• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Mar 27, 2007
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. "Big" is a nice return to form for Gray. Too bad it runs out of ideas before it runs out of tracks.
  2. “Big” purposefully grooms Ms. Gray for current R&B radio. But it doesn’t hold back her personality or her odd, indelible voice. [26 Mar 2007]
  3. Gray's latest is an engaging, soulful effort from a singer who is proving herself to be more of a career artist than a hit-maker.
  4. The lyrics -- which seesaw manically between exhortations to a no-goodnik to get out and purrings about being glad to have a lover by her side -- won't get nominated for any poetry awards, but Gray makes her case on the strength of her nutty soul charms.
  5. The record is righteously dominated by Gray's larger-than-life presence. [May 2007, p.127]
  6. Much here is either boring or forced. [30 Mar 2007, p.71]
  7. 60
    will.i.am... does push [Big] beyond her Sly Stone safety zone. [Apr 2007, p.111]
  8. Unfortunately (and not surprisingly), Gray's already weathered voice is more worn than ever; she struggles to reach and sustain notes that should be comfortably within her range.
  9. The sticking point is that, after a confident, rootsy start, the songs run out of steam halfway through, leaving Gray flailing through conventional soul stodge.
  10. 60
    Hampered by Gray's dial-a-diva rasp, Big is nowhere near as good as it should be. [May 2007, p.92]
  11. [Producer Ron] Fair's [music] is concentrated sugar water, and Gray... too often pens lyrics and sings tunes just as cloying.
  12. Despite the big name producer and big time contributors, Gray has somehow achieved the not insignificant feat of delivering an altogether average record.
  13. While Big shows flashes of the irrepressible spirit that made Macy’s first two albums fun to listen to, there are many more instances of uninspired, boring music designed to capture a middle-of-the-road audience.
  14. Repeatedly tries to regenerate the neo-soul-pop formula of I Try, down to its beat pauses and rich, piano-driven arrangements.
  15. You're left feeling like you're listening the audio equivalent of a normally classy mum dressing up in her daughter’s clothing.
  16. 40
    [She takes a] new, inappropriately measured approach. [May 2007, p.115]
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. jyotirmayad.
    Jul 3, 2007
    8
    Macy Gray is back in a BIG way, and I love it!!! She always puts out good albums...too bad she doesn't get the super-sales, attention, Macy Gray is back in a BIG way, and I love it!!! She always puts out good albums...too bad she doesn't get the super-sales, attention, air-play on MTV2 and money other artists do...oh well...she should be proud of this endeavor. Full Review »
  2. TannyaP.
    May 21, 2007
    10
    I love it! Especially "What I gotta do" it has a lot of heart and it's a great song! Macy Gray is Back!
  3. DarrellP
    May 9, 2007
    8
    All i know is, it giives me this real feel good vibe when i'm driving home from work, and the hour drive hasn't been so badlsince All i know is, it giives me this real feel good vibe when i'm driving home from work, and the hour drive hasn't been so badlsince it's been in the player, thats all I know. Full Review »