Big

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Mar 27, 2007
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OrlandoC
    Mar 28, 2007
    5
    It
  2. Shepski
    Mar 30, 2007
    8
    Not my favourite, but absolutely enjoyable. Rock on, Macy.
  3. LuisG
    Apr 29, 2007
    8
    Like so many artists Gray fell under the radar after her grammy nominated " Try" one my fav songs ever.... after three studii albums with epic gray continues to offer her own blend of adult R&B with such poise that is often mistaken for awkard but really is quintessential ...ive enjoyed her albums and that voice that you either love or hate .... Big is exactly that producers, beats and Like so many artists Gray fell under the radar after her grammy nominated " Try" one my fav songs ever.... after three studii albums with epic gray continues to offer her own blend of adult R&B with such poise that is often mistaken for awkard but really is quintessential ...ive enjoyed her albums and that voice that you either love or hate .... Big is exactly that producers, beats and yet remains true to macy grays signature sound im glad to hear such originality blossom William embraces grays eccentric styles and manages to provoke a fun smooth sound... Big is at Grays Best !!! Expand
  4. NikkyK
    Apr 3, 2007
    9
    Big, loud and and a more mature production
  5. soonwookh
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    It's In Wonderful Voice.
  6. ToddW
    May 3, 2007
    2
    I'm ashamed to say I heard this no-talent for the first time at a pro football game, of which I'm eternally damned, I know. After all, surrounded by pathetic middle-aged adolescents is no way to be introduced to something new. But here came Macy and her grrrrls to butcher our national anthem. Amidst a cascade of boos, she forgot the words, but was giggling the entire time like I'm ashamed to say I heard this no-talent for the first time at a pro football game, of which I'm eternally damned, I know. After all, surrounded by pathetic middle-aged adolescents is no way to be introduced to something new. But here came Macy and her grrrrls to butcher our national anthem. Amidst a cascade of boos, she forgot the words, but was giggling the entire time like it was a big joke, which I guess in the context of the time and place, it was. But then again, so is anybody who takes her seriously as an artist. I promise to never go to another professional sporting event if you promise to occasionally just walk away from the "G" section of the R&B area in your local record store. Expand
  7. TabP
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Great Job Macy!!!
  8. Amanda
    Apr 6, 2007
    4
    I'm a big Macy Gray fan - love her 3 albums - especially The Id. Having a hard time getting through this one. It's pretty boring and repetitive. Not funky enough - none of the grooviliciousness of "Relating to a Psychopath" or "Sexual Revolution" Songs seem to be about nothing... a few interesting tracks like Strange Behavior, but event hat wears out its welcome. Got it for free I'm a big Macy Gray fan - love her 3 albums - especially The Id. Having a hard time getting through this one. It's pretty boring and repetitive. Not funky enough - none of the grooviliciousness of "Relating to a Psychopath" or "Sexual Revolution" Songs seem to be about nothing... a few interesting tracks like Strange Behavior, but event hat wears out its welcome. Got it for free and really close to deleting it all... or almost all. Expand
  9. yorick
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    what an album.... liked it the first time around.... but now i have listened a few time it really is superb. Man what a great album. she is back with a vengeance... i will tell you that it will be the summer album of 2007, and a classic... she lost her distinct sound a little but god she made such a thrilling album
  10. DarrellP
    May 9, 2007
    8
    All i know is, it giives me this real feel good vibe when i'm driving home from work, and the hour drive hasn't been so badlsince it's been in the player, thats all I know.
  11. babu
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    Wonderful just wonderful
  12. Mojo'sMom
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    This may be Macy's best album yet -- well worth the wait -- way to go Macy!!
  13. MagoG
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    Tight album. Macy's back!
  14. jyotirmayad.
    Jul 3, 2007
    8
    Macy Gray is back in a BIG way, and I love it!!! She always puts out good albums...too bad she doesn't get the super-sales, attention, air-play on MTV2 and money other artists do...oh well...she should be proud of this endeavor.
  15. D.Sparks
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Just bought this cd and ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT!!!
  16. MarvO.
    Mar 27, 2007
    8
    I give it an 8. It flows well for a Macy Gray album, which is a good thing if you happen to be a fan. If not, just listen to everybody. It that don't win you over I don't know what ever will. You're dead if you don't react to Everybody. What else? Fergie gets to pretend she can sing in Glad You're Here. To surprisingly great results. Yes, I swear! It somehow I give it an 8. It flows well for a Macy Gray album, which is a good thing if you happen to be a fan. If not, just listen to everybody. It that don't win you over I don't know what ever will. You're dead if you don't react to Everybody. What else? Fergie gets to pretend she can sing in Glad You're Here. To surprisingly great results. Yes, I swear! It somehow works. Macy just blends everything around her, makes it fit somehow. Inside her craziness, it's like the eye of the storm, calm but full of rage all around. Some favorites? Everybody, Strange Behavior, Finally Made Me Happy, Ghetto Love, One For Me (which reminds me of Blondie's Heart Of Glass) and Get Out. Strange Behavior, especially, is of notice. Not only is the track classic, pure Macy, but this time she takes the storytelling a step further and places it inside a film noir narrative. And it's amazing and funny and great. As is most of the album. Expand
  17. TannyaP.
    May 21, 2007
    10
    I love it! Especially "What I gotta do" it has a lot of heart and it's a great song! Macy Gray is Back!
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. 60
    will.i.am... does push [Big] beyond her Sly Stone safety zone. [Apr 2007, p.111]
  2. Unfortunately (and not surprisingly), Gray's already weathered voice is more worn than ever; she struggles to reach and sustain notes that should be comfortably within her range.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    Much here is either boring or forced. [30 Mar 2007, p.71]