Bionic

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2010
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 599 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 83 out of 599

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    flooooooooooooooooooooooooooop
  2. RickD
    Jun 8, 2010
    3
    Her narcissism makes her unlikable.
  3. M.Foy
    Jun 8, 2010
    3
    The album is not what I expected from this girl. The ballads are bigger than the electronic elements she brought into this "Bionic", and the tracklist contains 18 songs, such a LP that can't keep anybody keen on listening this album.
  4. TylerD
    Jun 10, 2010
    0
    Copycat. I've got all the original artists songs and CDs already. No need to buy this outdated and copying the trends CD.
  5. RogerD
    Jun 10, 2010
    0
    Worst album of the year. I already have all the songs of the artists she's copying.
  6. KatrinaC.
    Jun 13, 2010
    2
    Good ballads, solid Britney-shaped musical experiments like Elastic Love...and then everything else, which could be worked on and made better...ending the song with her kid saying You Are Mummy was the nail in the coffin for me, on this painful, fake, over-sexed, self-indulgent record.
  7. Mar 23, 2012
    2
    A horrible album for someone talented like Christina Aguilera. I loved her and her music but Bionic is no where near her standards.
  8. May 25, 2012
    3
    I must score this based on the WHOLE album. Just 1/4 of the album is great and 3/4 of the album went downhill. Although she is one of the best singers of her generation, this album of hers doesn't work for me.....
  9. Aug 24, 2013
    1
    The album feels outdated even at first listen back during its release. In its ambitious attempts to tap on the then-new and rising synthpop-raver mainstream audio, her giant eighteen-wheeler truck loaded with bionic mannequins made a sharp right turn into pop culture and tumbled its way across the VMA stage, two meters short of the table where the cool popstars sit.

    Christina tries very
    The album feels outdated even at first listen back during its release. In its ambitious attempts to tap on the then-new and rising synthpop-raver mainstream audio, her giant eighteen-wheeler truck loaded with bionic mannequins made a sharp right turn into pop culture and tumbled its way across the VMA stage, two meters short of the table where the cool popstars sit.

    Christina tries very hard to be experimentally, both vocally and in production; assuming she plays any part in the latter. Every once in a while comes a few moments of the album where her Christina capitalizes her vocal prowess to its full potential; but every other time it sounds like a bloated; reheated EDM-wannabe record. It has yet to prove itself worthy to sit on either extreme end of the danceable-ballad spectrum; and yet when it sits in the middle; it would have been in the most ungraceful manner possible. Tracks like Elastic Love and Bionic remain as highlights of the album; but two potential hits couldn't really balance out the sixteen fillers.

    Whether or not Christina can regain the 5 seconds of fame she had during the promotions of Genie in a Bottle. Maybe in a 2014 album she can take a backseat in the songwriting process because; it seems to be the only factor bringing her down; aside from her attitude over a self-proclaimed pop artist reputation.
    Expand
  10. JonathanW
    Jun 8, 2010
    1
    there are only a few real songs.
  11. DavidB
    Jun 8, 2010
    1
    Christina has no idea of who she is musically. She has always had a great voice but never has had anything worthwhile to say. This album is abysmal.
  12. Ajd
    Jun 8, 2010
    1
    This is a drag. All Her talent wasted on beat heavy and superficial pop music. she should at-least try to separate her self and form her own identity. The music here is emotionless, immature and boring. Go cop Toni Braxton's abum "Pulse", Now that is music!
  13. LaylaAli
    Jun 8, 2010
    1
    The album only had two good tracks and two just okay ones. The rest were trash.
  14. Aggie
    Jun 13, 2010
    1
    Her vanity and ego cripple this entire effort. Too many references to her vagina and too many demands for listeners to chant her name. Too decent - but similar ballads - can't save this. And distorting or filtering her magnificent voice is like adding flat ginger ale to expensive wine.
  15. MikeJ
    Jun 15, 2010
    1
    This is by far the worst album by this over-zealous singer. While past efforts were contrived, nothing beats this bloated disc! Instead of sounding futuristic, it sounds pathetic and very much the middle of the last decade. I thought the first single was awful, until I heard the remainder of the tracks on that CD. Siphoning off "indie" artists, she proceeds to sing in the respective This is by far the worst album by this over-zealous singer. While past efforts were contrived, nothing beats this bloated disc! Instead of sounding futuristic, it sounds pathetic and very much the middle of the last decade. I thought the first single was awful, until I heard the remainder of the tracks on that CD. Siphoning off "indie" artists, she proceeds to sing in the respective singer/writer's style, losing herself and ... frankly, it's almost for the better! She's totally uncharismatic, rude and incredibly vain and while she can sing, she prefers to shout instead. Yeah, I don't like it, and sorry Xtincta, but f@&k you! Expand
  16. EricJ
    Jun 17, 2010
    0
    Christina still has a solid voice, but the material on this album is horrendous. She rips off everyone from Britney Spears to Lady Gaga to Madonna without having a voice of her own. At this stage of her career Christina needs an identity and it seems like she is still searching for it.
  17. Nov 4, 2013
    3
    Christina has an amazing voice. I wil never understand why she made this record. It's so souless and robotic. Apart from Not myself tonight, you lost me and desnudate all the other songs are plain and interludes are so unessecary. Woohoo is one of the worst songs on the album.
  18. Jun 17, 2015
    0
    yeah all of this fridge's fans are only rating it a 10 to bring up the score. any person with a functioning brain and a normal set of chromosomes can comprehend that this is possibly the worst album ever.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. As convincing as she attempts to sound, Bionic does nothing to persuade authenticity.
  2. Because she's bold enough to do it her way, Aguilera maintains her reign.
  3. Sure, her voice remains full, brash, and loud. But ultimately, so much of what passes for hedonism on Bionic feels synthetic and compulsory.