionary Beyonce ACTUALLY makes it revolutionary and THIS is why her fans defend and love her to death: she grows more and grows faster than anyone in the industry! She doesn't follow trends anymore like when her father managed her in a 'successful and safe for superstars' way, she makes those trends instead! As for the album being sexually explicit: she is a 32 year old married woman and she sings about loving a man, loving love itself and loving sex. I'm a 27 year old married woman and I love sex too. Every woman can and should love sex and not be afraid of saying that. She doesn't talk like a hooker (Nicki Minaj comes to mind...), she talks like a woman in a passionate relationship and there's nothing wrong with passionate women loving the sh.t outta sex! For anyone hating on Beyonce: I wish you could listen to her songs without knowing that SHE sings them because then you wouldn't concentrate on hating her for "kicking your favourite, LeToya, out of DC" or anything like that but you could actually understand why she's so amazing! Expand
  43. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    The fifth studio album from Beyonce may be her best and my personal favorite. With her surprise release, Beyonce abstains from the pop fodder and chants to bring us the moody, hypersexual yet uplifting and message filled self titled album. One might ask why would Beyonce name her fifth body of work after herself? This is her definitive album. Most thought that 4 or B'day really definedThe fifth studio album from Beyonce may be her best and my personal favorite. With her surprise release, Beyonce abstains from the pop fodder and chants to bring us the moody, hypersexual yet uplifting and message filled self titled album. One might ask why would Beyonce name her fifth body of work after herself? This is her definitive album. Most thought that 4 or B'day really defined Beyonce, but this album has managed to incorporate every essential influence, moment and definition of Beyonce. The album plays on her sexuality confidently and explicitly without a care on songs such as Rocket and Partition. A star less confident than Bey, would worry about jumping to such overt sexual references and moans so quickly after her last chilled album, but not Beyonce. Not only did she do so, she made videos for the songs and showed you how confident she feels in herself. Her new found confidence shines through in the Flawless while interweaving another essential theme of Beyonce's music: female empowerment. Her influences,from Madonna to Prince to DeAngelo, are heard throughout the album, however Beyonce has finally taken these influences and formulated them into something that can only be associated with her.

    The high points of the album include the roller disco bop 'Blow', The anthemic "XO", and the club banger "Partition". Bey not only manages to incorporate the themes of hypersexuality, feminism, and unconditional love into this album but she also manages to try something new. The sounds of this album are unlike anything she's ever done before. She touches on an electro, almost tribal sound with "Haunted" and gives us a soulful electronic R&B ballad with "No Angel". Upon first listen, the album is overwhelming. It's boisterous, heavily produced and raunchy in areas. However, upon further listening and analysis of the album, I found it to be everything that a pop star and Beyonce has grown to be. She's sexy, empowering, sweet and she always has a message and her album truly reflects that.The album manages to maintain some cohesiveness while implementing varying sounds and styles. She shows her personality and shows that even though we take her super seriously, she knows how to have fun.

    The album is raw in areas and her vocal performances reflect that. She is a vocalist at the top of her game, managing to go from melodic rapping to operatic soulful adlibs to sugary pop musings in the matter of seconds. The lyrics and production her are among the best of the best and she chose songwriters/producers that really brought out her essence over her career and a few new ones that have helped to craft this eventful album. I can honestly say that this is her highest quality/best body of work. Beyonce has finally shown us Beyonce. Quite a surprise this truly was Giselle...
    Expand
  44. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's fifth studio album is by miles her best effort, this album is a MASTERPIECE, the best album I ever heard, nothing comes close. She has clearly outdone herself and she is in her own lane.
  45. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    This album is masterpiece that could change the history if music. And everybody giving it a negative or even mixed review is a hater... this album is a 10.
