Beyond - Dinosaur Jr.
Beyond Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Beyond' is the alt-rock band's first album with its original lineup--including J. Mascis and Lou Barlow--since 1988.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. As usual, Mascis' guitar--a stirring strength, charming and expressive, a poignant power, is the star of this show--and as a whole unit, they haven’t sounded this good in about sixteen years.
  2. Though too long at 50 minutes, Beyond is an often thrilling reminder of this essential band's heyday.
  3. Amazingly, "Beyond" picks up where 1988's "Bug" left off, with only slightly more streamlined polish but with the old love of volume and excess still sweetly intact.
  4. With a sound closer to the Sire output than their SST days, Mascis throws around his best set of songs since Where You Been. [#17, p.84]
  5. 70
    Even the production on Beyond sounds plucked from the trio's Bug heyday. [May 2007, p.85]
  6. The spark that made initial albums such as Bug so special is still missing. [May 2007, p.123]

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. DonJ
    May 6, 2007
    10
    This is the album that Dinosaur Jr fans have been waiting for. It's the closest thing to bliss on a piece of plastic as you're going to get. J is the best guitar player you will ever hear in Indie Rock. Lou's bass playing has only improved in the 19 years since Bug's recording. The second song made me wonder if the album could ever reach the legendary strides of You're Living All Over Me. Then the third song started (Pick Me Up), and I was lost in a time when I had lived for bands like D.J., Sonic Youth, Pavement, to name a few. I was in heaven. By the time that the guitar solo ends at the end of the song, you find yourself asking: "Why woould I ever listen to anything else?" I am biased, since Dinosaur Jr has been my favorite band since I was 16 (I am now 32). I've always liked YLAOM the best of all their albums. (although Bug, Gren Mind, and Where You Been are worthy of mention). THis album may surpass even YLAOM though. It's balanced, and the sense of cohesion between the members (even Murph) is amazing. It's energetic despite J's typical slacker style of whining the words out (which I have always liked). This is definitely the best album I bouth this year, and may be the best thing in 16 years that I've bought. Yes More Light was a good rock album by J, but this trumps it in every manner. If you like guitar focused, post-punk with a folk influence thrown in for good measure - PICK THIS UP IMMEDIATELY!!! Collapse
  2. ChrisT
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Crumble Track # 2 is Kick ASS as well as Track 11
  3. JI
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    The best alternative band of all time! That
  4. RaelT.
    Jul 17, 2007
    10
    Mascis at his best, back to the great song writing and playing of Bug You're Living All Over Me. Really great!
  5. chrisa
    May 6, 2007
    9
    A Classic Dinosaur Jr. Album.... in 2007.
  6. BenjiD
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Exactly what a Dino Jr album should be. Totally unexpected, in a good way, this album is one of my favorites of the year so far. Ok, so the songs are a little repetitive at times. So what? Anyone who's a fan of the band have to pick up this album. Expand
  7. MarkD
    Jun 16, 2007
    6
    As a massive Dino fan i can only express mild dissapointment with this album. I like "Beyond" but i really wanted to LOVE this album not just like it so i've forced myself to listen to it every day for a week in my car. I just can't get into it though, the songs are nice but forgettable. Ther's nothing on here as catchy as Freak Scene or as raw as Sludgefeast for example and it certainly doesn't compare to "Bug" or "Your Living All Over Me". I seem to be in the minority though and i still worship J Mascis, so hey ho. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews