Big Whiskey And The GrooGrux King

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 2, 2009
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 4 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 11, 2014
    5
    Big Whiskey And The GrooGrux King was the exception to the rule for me: it got worse every time I re-listened to it. When I first listened to it, I thought it was a great album with only two or three songs that may not be as good as the rest of the album. However, that has flipped, and now I only like three songs on the album (Lying in the Hands of God, Squirm, and You & Me). Still, IBig Whiskey And The GrooGrux King was the exception to the rule for me: it got worse every time I re-listened to it. When I first listened to it, I thought it was a great album with only two or three songs that may not be as good as the rest of the album. However, that has flipped, and now I only like three songs on the album (Lying in the Hands of God, Squirm, and You & Me). Still, I cannot say it is a terrible album, but it certainly continues the downward slide of Dave Matthews Band since Crash, which is unfortunate for such a uniquely talented group. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    I liked this album, though not as good as some older stuff never-the-less it achieves relevance for today. songs through out album are pretty good and diverse. Its cool to know that Dave and the crew minus Leroi are still competent in making good music. Its evident that Dave is just doing all that he has ever known, writing and performing art.
  3. Sep 7, 2010
    8
    another highly enjoyable album from Dave Matthews Band. this group certainly improves when performing live but this set of songs makes for a nice listen. doesnt really push the envelope much nor does it disappoint
  4. BrianC
    Sep 6, 2009
    9
    This was their most musically diverse album to date which touched on various styles ranging from a crash-esque ballad to big band. I was impressed by this album and think that the true musical genius of this band made it's way to the surface despite the loss of a beloved member of the band. Truly great tribute.
  5. BrandonW
    Jul 13, 2009
    0
    I love it when the die hard DMB fans continue to say "best album ever" every time they release a new album. Now if we were to go back in time to the 90's, I would agree that every album that came out during that span was the "best album" (ending its run with BTCS). Lillywhite Sessions was good but of course that material was raw and lacking both lyrically and musically - hence the I love it when the die hard DMB fans continue to say "best album ever" every time they release a new album. Now if we were to go back in time to the 90's, I would agree that every album that came out during that span was the "best album" (ending its run with BTCS). Lillywhite Sessions was good but of course that material was raw and lacking both lyrically and musically - hence the need for Busted Stuff, which was definitely up to par with the 90's sound and depth the band possessed. But this 'Big Whiskey' album is a load of fluff and mundane mediocrity. This is possibly the worst effort given by Dave when it comes to writing intricate lyrics - instead they come out as repetitive boredom. For example, check out the last track of the album: "The two of us together...yeah...yeah." We he feels he needs to repeat that a 100 times throughout the song is beyond me. Someone on here said it best - the rich, wealthy Dave needs to get back to his roots, as does the rest of the band. Sadly the only band member who was tapped into his roots and wanting to get back the sound that made DMB great is deceased. After 5 years of promising new songs heard live like Idea of You and so forth, we get this garbage? I own every DMB album and I could care less to purchase this one. Expand
  6. JayS
    Jul 3, 2009
    9
    DMB's last 3 studio albums have all had their high points, but generally speaking, we're disappointing, compared to earlier work. Big Whiskey, with the help of Tim Reynolds, really sets a new standard for the band. The more I listed to it, the more I love it.
  7. JohnR
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This is an incredible album that truly commemorates their fallen band member, LeRoi Moore. I am a huge DMB fan and this album has instantly become one of my favorite albums that I throw up in the tear of Crash, Busted Stuff, and Before These Crowded Streets.
  8. ChrisM
    Jun 15, 2009
    10
    This album carries with it an implicit message of love and humanity that makes it the most mature DMB yet.
  9. BrentS
    Jun 13, 2009
    6
    Very bland. Better than Stand up. But the hooks are missing except on three songs. Quite dull thoughout, even with the "difficult" to play time signatures that people keep mentioning. I really wanted to like this, but the album is plain dull.
  10. MattH-C
    Jun 9, 2009
    7
    While not quite "Big Three" material (the 3 being "Under the Table and Dreaming," "Crash" & "Before These Crowded Streets," Big Whiskey is akin to Busted Stuff...a solid album with a few "wtf" moments (Funny The Way It Is, for example).
  11. ChrisW
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    Absolutely the best album these very talented musicians have put together.
  12. SeanRisher
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    The Band did it with this one!
  13. WilliamP
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Musicianshis is -- as always -- first rate, but the urgency of the message is back. And, it rocks.
  14. JDV
    Jun 5, 2009
    5
    The music is there, but I miss young miserable Dave's lyrics. Rich happy Dave forgot how to write lyrics and arguably his more complex rhythms. Anyone that calls this DMB's best, has clearly never heard, or forgotten Under the Table, Recently EP, and if we're going to include live albums, Red Rocks...nothing else compares.
  15. JohnM
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    a moving tribute to leroi moore. surely one of the best albums in the DMB catalog. lifting themes and musical styles from early in their career with some of the more dreamy tones of the latter work.
  16. Joe
    Jun 3, 2009
    4
    I'm a fan of the DMB that is 30 minute Bartender and Lie in our Graves. The older stuff I guess. This album is definitely not in that vein. It's just not the record for me.
  17. BoP
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    9.5 really, but 10 for rounding purposes. Much like In Rainbows by Radiohead last year, this album is a rebirth for another band that has been around since the mid-nineties. Big Whiskey is contains some of the best song writing has come up with since the Lillywhite Sessions/Busted Stuff on this 13 track offering. This album doesn't play as well as some of their other albums, namely 9.5 really, but 10 for rounding purposes. Much like In Rainbows by Radiohead last year, this album is a rebirth for another band that has been around since the mid-nineties. Big Whiskey is contains some of the best song writing has come up with since the Lillywhite Sessions/Busted Stuff on this 13 track offering. This album doesn't play as well as some of their other albums, namely Busted Stuff, and Before These Crowded Streets; but what it does is both give the listener very listenable material while also challenging them with several different genres and styles. From Spaceman to Baby Blue, it may be the best six song run on an album the band has ever done. I guess the best part about this album is that it seems as though all of these tracks will transfer incredibly well live. Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King is not only a proper tribute to deceased band mate LeRoi Moore (Rest in Peace), but it's an album that works both for long time fans, and those new to Dave Matthews Band. Expand
  18. GregA
    Jun 3, 2009
    0
    Absolutely insulting to the world of music. Why anyone would listen to this boyish, simple, lackluster music is beyond me--much less give it a good review.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Throughout, the spectre of death rarely recedes, but life--embodied by the proto-DMB revelry of 'Why I Am'--still prevails.
  2. Big Whiskey, though, is a lot like a New Orleans funeral parade--mourning and zest balled into big, brawny music.
  3. 70
    A fond, funky farewell.