  46. Dec 19, 2013
    3
    this album has been vastly overhyped in every possible way.she used a really clever market strategy to sell this product ..kudos 4 this she has a great team behind her..About the music she's experimenting a little more than her usual standards here but the fact that this record has a media of 85/100 on here is totally laughable ..with all the new alternative R&B movement coming out( thethis album has been vastly overhyped in every possible way.she used a really clever market strategy to sell this product ..kudos 4 this she has a great team behind her..About the music she's experimenting a little more than her usual standards here but the fact that this record has a media of 85/100 on here is totally laughable ..with all the new alternative R&B movement coming out( the weeknd, frank ocean, miguel, janelle monae, etc) beyonce wanted to keep up with the new trends( miguel and ocean actually wrote some tracks in this album)but at the same time she wanted to sell to the rihanna's and miley's markets.The result is a mediocre record with an over sexualized beyonce talking about blow jobs and about having sex with her husband in every possible way for at least 8 songs in the project ,all expressed with DREADFUL lyrics..like everyone could write those lyrics..really terrible! and her fake feminist ANTHEM inserted here, the sequel of indepedent women and single ladies is actually worse than the previous attempts.. that bow down verse inserted in a song with an actual speech made by a real feminist makes everything worse..( actually that verse was the original part of the song the speech was added later because she received a lot of criticism so she decided to insert a real feminist speech to try to make the track sound more feminist and improve it but it didn't happen) Expand
  47. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Really stunning. All the music videos are cinematic and tell a fascinating story. In order to name your album "Beyonce," you have to reveal what it means. In this case, that is being confident, sexy, loving, considerate, and a mother. XO is easily one of the best songs of the year, and this is one of the best albums of the year. Excellent.
  48. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    This album is something completely unexpected from Beyoncé. You can see that she's really musically evolved with this album and it's refreshing to see. Whilst there may not be any obvious 'smash hits' on the album, I think it flows beautifully and is very well constructed. I absolutely adore it and definitely recommend it.
  49. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    All I can say is wow. Beyonce really brought it with this album without hype of promo! Every single song is special in its own way. I really cannot fault anything on this album.
  50. Dec 21, 2013
    4
    In the end, it's just another Beyonce album. Produced without flaws, sung without issues. It's perfectly boring and completely uninspiring; there were far better pieces of music released this year, but then again, none of them were by Beyonce.
  51. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    The album keeps a lot of the simplistic yet cleverly engineered beats from her previous album 4, yet the production quality and tunes improve significantly, making it a much better effort. The best songs on the album are 'Haunted', 'Drunk In Love', 'Blow', 'Partition', 'XO' and 'Flawless'. Still, the real way in which BEYONCÉ outdoes itself is innovation: from the secret, non-promotedThe album keeps a lot of the simplistic yet cleverly engineered beats from her previous album 4, yet the production quality and tunes improve significantly, making it a much better effort. The best songs on the album are 'Haunted', 'Drunk In Love', 'Blow', 'Partition', 'XO' and 'Flawless'. Still, the real way in which BEYONCÉ outdoes itself is innovation: from the secret, non-promoted surprise release to the 'Visual album' concept to the fiercely bold lyrics and experimental craft, which is almost always enjoyable. Expand
  52. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    I never used to listen to Bey like that before, she didn't appeal to me that much. But with the hype surrounding this album and an attempt to broaden my horizons, I decided to give her a try with an open mind and see what happens.

    I was surprised. Very surprised. This album's DOPE. I never expected something like this, she's really got her experimental hat on but at the same time not
    I never used to listen to Bey like that before, she didn't appeal to me that much. But with the hype surrounding this album and an attempt to broaden my horizons, I decided to give her a try with an open mind and see what happens.

    I was surprised. Very surprised. This album's DOPE. I never expected something like this, she's really got her experimental hat on but at the same time not going so far out there as to alienate the fanbase I am completely aware she has. A truly brilliant album.
    Expand
  53. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    The beats are harder than before, the songs are sexy than before and it is still just as soulful as the Beyonce we know and love. It has everything you could want. Simply ***Flawless.
