• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Beyoncé Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 749 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length record for the R&B pop singer was a surprise iTunes release, with a short film accompanying each track.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 91
    Beyoncé waited for the last moment to unveil 2013′s finest pop album. It arrived too late to enter our top ten lists, but just in time to own the year.
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    Beyoncé is a stronger personal statement than Magna Carta… Holy Grail, less self-indulgent than The 20/20 Experience, and (in its own way) as dark and confrontational as Yeezus.
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    90
    Though there are a million details about BEYONCÉ to examine--from the release strategy to the visual aspect and more--the strongest ideas are still found solely in the music. She addresses topics like beauty, body image, miscarriages, jealousy, sexuality, marriage, motherhood and self-worth.
  4. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    Beyoncé is better than good, slickly packaged, created with the best of intentions yet still comes off as a postmodern mash of hubris, sincerity and gloss. It will be a hit regardless.
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    This is easily Beyoncé’s best album yet, a clear progression from her previous work and a musical triumph.
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    79
    The lack of universality to much of it keeps it from being the great album it wants to be, and some of the fascination seems to stem from 2013 celebrity culture obsession and speaks to the need to disappear from our own lives and become so wrapped up in the world of the rich and famous.
  7. 60
    Musically, it's the same kind of electro R&B with which radio is already awash--in large part because it's produced by the same small coterie of hip producers, with Timbaland appearing to take the most prominent role amongst the likes of Detail, Jerome Harmon, Pharrell Williams and Ryan Tedder.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 171
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introductionBeyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introduction (even to her hardcore fan base) to the new grown woman we now know as Beyoncé. Good luck with trying to categorize or label this album in one specific genre. It is however, hands down her best effort as of yet. Sonically this album is a masterpiece and visually stunning. It emotes so much emotion it's almost tangible. In closing Beyoncé has proved yet again why she is a trendsetter and follows her rules. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Combining eccentric visuals and great music. This album is amazing. Pop music usually strays away from this creativity but Beyonce shows usCombining eccentric visuals and great music. This album is amazing. Pop music usually strays away from this creativity but Beyonce shows us with this record just how innovative she is. Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2015
    10
    Beyoncé's self-titled album came out one year and some months ago and I still don't know if the surprise was the unexpected release or theBeyoncé's self-titled album came out one year and some months ago and I still don't know if the surprise was the unexpected release or the supreme quality inside every lyric and every track on this album. It's clearly her best (so far) and probably the best of 2013 & 2014 years. This album and the artist behind it are not overrated, they're getting what they deserve. Nobody knows what to expect from her next work, neither do I, but I'm certain of one thing: She will slay us all again. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    2013 has been a year of overblown promotional album roll-outs. Everyone from Kanye West and Jay Z to Daft Punk and Arcade Fire tried some2013 has been a year of overblown promotional album roll-outs. Everyone from Kanye West and Jay Z to Daft Punk and Arcade Fire tried some novel new strategy to launch their new music into the universe. And right before its end (the year's end, not the universe's... we hope) the Queen, the King, Beyoncé threw both of her middle fingers up and dropped a brand new self-titled album out of thin air—at midnight, just in time to keep music writers up all night listening.

    Beyoncé is a lot of things. It's an audio album with a longer, visual component. It's her most layered effort to date, with lyrics tackling motherhood, marriage, sexuality and self-empowerment. It's also her most sonically daring, gleaning influence from everything from Prince, David Bowie, Madonna, and The Velvet Rope
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Este o seu melhor álbum, incrível como ela vem evoluindo musicalmente, eu temia o lançamento desse álbum, pois pensava que após o fracassoEste o seu melhor álbum, incrível como ela vem evoluindo musicalmente, eu temia o lançamento desse álbum, pois pensava que após o fracasso comercial dos singles do álbum anterior ela viria com algo mais comercial e decepcionante como fez com o I Am..Sasha Fierce que apesar de um bom álbum e de grande êxito comercial, o álbum mais fraco de sua carreira, ouso a dizer que genérico e enjoativo. Porém com "BEYONCÉ", Beyoncé mostrou mais uma vez o motivo pelo qual a maior representante do R&B no século XXI. Não bom simplesmente por ser um álbum visual (eu mal vi os clipes), mas musicalmente perfeito, impecável. Queen B is back! Este o seu melhor álbum! Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    8
    Ratings! It's not the male bashing/women empowering stuff we are used to hearing from Beyonce. Very good album. My only criticism is thatRatings! It's not the male bashing/women empowering stuff we are used to hearing from Beyonce. Very good album. My only criticism is that certain songs like Superpower featuring Frank Ocean and Mine featuring Drake sound like the featured artists written works respectively and Beyonce just lends her vocals for the songs, puts it on the album and calls it her own. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2014
    0
    THIS IS THE WORSE ALBUM OF BEYONCÉ, WITHOUT THE WOOOOOOOOOOW THAT "4" AND I AM SACHA FIRCE SHOWS THIS ALBUNS SHOW A BEYONCE MORE VULNERABLETHIS IS THE WORSE ALBUM OF BEYONCÉ, WITHOUT THE WOOOOOOOOOOW THAT "4" AND I AM SACHA FIRCE SHOWS THIS ALBUNS SHOW A BEYONCE MORE VULNERABLE AND BORING Expand

See all 171 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.