Beyoncé

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Beyoncé Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length record for the R&B pop singer was a surprise iTunes release, with a short film accompanying each track.

Top Track

Drunk In Love
[Intro: Beyoncé] I've been drinking, I've been drinking I get filthy when that liquor get into me I've been thinking, I've been thinking Why can't... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 91
    Beyoncé waited for the last moment to unveil 2013′s finest pop album. It arrived too late to enter our top ten lists, but just in time to own the year.
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    Beyoncé is a stronger personal statement than Magna Carta… Holy Grail, less self-indulgent than The 20/20 Experience, and (in its own way) as dark and confrontational as Yeezus.
  3. Jan 23, 2014
    90
    Though there are a million details about BEYONCÉ to examine--from the release strategy to the visual aspect and more--the strongest ideas are still found solely in the music. She addresses topics like beauty, body image, miscarriages, jealousy, sexuality, marriage, motherhood and self-worth.
  4. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    Beyoncé is better than good, slickly packaged, created with the best of intentions yet still comes off as a postmodern mash of hubris, sincerity and gloss. It will be a hit regardless.
  5. Dec 16, 2013
    80
    This is easily Beyoncé’s best album yet, a clear progression from her previous work and a musical triumph.
  6. Dec 18, 2013
    79
    The lack of universality to much of it keeps it from being the great album it wants to be, and some of the fascination seems to stem from 2013 celebrity culture obsession and speaks to the need to disappear from our own lives and become so wrapped up in the world of the rich and famous.
  7. 60
    Musically, it's the same kind of electro R&B with which radio is already awash--in large part because it's produced by the same small coterie of hip producers, with Timbaland appearing to take the most prominent role amongst the likes of Detail, Jerome Harmon, Pharrell Williams and Ryan Tedder.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 188
  1. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    I think this is Beyonce best work to date! The level of musicality, topics she discusses and vocal maturity really shows us why she is one ofI think this is Beyonce best work to date! The level of musicality, topics she discusses and vocal maturity really shows us why she is one of the best in the music industry. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Beyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introductionBeyoncé's self titled fifth studio album comes as a big surprise at a much needed time in music. This album is in a way a re-introduction (even to her hardcore fan base) to the new grown woman we now know as Beyoncé. Good luck with trying to categorize or label this album in one specific genre. It is however, hands down her best effort as of yet. Sonically this album is a masterpiece and visually stunning. It emotes so much emotion it's almost tangible. In closing Beyoncé has proved yet again why she is a trendsetter and follows her rules. Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2016
    10
    She has always been called queen, but never showed a queen material. This has changed when this album was released, bu far her most mature andShe has always been called queen, but never showed a queen material. This has changed when this album was released, bu far her most mature and well produced album Expand
  4. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    I never used to listen to Bey like that before, she didn't appeal to me that much. But with the hype surrounding this album and an attempt toI never used to listen to Bey like that before, she didn't appeal to me that much. But with the hype surrounding this album and an attempt to broaden my horizons, I decided to give her a try with an open mind and see what happens.

    I was surprised. Very surprised. This album's DOPE. I never expected something like this, she's really got her experimental hat on but at the same time not going so far out there as to alienate the fanbase I am completely aware she has. A truly brilliant album.
    Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    A great album you can really see her growth as an artist, not to mention the amazing beats. Each track is killer 10/10. I really appreciateA great album you can really see her growth as an artist, not to mention the amazing beats. Each track is killer 10/10. I really appreciate the accompanying videos shot all over the world it allows you to see the vision she had for each track, it's such an artistic journey from start to finish. Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    9
    Welcome back " Queen B " Beyonce has really brought out honesty and boldness in this album, expressing her music in a very experimental way.Welcome back " Queen B " Beyonce has really brought out honesty and boldness in this album, expressing her music in a very experimental way. You rock !!! Expand
  7. Sep 7, 2015
    0
    horrible album, make me sleep, the only song that's good, is Pretty hurts, the others make me sick, please, back to sasha fierce, is your onlyhorrible album, make me sleep, the only song that's good, is Pretty hurts, the others make me sick, please, back to sasha fierce, is your only way to be great again Expand

See all 188 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.