  54. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    Black queen is back showing to rihanna how to make a good album
    lerarn rihanna
    ----------------------------------------------------------BEY RAINHA RIHANNA NADINHA----------------------------------------------------------
  55. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Mais uma vez Beyoncé não deixou a desejar e nos presenteia com esse álbum surpreendente, trazendo bastante Urban e Dark, com musicas que tocam no fundo da alma (eu mesmo me arrepio ouvindo-o), e com certeza esse já o álbum do ano, dando na cara de certas cantoras, principalmente a que usa calçados DiJean e usa leite de rosas.
  56. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    One word: Growth. Beyoncé really surprised me on this record. More lyrical depth than any of her previous works, seamless production despite working across different months, spaces and teams. Definitely worth the listen.
  57. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    ITS LEGENDARY EVERYONE SHOULD BUY IT
    it will have influence on your life in the future, and thats whats so magical!! amazing job

    queen of music beyonce
  58. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    This album shows how much power there is in Mrs. Carter.
    Engaging, emotional and exciting Beyoncé rises to another level expanding and filling our souls.
  59. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé never fails to impress. She cares about the album as a whole she doesn't care about singles and the money she gets, however, she wants us to enjoy the art behind the music, she wants us to see it rather than only hear it. This album GENIUS. By far album of the year showing Beyoncé taking risks, showcasing her vocal abilities and most of all her creativity. I really hope peopleBeyoncé never fails to impress. She cares about the album as a whole she doesn't care about singles and the money she gets, however, she wants us to enjoy the art behind the music, she wants us to see it rather than only hear it. This album GENIUS. By far album of the year showing Beyoncé taking risks, showcasing her vocal abilities and most of all her creativity. I really hope people see the art behind this and listen to the whole album before judging the music and Beyoncé. Expand
  60. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sem dúvidas ela a melhor!! Ela foi uma Naughty Girl e aos poucos foi se tornando uma Grown Woman, esse album concluiu que não existe nenhum artista mais completo que Beyoncé!! Ela quase tão boa e revolucionária quanto Michael Jackson, PARABÉNS Beyoncé Knowles, realmente, entre todos os "artistas" atuais, você a UNICA que merece o prêmio de artista do milênio!! Expand
  61. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Its a good album. but of course with every album they are the letdowns or the songs that provide a poultry deliverance..But i love this album the songs,pretty hurts,XO,partitions,Mine,Drunk On Love,Flawless,Heaven,Haunted and Jealous are really good... so Queen B, just put the middle finger to all the haters well done
  62. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    OH MY GOSH i was like what the f***? Beyconcé is amazeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeng i really liked the album and the videos are so..BEYONCÉ haha she saved this year's music.
  63. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    Great album, I must say i wasn't 100% sold the first time i listened to it but after the second time i was hooked, the third i loved it and now it's on repeat. Beyonce is a great artist and this album is proof of it.
  64. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Really great album. It shows how diverse she truly is. She is able to belt a ballad and show restraint in more vulnerable songs. She can rap and dance, looking great doing it. As a whole, Bey's best album to date. I particularly love 'Yonce/Partition and Superpower.
  65. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Beyonce' fans all over the world have been waiting for her fifth album, and it doesn't disappoint. The theme of equality is apparent throughout the album. Beyonce' has one of the best voices in music, and uses it in many different ways. This is a true Hip-Hop/R&B album.
  66. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's self titled fifth album is a work of art. Its beauty lies in its concern not to necessarily produce standard pop hits, but to make good music, no matter how seemingly obscure the sound may be. Every song on this album is excellent, and as a whole, this is a very cohesive piece of work it's just really great. "Blow" "Rocket" and "Pretty Hurts" are my favorites.
