Beyoncé - Beyonce
Beyoncé Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 622 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length record for the R&B pop singer was a surprise iTunes release, with a short film accompanying each track.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Dec 16, 2013
    91
    Without playing into cheap “tortured by fame” tropes, she’s made an emotional album that’s dense and substantial but never difficult or self-important.
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    Beyoncé is a stronger personal statement than Magna Carta… Holy Grail, less self-indulgent than The 20/20 Experience, and (in its own way) as dark and confrontational as Yeezus.
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    90
    Though there are a million details about BEYONCÉ to examine--from the release strategy to the visual aspect and more--the strongest ideas are still found solely in the music. She addresses topics like beauty, body image, miscarriages, jealousy, sexuality, marriage, motherhood and self-worth.
  4. 80
    The entire team delivers on the 32-year-old singer’s ambitious aspirations. There’s an incredible stylistic range displayed within the constraints of the album’s contemplative and darkly seductive tone.
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    This is easily Beyoncé’s best album yet, a clear progression from her previous work and a musical triumph.
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    79
    The lack of universality to much of it keeps it from being the great album it wants to be, and some of the fascination seems to stem from 2013 celebrity culture obsession and speaks to the need to disappear from our own lives and become so wrapped up in the world of the rich and famous.
  7. 60
    Musically, it's the same kind of electro R&B with which radio is already awash--in large part because it's produced by the same small coterie of hip producers, with Timbaland appearing to take the most prominent role amongst the likes of Detail, Jerome Harmon, Pharrell Williams and Ryan Tedder.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 148
  1. Jan 9, 2014
    10
    This album really has all the great things of Beyoncé in it. Creativity, maturity and honesty are the keywords of this album. This album includes strong pop ballads as Pretty Hurts, urban/hiphop songs such as ***Flawless and strong R&B midtempoes as Partition, Haunted and Drunk In Love. XO as the lead single is a really smart choice, because it's kind of an anthem. It's a very great love song. Beyoncé really shows her voice and talent in this album and she knows how to keep on being the best one in the game. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introduction (even to her hardcore fan base) to the new grown woman we now know as Beyoncé. Good luck with trying to categorize or label this album in one specific genre. It is however, hands down her best effort as of yet. Sonically this album is a masterpiece and visually stunning. It emotes so much emotion it's almost tangible. In closing Beyoncé has proved yet again why she is a trendsetter and follows her rules. Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    O álbum visual que mudou o jogo! Beyoncé está de volta e novamente se reinventando. Com uma estratégia incrível de focar apenas na arte que fazer música, ela trouxe ao auge novamente uma reinvenção e inovação de si mesma. Um álbum pra não pular uma música se quer. Essa obra prima permeia diversas formas de arte que caminham desde a simplicidade pop até a complexidade musical R&B, com vocais perfeitos e muita história pra contar. Um álbum íntimo e pessoal, que ao mesmo tempo mostra as diversas faces de uma mulher adulta, que já não precisa provar nada a ninguém. Sem dúvidas, o melhor álbum da cantora. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    The fifth studio album from Beyonce may be her best and my personal favorite. With her surprise release, Beyonce abstains from the pop fodder and chants to bring us the moody, hypersexual yet uplifting and message filled self titled album. One might ask why would Beyonce name her fifth body of work after herself? This is her definitive album. Most thought that 4 or B'day really defined Beyonce, but this album has managed to incorporate every essential influence, moment and definition of Beyonce. The album plays on her sexuality confidently and explicitly without a care on songs such as Rocket and Partition. A star less confident than Bey, would worry about jumping to such overt sexual references and moans so quickly after her last chilled album, but not Beyonce. Not only did she do so, she made videos for the songs and showed you how confident she feels in herself. Her new found confidence shines through in the Flawless while interweaving another essential theme of Beyonce's music: female empowerment. Her influences,from Madonna to Prince to DeAngelo, are heard throughout the album, however Beyonce has finally taken these influences and formulated them into something that can only be associated with her.

    The high points of the album include the roller disco bop 'Blow', The anthemic "XO", and the club banger "Partition". Bey not only manages to incorporate the themes of hypersexuality, feminism, and unconditional love into this album but she also manages to try something new. The sounds of this album are unlike anything she's ever done before. She touches on an electro, almost tribal sound with "Haunted" and gives us a soulful electronic R&B ballad with "No Angel". Upon first listen, the album is overwhelming. It's boisterous, heavily produced and raunchy in areas. However, upon further listening and analysis of the album, I found it to be everything that a pop star and Beyonce has grown to be. She's sexy, empowering, sweet and she always has a message and her album truly reflects that.The album manages to maintain some cohesiveness while implementing varying sounds and styles. She shows her personality and shows that even though we take her super seriously, she knows how to have fun.

    The album is raw in areas and her vocal performances reflect that. She is a vocalist at the top of her game, managing to go from melodic rapping to operatic soulful adlibs to sugary pop musings in the matter of seconds. The lyrics and production her are among the best of the best and she chose songwriters/producers that really brought out her essence over her career and a few new ones that have helped to craft this eventful album. I can honestly say that this is her highest quality/best body of work. Beyonce has finally shown us Beyonce. Quite a surprise this truly was Giselle...
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    Perfect queen B is back to top, O álbum está maravilhoso, os vocais como sempre estão IMPECÁVEIS. Sem contar que já vem com todos os clipes. sem comparações estamos falando da RAINHA Queen B. Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    I have always appreciated Beyonce as an artist, however, honestly I never looked to her for intellectually stimulating organic music. I figured we only had Janelle Monae achieving any greatness in the R&B/electronic realm. With this record I stand corrected. It is a beautifully expressive piece of work. It's not perfect, but hey it's pop at it's finest. This album will be remembered years after any of us are around. I really hope she continues to experiment because we need more artists willing to do more than make an extra dollar. Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2014
    0
    I was told to listen to it because ITS SOOO GOOOD apparently, no beyonce album has bored me like this one, overrated crap imo. Everyone has become complacent towards her and its obvious Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.