  67. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    O álbum mostra um lado mais intimista da cantora, que deixou bem claro que o trabalho foi feito para os fãs, tem vocais belíssimos e sem falar que ela voltou ao lindo R&B de dangerously in Love
  68. Dec 22, 2013
    2
    I am not a hater, in fact I am a fan of Beyoncé since the beginning but I am sorry this album is so over rated There is no smash hit on it Not one single will make this album sell and I doubt it will sell more than her previous albums. 4 did not have a smash hit. Maybe End of Time would have been one but hey she never released it. 4 was her least sold album. This one, being veryI am not a hater, in fact I am a fan of Beyoncé since the beginning but I am sorry this album is so over rated There is no smash hit on it Not one single will make this album sell and I doubt it will sell more than her previous albums. 4 did not have a smash hit. Maybe End of Time would have been one but hey she never released it. 4 was her least sold album. This one, being very different from 4, is the same no smash hit, just a VERY FEW okay songs. She teased us with Grown Woman and Standing on the Sun which were very promising but they were wasted, leaked, never released and in the end scrapped from the album.

    Making a visual album is visionary and a first from a star of this magnitude but the videos themselves are overall boring. Pretty Hurts, Blow, Haunted, Xo and Heaven are good videos but the rest is garbage, vacation videos, street and hookers videos This album and especially the videos are over sexualized. Beyoncé's always been a classy diva. She never had to show her ass to succeed and that is what made her better than star skanks like Rihanna or Miley who show their asses on a daily basis. This is beneath Beyoncé. Why does she feel threatened by those skanks She was aggressive towards them in BOW DOWN and that is why people reacted so badly to the song Beyoncé, the classy Queen, can't and shouldn't be affected by them and this attitude isn't like the Beyoncé we came to know and love throughout her long and successful career. If feel like she is loosing herself and I am scared for the future.
    Expand
  69. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    Ratings! It's not the male bashing/women empowering stuff we are used to hearing from Beyonce. Very good album. My only criticism is that certain songs like Superpower featuring Frank Ocean and Mine featuring Drake sound like the featured artists written works respectively and Beyonce just lends her vocals for the songs, puts it on the album and calls it her own.
  70. Dec 16, 2013
    9
    Only someone who has a really great feel for their work can release it with ZERO fanfare and such confidence and that comes from a lot of passion and hard work which is very evident here. My first Beyonce album but so totally worth it!!!
  71. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    Masterpiece that you can hear! Absolutely an amazing album. Words cannot describe how much the lyrics means to everybody. Beyoncé talks about love, family, nation's problem. Lovely. Amazing. Great job.
  72. Dec 20, 2013
    10
    In my opinion, this is her best album. It shows a side that many other mainstream artists aren't showing. She clearly didn't make this for radio. It is a very cohesive album. Proud of her.
  73. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    Not impressed by this album at all. Every song is boring and unoriginal. I don't see a single hit song on this album. The only song I did like was "BLOW" which can't be played on the radio.
  74. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I have to say that as a big Beyonce fan, I am a little miffed at this album. I always knew Beyonce was capable of greatness but I had no idea that she was capable of such greatness as is this. This album eclipses all of the previous ones as Beyonce's most frank, candid and honest body of work throughout her entire career. What I love most about Beyonce is the experimental nature of theI have to say that as a big Beyonce fan, I am a little miffed at this album. I always knew Beyonce was capable of greatness but I had no idea that she was capable of such greatness as is this. This album eclipses all of the previous ones as Beyonce's most frank, candid and honest body of work throughout her entire career. What I love most about Beyonce is the experimental nature of the production and her voice. Though not as vociferous as its predecessor, 4, BEYONCE is Beyonce's most dynamic vocal performance. Her voice is light and airy on tracks like Ghost, powerful on the amazing Pretty Hurts, evocative on tracks like Heaven and No Angel and soulful like gems Rocket and Superpower. With an all star list of collaborators, perhaps the most heartfelt belongs to her own daughter, Blue Ivy Carter. The track, Blue, is an airy pop ballad that showcases Beyonce in a more delicate light than the one we're used to with her dynamic stage persona. Essentially, this is perhaps my favorite release of 2013 and I'm excited to see where Beyonce's artistry will take her next. Expand
  75. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    I was literally just complaining about how long this album was taking, then "surprise" Beyoncé releases the entire thing without warning. I've been listening to the entire thing all night and I have to say it was so worth the wait. The songs are reminiscent of early Destiny's Child tracks but still very forward. The undertones of female empowerment and solidarity are amazing but evenI was literally just complaining about how long this album was taking, then "surprise" Beyoncé releases the entire thing without warning. I've been listening to the entire thing all night and I have to say it was so worth the wait. The songs are reminiscent of early Destiny's Child tracks but still very forward. The undertones of female empowerment and solidarity are amazing but even greater is the vulnerability displayed in the song penned for her daughter Blue Ivy and the child she miscarried. The sensuality, the beauty, the rawness all of it combined can only be described as "Beyoncé" a fitting title for a groundbreaking work of art. Beyonce responds to criticism of her feminism by sampling Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's TED talk, she celebrates her body and the bodies of all women, the agency women have over their careers, marriages, and relationships. This album is the best effort from Beyonce and I believe will be considered her magnum opus. Not only was the release brilliant, but it's reception and critical success also breaks new ground for Mrs. Knowles-Carter, the entire music industry will need to change the way it works now. Expand
  76. Dec 19, 2013
    8
    She can cause many feelings here, sadness, love, happiness, aggression. And in all cases, in the highest and best way possible.
    Do not say it is the best cd I've ever heard, or even that it is the best of the year, but after that cd, Beyoncé showed he can do a little of everything, and what a pop star really is.
  77. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    This surprise self-titled release by Beyonce is arguably her best work. Beyonce has a voice that of her own signature connotation and no one can really impersonate her. She uses this to her advantage in this latest problem, exploring matters such as her baby daughter in soft drumming rhythms and crooning voice and lyrics. One of the best albums of the year, and an R&B venture that is aThis surprise self-titled release by Beyonce is arguably her best work. Beyonce has a voice that of her own signature connotation and no one can really impersonate her. She uses this to her advantage in this latest problem, exploring matters such as her baby daughter in soft drumming rhythms and crooning voice and lyrics. One of the best albums of the year, and an R&B venture that is a cut above the rest. Expand
  78. Dec 28, 2013
    10
    "BEYONCE" name itself is synonymous to PERFECTION The album is flawless... all the 14 tracks speak in unison for the entire record!!!! "Blow", "Jealous", "No Angel.... in short, all the tracks are master pieces...! "No Angel" is favorite (mine!!) off the record...! *BOW DOWN* its SLAYONCé
  79. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    Her best album so far due to a different style of production. Other artists and pass albums influenced the great experimental production, the lyrics, and the concept of this album; for example, "The Black Album" by Jay-Z and "Voodoo" by D'Angelo. This is the singer's most impressive album to date and one of the best critical acclaim albums of 2013.
  80. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. And Beyoncé's nothing surprises us with his new job, I thought that Friday the 13th would be just another "scary", but saw not. Beyoncé knows what he does, and does well. BEYONCE is there! Expand
  81. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    The album is cohesive without songs sounding the same. Beyoncé has managed to record an album that appeals to the masses without sounding like anything else mainstream. Her voice hasn't sounded better than it does on this album. It's a great body of work that shows off her voice brilliantly and we hear her voice differently to how we have in the past. The videos add to the listeningThe album is cohesive without songs sounding the same. Beyoncé has managed to record an album that appeals to the masses without sounding like anything else mainstream. Her voice hasn't sounded better than it does on this album. It's a great body of work that shows off her voice brilliantly and we hear her voice differently to how we have in the past. The videos add to the listening experience by telling the story that Beyoncé felt while recording each song. Expand
  82. Dec 27, 2013
    2
    Now that that faux shock has worn off, this album is garbage. Luckily, with the top producers like The Dream, Timbaland, Pharell, etc. It's easy to overshadow the mediocrity and nursery rhymed lyrics, but it's still not enough to make this a solid album. Beyonce is not one of those artists known for originality, being innovative, or creative, and while I'll give credit that she tried to doNow that that faux shock has worn off, this album is garbage. Luckily, with the top producers like The Dream, Timbaland, Pharell, etc. It's easy to overshadow the mediocrity and nursery rhymed lyrics, but it's still not enough to make this a solid album. Beyonce is not one of those artists known for originality, being innovative, or creative, and while I'll give credit that she tried to do something different, this is a no go. The novelty has definitely worn off, and won't be one of those albums that'll be played for years to come. But hey, since this generation is obsessed with videos, I guess you can look forward to that. Because clearly the material isn't good enough to stand on its own without visual imagery. Expand
  83. Jan 4, 2014
    3
    Intresting way to promote a production but lets be honest, we can not say the same about music. Just repetitive black-female power with hi-cost production from Beyoncé, nothing revolutionary or even well-writtened. Mainstream can do incredible stuff, but not when your resource for doing it is your previous musical failures merchandasing succes for having a fenomenal production. I reallyIntresting way to promote a production but lets be honest, we can not say the same about music. Just repetitive black-female power with hi-cost production from Beyoncé, nothing revolutionary or even well-writtened. Mainstream can do incredible stuff, but not when your resource for doing it is your previous musical failures merchandasing succes for having a fenomenal production. I really think Beyoncé biggest participation in this LP is her name at the cover. (sorry for ortography, im mexican) Expand
  84. Dec 18, 2013
    8
    at the beginning i really though that was all about her strategy, but i was surprised by this album, which is definitely her best. it's different, more mature
  85. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    Although half of the songs will only entertain people who adored Beyonce's music for a long time, this self-titled album is her best (and maybe the best this year) she ever made in her career with its theme about female sexuality and self-empowerment being delivered successfully.

    Highlights: Pretty Hurts, Ghost, Blow, Younce, Partition, Jealous, Rocket, Mine, Xo, ***Flawless, Heaven
    Although half of the songs will only entertain people who adored Beyonce's music for a long time, this self-titled album is her best (and maybe the best this year) she ever made in her career with its theme about female sexuality and self-empowerment being delivered successfully.

    Highlights: Pretty Hurts, Ghost, Blow, Younce, Partition, Jealous, Rocket, Mine, Xo, ***Flawless, Heaven and Blue
    Potential Singles After the Album's Release: Pretty Hurts, Blow, Younce, Partition, Jealous, Xo(which is actually the lead single right now) and ***Flawless
    Personal Favorites: Pretty Hurts, Blow, Yonce, Partition, Xo, ***Flawless and Blue

    (Personal note: Although I am not quite a big fan of hers, I do love her music. Right now, Beyonce is a genius. Releasing this album without dropping any clues prior is brilliant. And to make every song have a music video attached is even more brilliant. I just hope my favorite artists would follow Beyonce's footsteps in making every song on their album have a music video, but that's if they want to.)
    Expand
  86. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    If someone had told you in 2011 that the next Beyoncé release would be the most "independent" album of 2013, would you ever have believed them? I readily admit, such a comment would have elicited little more than a scoff from myself. Yet, a down-to-the-buzzer contender for album of the year, BEYONCE seems to rely more on DIY aesthetic than any other major release seen this year. Singles?If someone had told you in 2011 that the next Beyoncé release would be the most "independent" album of 2013, would you ever have believed them? I readily admit, such a comment would have elicited little more than a scoff from myself. Yet, a down-to-the-buzzer contender for album of the year, BEYONCE seems to rely more on DIY aesthetic than any other major release seen this year. Singles? Nope. Months-long promotional gimmicks? No press at all (lookin' at you, Yeezus/Reflektor/Shaking the Habitual). Touring? BEFORE the release of the album? Hell, yes ("I don't trust these record labels I'm touring", she sings on "Haunted"). BEYONCE is a vital assertion of individuality and artistic integrity from an ARTIST (and by this point, she has inexorably earned that title) whose royal status intrinsically invites stagnation.
    A decidedly experimental album, unconventionalities of pop music abound: extended intros, outros, spoken word interludes, movements, and any other indulgences present are earned over and over again. And despite a seemingly sudden awareness of her own illustrious status, the album is also her most emotionally frank, putting herself in a particularly vulnerable position. It's altogether a risk of gargantuan proportions and it pays off beautifully, somehow endearing Mrs. Carter-Knowles to her audience more than she already is.
    Though you probably won't find many of these songs with much radio time, the album displays an even broader range of styles and themes that we've come to expect from a typical Beyoncé album. Within BEYONCE, you'll find: explorations of her marriage (with Jay Z, who quests on "Drunk in Love"), both ups ("Blow", "Partition") and downs ("Jealous"), criticism of body image attitudes ("Pretty Hurts"), statements of supremacy ("***Flawless") and self-awareness ("No Angel), heartfelt farewells to lost loved ones ("Heaven"), odes to motherhood ("Blue"), and, of course, one big group-hug sing-along anthem that you swear could solve every major world problem ("XO"). And despite its grandiosity, it culminates with a general air of restraint (hear how spare that production is) and control (check how exclusive that guest list of producers and guest vocals is) with few exceptions, a feat no one other than the Queen Bey herself could carry out. Bow down, indeed.
    Expand
  87. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    B put her foot into this one. This is all I am listening to right now. Videos are beautiful, she is beautiful, her baby is beautiful. I was just a regular fan before she dropped this album but I am now a full blown stan. Best album of the year!!
  88. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    No announcement. No single. No hype. No nothing. Just her name, her talent, her vision, her music, her voice. Today will be seen as an historic day, mark my words.
    Back to this project. Incredible productions, amazing vocals, "Beyoncé" is such a great record. And on top of that, you can actually SEE what the artist meant and wanted to share. Double experience.
  89. Dec 22, 2013
    6
    O álbum me surpreendeu, mas não da forma avassaladora como ao público em geral. As tracks são de qualidade indiscutível, o trabalho da Beyoncé com certeza amadureceu, mas ainda não o considero o melhor.
  90. Jan 4, 2014
    4
    Esperava um álbum muito melhor da Beyoncé, e ela lança este comprimido para dormir. Senti falta de músicas dançantes, há algumas músicas boas mas o resto não se aproveita. A melhor coisa do álbum mesmo o conceito.
  91. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    This album is everything! From her soul raising voice to her "Whitney" esque pop voice, She is arugably the most talented artist alive. She has the abilities to not only sillhouette Michael Jackson but bring back the presence of Michael and Tina and Whitney, all in one Power Phoenomenon. True Superstar! True Legend!
  92. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    O álbum visual que mudou o jogo! Beyoncé está de volta e novamente se reinventando. Com uma estratégia incrível de focar apenas na arte que fazer música, ela trouxe ao auge novamente uma reinvenção e inovação de si mesma. Um álbum pra não pular uma música se quer. Essa obra prima permeia diversas formas de arte que caminham desde a simplicidade pop até a complexidade musical R&B, comO álbum visual que mudou o jogo! Beyoncé está de volta e novamente se reinventando. Com uma estratégia incrível de focar apenas na arte que fazer música, ela trouxe ao auge novamente uma reinvenção e inovação de si mesma. Um álbum pra não pular uma música se quer. Essa obra prima permeia diversas formas de arte que caminham desde a simplicidade pop até a complexidade musical R&B, com vocais perfeitos e muita história pra contar. Um álbum íntimo e pessoal, que ao mesmo tempo mostra as diversas faces de uma mulher adulta, que já não precisa provar nada a ninguém. Sem dúvidas, o melhor álbum da cantora. Expand
  93. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    This album offers so much variety sonically and thematically. It showcases Beyonce's maturity as an artist and talks about very personal matters on the album (regarding sexuality, femininity, and motherhood). Each song is artistically crafted and not created for radio purposes.
  94. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Beyoncé's fifth Studio album is her best yet. I was excited to hear the direction her music would go in after becoming a mother and I'm glad it''s a good one. She manages to stay true to the Beyoncé' we all know and love while still revealing sides to her that we have never seen. There is something for everyone here. Fans, Stans and even non-fans can appreciate this body of work. BeyondBeyoncé's fifth Studio album is her best yet. I was excited to hear the direction her music would go in after becoming a mother and I'm glad it''s a good one. She manages to stay true to the Beyoncé' we all know and love while still revealing sides to her that we have never seen. There is something for everyone here. Fans, Stans and even non-fans can appreciate this body of work. Beyond the hype of the surprise release, there is some great music here. Congratulations to Beyoncé' for taking a risk and not being afraid to focus on the ALBUM again. Expand
  95. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    sensuality, mature, sexuality, strenght, fierce, emotion, honesty... a wonderful album for mrs carter, the best of her career for me, i still listening this 2/3 times by day
  96. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This album really has all the great things of Beyoncé in it. Creativity, maturity and honesty are the keywords of this album. This album includes strong pop ballads as Pretty Hurts, urban/hiphop songs such as ***Flawless and strong R&B midtempoes as Partition, Haunted and Drunk In Love. XO as the lead single is a really smart choice, because it's kind of an anthem. It's a very great loveThis album really has all the great things of Beyoncé in it. Creativity, maturity and honesty are the keywords of this album. This album includes strong pop ballads as Pretty Hurts, urban/hiphop songs such as ***Flawless and strong R&B midtempoes as Partition, Haunted and Drunk In Love. XO as the lead single is a really smart choice, because it's kind of an anthem. It's a very great love song. Beyoncé really shows her voice and talent in this album and she knows how to keep on being the best one in the game. Expand
  97. Feb 27, 2014
    0
    THIS IS THE WORSE ALBUM OF BEYONCÉ, WITHOUT THE WOOOOOOOOOOW THAT "4" AND I AM SACHA FIRCE SHOWS THIS ALBUNS SHOW A BEYONCE MORE VULNERABLE AND BORING
  98. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    I have always appreciated Beyonce as an artist, however, honestly I never looked to her for intellectually stimulating organic music. I figured we only had Janelle Monae achieving any greatness in the R&B/electronic realm. With this record I stand corrected. It is a beautifully expressive piece of work. It's not perfect, but hey it's pop at it's finest. This album will be rememberedI have always appreciated Beyonce as an artist, however, honestly I never looked to her for intellectually stimulating organic music. I figured we only had Janelle Monae achieving any greatness in the R&B/electronic realm. With this record I stand corrected. It is a beautifully expressive piece of work. It's not perfect, but hey it's pop at it's finest. This album will be remembered years after any of us are around. I really hope she continues to experiment because we need more artists willing to do more than make an extra dollar. Expand
  99. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    A flawless effort, Beyonce's self-titled fifth album is the best pop album of 2013. Each song is masterfully crafted and charismatically performed. The album is dynamic and deftly balanced between upbeat and somber due to a mixture of urban/hip-hop, R&B, and pop. Highlights include "X0," "Blue Ivy," "Partition," "No Angel," "***Flawless," and the irresistible "Blow."
  100. Mar 20, 2014
    5
    Average album. I only like Pretty Hurts, Drunk In Love, Yonce and Blue. To be serious, other songs made me bored!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Feb 14, 2014
    90
    At its dizzying zenith, Beyoncé is a loaded fusion of generosity and self-empowerment. or perhaps, more accurately, it finds self-empowerment in generosity.
  2. Feb 11, 2014
    60
    It's this continued need to feed her multi-platinum beast that stops the album from being the post-modern wheeze it could have been. [Mar 2014, p.94]
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    90
    Though there are a million details about BEYONCÉ to examine--from the release strategy to the visual aspect and more--the strongest ideas are still found solely in the music. She addresses topics like beauty, body image, miscarriages, jealousy, sexuality, marriage, motherhood and self-worth.